See other Melbourne properties

The Nunnery

116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 79% from 13 reviews

  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I would recommend the Nunnery to anyone who doesn't want to stay at a high class hotel but rather an alive fun earthy hostel
  • 86%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Christine Canada
  • Everything was excellent. The staff were super helpful!!
  • 100%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Genevieve Ireland
  • The kitchen is ridiculously small. Toilets and showers are old but functioning.
  • 69%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved the building thought it was beautiful!! Was pretty far from everything, but the free tram was close!! I stayed in a 12 bed mixed room and had an issue with noise only because I was on the main floor across from the common room and some of my roomates decided when they would come in and out of the room that they wouldnt close the door......abit annoying when they would leave mostly and I would have to get out of bed to shut the door...ensuite bathroom was decent but usually occupied
  • 77%
  • 26 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great hostel, great staff. Free breakfast is great especially the breads. The annex building is nicer than the main building so stay there if possible but both are great anyways.
  • 86%
  • 23 Feb 2014 Anonymous Northern Ireland
  • Really nice place to stay. I would definitely recommend this hostel to my friends!
  • 94%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • The Nunnery guest house is a good place to stay in Melbourne in a cozy and tranquil hostel. I missed breakfast as other hostels provide. We returned to the hostel in the first day of stay late (11pm) without had checked in and got the security keys. We almost stayed that night outside, thanks god not due to somebody who opened the door for me. We called the number of reception desk and rang the door bell, but no one of the staff showed up.
  • 66%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Marcelo Brazil
  • This comment is for Hostels.com not the Nunnery. On our way to australia our plane was turned around due to a fuel problem and had to go back to the states. By the time I had dealt with the airline I tried to contact you to notify the Nunnery we wouldn;t be coming. With the stess of the situation, I didn't realize that I was required to contact the Nunnery directly. As you were the ones whom took my booking, You could have forwarded my email to them or at least notified me. Please respond
  • 66%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Decent atmosphere. There are lots of people who are staying long term. It's not very clean even though the kitchen is closed 3 hours a day. Good location though.
  • 63%
  • 29 Nov 2013 Christian Denmark
  • This hostel is amazeballs! Really nice atmosphere, everything is nun themed as it used to be a convent. Staff is super nice and chill. Themed nights are great, the Thursday night pub crawl was the best! Sunday night sausage sizzle also key! Rooms are big and bright, doonas are super plush and comfy. Had a great time here, would stay again.
  • 97%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »