See other San Juan properties

The Palace Hostel

666 Calle Suau, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 74% from 22 reviews

  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 71%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 70%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • First time at a Hostel and I really enjoyed it! Clean and super friendly staff(: will be back next year!
  • 100%
  • 12 Mar 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • It was easy to get from there to the old city by bus, and also easy to get to the cruises by walking
  • 71%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Iiro Finland
  • Checking in really late was great accommodation. Max was nice and super helpful. The rooms are old and bathtub dirty.We were not there all day, but our own private wad good and stuff wad super safe! We think if cleaner sheets, clean bathtub, and more pillows would get better rating. We easily walked to bus M3 to head out towards Old San Juan. We felt safe and easy bus route@.50cents CAN'T BEAT IT.
  • 54%
  • 27 Feb 2014 ROSEA USA
  • I loved it :)
  • 89%
  • 24 Feb 2014 Michael Germany
  • Great hostel and excellent staff! The staff is very friendly and extremely helpful. I felt at home as soon as I arrived. The hostel has a strong young/travel culture. Everyone I met was very friendly and open to sharing their travel experiences. Thanks to the inviting culture, I was able to join several day trips w. strangers that ended up being great fun. I personally preferred this hostel to Posada due to the staff, proximity to beaches, and lively environment. I would absolutely recommend it!
  • 94%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Laura USA
  • This place reeked of incense. I am allergic and had to leave. I was not offered a refund.
  • 49%
  • 10 Feb 2014 dawn USA
  • Everything you could want from a hostel! Clean place to stay, friendly and helpful staff, spacious accomodations.
  • 100%
  • 19 Jan 2014 Jessica
  • TEAR IT DOWN AND REBUILD IT FROM THE GROUND UP
  • 29%
  • 09 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • Not the most luxe hostel, but the staff is TOP! Negative: bad matrasses / not clean / small rooms / not the best location since there is nothing to do closeby Positive : TOP staff - helpfull & friendly - nice social areas
  • 74%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous Belgium
  • Beds and public spaces were very clean, but the bathrooms were in poor condition. Front gate is locked and secure at night, but the dorm locks are very basic. Still, I had a great experience at the Palace Hostel. The staff are super friendly and know the area very well. They helped me check on park hours, offered me maps, and shared lots of local tips.
  • 83%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »