See other Toronto properties

The Only Backpacker's Inn

968 Danforth Ave, Toronto, Canada, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 87% from 30 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 82%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • A friend and I were meeting up in the city and needed a place to stay for the night. All in all, I was actually surprised by how great it was for the money. I didn't eat the free breakfast but I thought it was really fantastic that it was included. The layout is really great and the staff was super friendly. Depending on vacancy, I would definitely consider returning in the future.
  • 86%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • I had an awesome time, really cool hostel with awesome people, and the free waffles for breakfast was incredible!
  • 97%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Matthew England
  • I love this place!
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Bianca USA
  • Loved the back patio! Sunshine from at least noon until the sun set! Room was a rather squashy, not much room to move around. Breakfast was awesome, the mornings I was awake for it.
  • 77%
  • 03 Jul 2014 Michael Australia
  • Amazing little place! Very clean and has it's own charm. Gonna stay there again for sure and reccommend to my friends. P.S. Waffles for breakfast are delicious!
  • 91%
  • 26 Jun 2014 Denys Canada
  • This Hostel is super close to the subway which makes it super easy to access. It is a bit out of town but close enough by train. They cleaned the hostel each day and it seemed very clean. The main improvement I would make is to add lockers which would accommodate your entire backpack. They have lockers but they are so small you can only lock up your computer or your passport but you have to leave your backpack out and it is a pain.
  • 80%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Anthony USA
  • Great stay from arrival to departure! Friendly staff, friendly travellers. I was going to stay in a different hostel downtown in a neighbourhood I had used to live in, but the cafe/bar downstairs swayed me, and am I ever glad it did. It was a great place to hang out and get work done, or just hang out. The location was perfect for anyone who prefers unique holes in the wall to big name attractions. Not a single complaint from me.
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Tyson Canada
  • This was a great backpackers! I thoroughly enjoyed staying there. The rooms are quite small, but the breakfast is absolutely delicious!!
  • 86%
  • 19 Mar 2014 Cassandra Australia
  • It was a little odd checking in to the hostel but everything was great. The waffle and fruit breakfast was excellent and it was extremely convenient getting a drink with the bar right next door.
  • 94%
  • 15 Mar 2014 Rochelle USA
  • I haven't had much prior experience with hostels, so I dont have a proper baseline for comparison but i've definitely had a pleasant experience. The staff are amazing, the owner is attentive and a complete sweetheart. The other people staying here are great. There's plenty of fun to be had at the bar come evening. I would recommend this to any traveler and I will definitely stay here again when I head through Toronto.
  • 91%
  • 18 Feb 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One of the most enjoyable aspects of travel is that of exploring different landscapes and experiencing sights and sounds that seem a world away from what you're used to back at home. There are so many diverse terrains across the world, from dramatic, desolate mountain vistas to impossibly bustling market streets; and many countries can offer a variety of spectacular sights with astonishing diversity. Here are just five of our favourite views from across the globe.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »