See other Toronto properties

The Only Backpacker's Inn

968 Danforth Ave, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 83% from 18 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 84%Staff
  • 82%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 80%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Poor location is not even a concern if there's a metro stop or bus close by, but the size of the room for 6 people is unbelievably small. When looking for a hostel I try to combine the overall rating with the price and make a decision from there. In this case I decided to pay a little more because of the higher ratings, but unsure where they're coming from. The best part of this hostel is not the hostel, it's the coffee place downstairs, especially if you're looking to drink at night.
  • 43%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel is in a good location, close to the center and in the middle of the "Davi village", so you don't need to struggle to find stores, restaurant and places to have fun, as well as to visit the downtown or the famous Stanley Park (these are so close you can walk instead of taking the bus, if you want). However, due to the fact that is in a big facility, it lacks a little bit of cleanliness and communal spaces could be more well-finished.
  • 71%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • I spend a quick night, as I was in transit. The dorm was quite small and lacked a bit of storage space ; but there seemed to be a very good atmosphere, with people sharing dinner and talking in the terrace, and the bar/coffee shop downstairs. The staff was definitely nice
  • 83%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Matthieu
  • First, I couldn't find the hostel smoothly because they said it is right from staition. So, I gessed it standed next to staition but it was not. However, it is definitly near station. Atomospher was good, we can get some places to talk with other guests of the hostel. Breakfast is amazing!
  • 86%
  • 13 Sep 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • A friend and I were meeting up in the city and needed a place to stay for the night. All in all, I was actually surprised by how great it was for the money. I didn't eat the free breakfast but I thought it was really fantastic that it was included. The layout is really great and the staff was super friendly. Depending on vacancy, I would definitely consider returning in the future.
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I had an awesome time, really cool hostel with awesome people, and the free waffles for breakfast was incredible!
  • 97%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Matthew England
  • I love this place!
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Bianca USA
  • Loved the back patio! Sunshine from at least noon until the sun set! Room was a rather squashy, not much room to move around. Breakfast was awesome, the mornings I was awake for it.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Michael Australia
  • Amazing little place! Very clean and has it's own charm. Gonna stay there again for sure and reccommend to my friends. P.S. Waffles for breakfast are delicious!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Denys Canada
  • This Hostel is super close to the subway which makes it super easy to access. It is a bit out of town but close enough by train. They cleaned the hostel each day and it seemed very clean. The main improvement I would make is to add lockers which would accommodate your entire backpack. They have lockers but they are so small you can only lock up your computer or your passport but you have to leave your backpack out and it is a pain.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »