See other Toronto properties

The Only Backpacker's Inn

968 Danforth Ave, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 87% from 35 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 89%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I had an awesome time, really cool hostel with awesome people, and the free waffles for breakfast was incredible!
  • 97%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Matthew England
  • I love this place!
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Bianca USA
  • Loved the back patio! Sunshine from at least noon until the sun set! Room was a rather squashy, not much room to move around. Breakfast was awesome, the mornings I was awake for it.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Michael Australia
  • Amazing little place! Very clean and has it's own charm. Gonna stay there again for sure and reccommend to my friends. P.S. Waffles for breakfast are delicious!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Denys Canada
  • This Hostel is super close to the subway which makes it super easy to access. It is a bit out of town but close enough by train. They cleaned the hostel each day and it seemed very clean. The main improvement I would make is to add lockers which would accommodate your entire backpack. They have lockers but they are so small you can only lock up your computer or your passport but you have to leave your backpack out and it is a pain.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
  • Great stay from arrival to departure! Friendly staff, friendly travellers. I was going to stay in a different hostel downtown in a neighbourhood I had used to live in, but the cafe/bar downstairs swayed me, and am I ever glad it did. It was a great place to hang out and get work done, or just hang out. The location was perfect for anyone who prefers unique holes in the wall to big name attractions. Not a single complaint from me.
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Tyson Canada
  • This was a great backpackers! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The rooms are quite small, but the breakfast is absolutely delicious!!
  • 86%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Cassandra Australia
  • It was a little odd checking in to the hostel but everything was great. The waffle and fruit breakfast was excellent and it was extremely convenient getting a drink with the bar right next door.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Rochelle USA
  • I haven't had much prior experience with hostels, so I dont have a proper baseline for comparison but i've definitely had a pleasant experience. The staff are amazing, the owner is attentive and a complete sweetheart. The other people staying here are great. There's plenty of fun to be had at the bar come evening. I would recommend this to any traveler and I will definitely stay here again when I head through Toronto.
  • 91%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Great Hostel. Great location! Great staff! Amazing breakfast!!! Rooms are small, but it's definitely enough space. Airconditioning works just fine. Blankets for beds are super warm... My only negative point is that the showers in the bathrooms and some of the stuff in the kitchen were kind of dirty. But the rest was clean (rooms get swept every day). Also, I would have appreciated it, if the Hostel website had told us we need a lock for the lockers.
  • 89%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Miriam Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »