See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 93% from 152 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I can't say enough good things about this hostel! All the staff are absolutely fantastic, consistently helpful and friendly. They go out of their way to give you good information and organise social stuff for guests. Good location and easy walking distance to the main tourist attractions. Beds comfy, kitchen well equipped and really wonderfully clean and homely (I'm a big fan of the no shoes rule). Only negative was that the air con wasn't working so it got pretty toasty at night.
  • 97%
  • 11 Apr 2014 Jessica England
  • Great Hostel, Great Staff!
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Wim Netherlands
  • Friendly and helpful staff is always what matters when it comes to backpacking stays. I'm glad that every staff member I met at Philadelphia House was nice and willing to help (even after I checked out)! Will definitely choose to stay there on my next visit to Philly.
  • 89%
  • 30 Mar 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • The hostel is awesome. It makes you feel like a home. All staffs are very friendly and willing to help. Since the hostel was overbooked, they tried very hard to help my friend to find another hostel nearby. The rooms are clean and the price is also good too. If I will have another chance to visit Philadelphia, I will definitely stay there again.
  • 86%
  • 25 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Staff are nice, I like the atmosphere there
  • 100%
  • 14 Mar 2014 Anonymous China
  • Really good hostel, staff is really nice and take the time to show you what to do in the city. Events are organized every day inside or outside the hostel. Small hostel so you can easily meet other travellers. The only bad point in my opinion would be the big tv screen in the middle of the main room because it kills conversations between travellers! Location is good, 5-10 min walking from the subway and the independance park.
  • 86%
  • 13 Mar 2014 Camille France
  • This place has seriously made me reevaluate ever going to a hotel again, the atmosphere was great the staff was fantastic and I made quite a few friends 😃
  • 100%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best stays I ever had.... All the staff were super friendly and it's been an awesome experience... would definitely stay here next time..... located in the historic district Central Philly... Close to buses and subways
  • 97%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Anonymous India
  • One of the best stays I ever had.... All the staff were super friendly and it's been an awesome experience... would definitely stay here next time..... located in the historic district Central Philly... Close to buses and subways
  • 100%
  • 28 Feb 2014 Anonymous India
  • Fun place to be, relaxed atmosphere, definitely gonna go there again if staying in Philly!
  • 97%
  • 22 Feb 2014 Martin Austria
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »