See other New York properties

The New York Loft Hostel

249 Varet St., Brooklyn, NY, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.2km

Rating: 81% from 40 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 71%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Definitely hipster but also awesome. The cleanliness was so-so but not a big deal overall. My one big thing was the meal times - what's the point of having late check-out times if you still have to get up three hours beforehand to have breakfast?
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 71%
  • 12 Sep 2013 Alexa Germany
  • Very nice hostel. Good value for money. It's not the best location in Brooklyn (try not get there at night as I did) but it's a good hostel. It's a cheap alternative if you're staying a few days in NY as it's conveniently located 2 blocks away from the subway and it takes 20 min to be in Manhattan.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 77%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Maria Florencia Argentina
  • Probably the best hostel I'd stayed in so far, great spacious and modern rooms and the whole place had a good feel good, modern/trendy vibe. Good facilities out the back in the kitchen, no hidden costs and the free BBQ was a bonus twice a week! Met some great people here also.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Shane England
  • For $60-65 per night, sharing 3 beds in one room isn't bad. But I paid the same amount for a private room with two double beds at the Greenpoint YMCA, which is one step below a 2 star hotel with no kitchen. The bathrooms depend on which one you get near your room and due to water pressure. The atmosphere is a little strange in the kitchen/lounge in the loft and outdoor patio. The breakfast is mainly dry food with fruits. Main advantage is near subway stop.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 60%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Donna USA
  • Great experince. It would have been nice to have blankets easily acessable.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! Blankets are now offered at the reception desk 24/7! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Patrick USA
  • Decent place to stay for a night or few. Metro station nearby, easy to get around in the city. The area itself is as 'hipster' as promised. Look close and you can find really good restaurants etc. there, too. We appreciated the opportunity of having breakfast in the morning, though the options could have been a little more healthy (whole meal, less sugar). I might have rather paid for a proper breakfast than for the luggage storage. Soap (e.g. suspender) would be nice in private bath rooms, too.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input and suggestion. We hope to see you soon!

  • 71%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Hanna-emilia Finland
  • Really good location. There was no toilet in the dorm, but maybe it was better. No noise from toilet, and there were 3 common toilets, so I could use other one if the nearest one is occupied. And staffs were really helpful. I can highly recommend this hostel :)
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 10 Aug 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great hostel, In a cool area of NYC - Williamsburg has an interesting night life, busy but not so crowded with crazy tourists. Clean in general, no bunk beds and, good cafe ! I would definitely stay again. Good people not to party but enough to socialize.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We hope to see you soon!

  • 91%
  • 08 Aug 2013 Leonardo Brazil
  • We had a great stay at this hostel. Some recommendations to make the stay even better are to extend breakfast to 10am, add some side dishes for the BBQ (chips, potatoes, salad, vegetables, etc.), do something about the flies in the kitchen area (super annoying), offer a towel to all guests (not just private rooms), make sure there is hand soap in the private bedrooms with a bathroom.
    Owner Comment

    Thank you for taking the time out to review our Hostel! We appreciate your input and suggestion. We hope to see you soon!

  • 86%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Elizabeth USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »