See other Toronto properties

The Only Backpacker's Inn

968 Danforth Ave, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 88% from 37 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This Hostel is super close to the subway which makes it super easy to access. It is a bit out of town but close enough by train. They cleaned the hostel each day and it seemed very clean. The main improvement I would make is to add lockers which would accommodate your entire backpack. They have lockers but they are so small you can only lock up your computer or your passport but you have to leave your backpack out and it is a pain.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
  • Great stay from arrival to departure! Friendly staff, friendly travellers. I was going to stay in a different hostel downtown in a neighbourhood I had used to live in, but the cafe/bar downstairs swayed me, and am I ever glad it did. It was a great place to hang out and get work done, or just hang out. The location was perfect for anyone who prefers unique holes in the wall to big name attractions. Not a single complaint from me.
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Tyson Canada
  • This was a great backpackers! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The rooms are quite small, but the breakfast is absolutely delicious!!
  • 86%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Cassandra Australia
  • It was a little odd checking in to the hostel but everything was great. The waffle and fruit breakfast was excellent and it was extremely convenient getting a drink with the bar right next door.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Rochelle USA
  • I haven't had much prior experience with hostels, so I dont have a proper baseline for comparison but i've definitely had a pleasant experience. The staff are amazing, the owner is attentive and a complete sweetheart. The other people staying here are great. There's plenty of fun to be had at the bar come evening. I would recommend this to any traveler and I will definitely stay here again when I head through Toronto.
  • 91%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great Hostel. Great location! Great staff! Amazing breakfast!!! Rooms are small, but it's definitely enough space. Airconditioning works just fine. Blankets for beds are super warm... My only negative point is that the showers in the bathrooms and some of the stuff in the kitchen were kind of dirty. But the rest was clean (rooms get swept every day). Also, I would have appreciated it, if the Hostel website had told us we need a lock for the lockers.
  • 89%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Miriam Germany
  • I found the price right for one night of slumber to avoid a nasty commute to the suburbs. I did however, find the room too cold, and the bed and bedding were not super comfortable. It is also co-ed, which meant I was the only female in a predominantly male dorm room. I wasn't super comfortable with that and I would recommend the Only based on value for money, but I would not like to stay there more than a night or two. Just too uncomfortable in the room.
  • 60%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Antoinette Canada
  • love that place, thanks for all your help. everything was about what i needed at the present moment, if i need to advice someone or want to be in a hostel again that will be the one!
  • 80%
  • 10 Nov 2013 ANTONIOS Greece
  • I really liked this place! Room is maybe too small but it's meant for sleeping so it's okay. I love the rest of the hostel - kitchen, living room etc. And they even have breakfast! Big wafel with fruit - it was so awesome!!
  • 91%
  • 07 Nov 2013 Ivana Croatia
  • good place to stay. small and friendly
  • 80%
  • 04 Nov 2013 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »