See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 94% from 140 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The entire staff was great! Danny Valerie, Alysha, and Austin took care of everyone and went ou of their way to make sure we were having fun and had everything we needed. Such a great group. I will definitely be visiting again and will recommend the Philadelphia House to all my friends. Special thanks to Alysha for an excellent tour. Thanks again guys!
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2014 Aaron USA
  • this is a small, clean, quiet hostel with helpful, friendly staff. they offer social outings and detailed info about the Philadelphia area. i will stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 21 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Thank you for letting my stay very enjoyable at the hostel. Your staffs were superb; they were all down-to-earth, caring, intelligent, and accommodating to guests' needs. The hostel was always kept nice and clean - its proximity to attractions and being located in a safe area were definitely a plus. I will certainly go back during my next visit to Philly.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Do not under any circumstances stay at this hostel. Although the staff are friendly and the hostel is very clean, the noise throughout the night and subsequent lack of sleep is enough to recommend anyone NOT to stay at this hostel. Had I known what it was like beforehand I would have chosen somewhere else. It's like living in a house full of 20+ inconsiderate housemates and the staff are reluctant to enforce their own 'quiet time' rules. I would not wish a night at this hostel on my worst enemy.
  • 69%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • Small but compact hostel with friendly atmosphere. Well-designed areas for lounging and eating. Rooms (8 bed dorm) could have had better lighting, but this is a minor complaint.
  • 89%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It's a great place to stay, convenient location to everything. It's not proper though if you're driving, no parking, metered streets everywhere. Otherwise it's great!
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Couldn't have asked for a better experience! If there were higher ratings than excellent I would've posted them. Don't think twice. Just book here.
  • 100%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Good location and great staff!
  • 89%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Joelle Canada
  • Arriving late at night I had to wave through the window to get someone's attention and the staff on hand didn't have any cash to give me change from paying so I had to wait til the following morning. Slightly uneasy that the dorms are open to anyone who wants to walk in with no door locks. The bathrooms were nice and clean and the tv common area was very friendly.
  • 60%
  • 30 Jun 2014 Anonymous England
  • Excellent hostel. - 5 minute walk to all the tourist attractions and the subway -Very safe neighborhood. -Spotless facilities, Plenty of Showers/Bathrooms, great kitchen/common area The Philadelphia house rates highly on all aspects. What sepperates this hostel from the rest? The people who work there. Tireless, energetic, lovely, genuine people. They go out of there way to make sure you have a great time, and feel part of the family. Truly an amazing experience.
  • 100%
  • 27 Jun 2014 Kirby Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »