See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 94% from 134 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was awesome!
  • 97%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Mark Germany
  • Philadelphia House is amazing! The staff are exceptional and make you feel right at home no matter who you are or where you come from. In some ways, its more like a home than a hostel, with a central living room to hang out in. They also make it really easy to get to know people by organizing events all the time for those who are interested. As for the facilities themselves, they are wonderful and very clean. I would encourage anyone looking for a unique and fun experience to stay here! Thanks!
  • 100%
  • 11 Jun 2014 Patrick Canada
  • nice location. clean. kind staffs, good facilities
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Great location, clean facilities, and friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 21 May 2014 Lance USA
  • after HUNTING for two hours, i finally found cherry street, with the help of two locals. numbers count! all three of you fellows responded thoughtfully. hope the future directions will improve. my roomies were amazing folks-three countries!-who did not hang out for movie night. yay, pop corn! the tv volumn WAS lowered after 11pm. thank you!. was surprized that breakfast was not included, but the great kitchen facilities were a help. only downer was not jamming, my NAF with the folk-jazz guy.
  • 91%
  • 18 May 2014 Barbara W USA
  • Absolutely fantastic hostel. The best I have stayed at. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the city, the location is great in respect to the historical areas of Philadelphia.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2014 Joshua Australia
  • Small rooms.
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Ernesto Argentina
  • I just enjoyed my stay there. One thing that struck me was the personalized approach and the feel of the place and the courtesy of the staff that was one of a kind . I don't think there is a better Hostel than the Philadelphia House in the entire universe. Amazing and hardworking staff, esp. Austin, Valerie, Sergio, Maria and Danny. Truly PHIL-A-DELPHIA house( House of brotherly love).
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • I would definitely advice anyone who wants to stay in Philadelphia to stay in this hostel. The staff is amazing!! Always here to help you if you have a question (each one deserve six stars: Sergio for "the best burger in the US (the world??)", Valerie and Maria for their smiles and kindness, Danny for his good mood and his bad french and Austin for his jokes). The hostel is really close from every main "touristic" site in Philadelphia with plenty of things to explore. Very clean. STAY THERE.
  • 100%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Guillaume France
  • My stay there was lovely. It felt like home. Maria and Sergio were both incredibly warm and nice to talk with. I definitely recommend the Philadelphia House.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Mohamed Tunisia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »