See other San Juan properties

The Palace Hostel

666 Calle Suau, San Juan, Puerto Rico, Distance from city centre: 3.3km

Rating: 64% from 17 reviews

  • 64%Atmosphere
  • 69%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 56%Cleanliness
  • 65%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had a good week at the Palace hostel. Friendly staff, always willing to help...
  • 74%
  • 27 Feb 2015 chad
  • I was not expecting anything fancy, but this hostel is completely disgusting. Moldy ceilings, dust everywhere, smell of mildew, horrible bathroom. Our room was downstairs pretty much IN the lobby area and across from the kitchen. Not worth it, I would never return. I will pay a little more next time just to stay in a decent place.
  • 43%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Tanya
  • This building is inhabitable. Disgusting. Room reaked of mildew, mold streaks down the walls. The bathroom looked infected with what appeared to black mold in the tub. Didn't even feel clean washing my hands there. We stayed for a mere 75 minutes before finding a new place, The International Hostel. The staff is a joke. Appear to be teenagers with their attitude, disrespect, and condensing tone. At no point did the staff seem interested in the concerns their customers expressed. DONT STAY HERE.
  • 31%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Tiffany
  • When we arrived we waited around for a good 10 minutes before anyone who worked their presented themselves. Room was kind of dirty, no blinds on window, pillows smelled old and very used. Location seemed to be in a very sketchy area where I did not feel very safe going out at night time. Shower water was luke warm if lucky. The staff was easy going and I really liked how we could rent bikes all day very cheap.
  • 43%
  • 08 Jan 2015 Kaity USA
  • Good: great experienceeet a lot of amazing people! Location was perfect. I would def come here again and I would recommend it (: bad: they never answered the phone when I would try to contact them . It would ring for hours.
  • 74%
  • 25 Dec 2014 angeles USA
  • Fantabulous place to stay. The good nature of people and staff can not be beat. I could not have had this once in a life time experience without this place.
  • 100%
  • 25 Dec 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of my best vacations ever because of friendly staff and cool people. Location was awesome! 10 minute walk to beautiful Condado Beach and 5 minute walk to bus for Old Saun Juan. Had a Wal-Mart withins 5 minutes and hostel offered a working kitchen. Room was clean, but bathrooms rarely had toilet paper-bring your own. I will be returning hereand would definitely recommend staying here! :-D
  • 89%
  • 24 Dec 2014 JEANNETTE USA
  • The staff I met were not particularly friendly or welcoming.
  • 49%
  • 23 Dec 2014 keriann USA
  • Some American monkeys were keeping the zoo till 6-7am. The staff went to say them multiple times, but didn`t get them to shut up. We were awake 2 nights, and then decided to leave, because staff couldn`t do nothing about it. We also didnt get money back or pawnmoney from doorkey. What a fu'''ng nightmare!!!
  • 34%
  • 13 Dec 2014 tero Finland
  • This hostel is super chill. The people are great. The people that work there are talkative. The area is ok. Close to a bus stop. Staying there again if I come back.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »