See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 94% from 139 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very Nice to stay in. Comparatively cheap and comfortable
  • 89%
  • 09 Sep 2013 Anonymous Georgia
  • Best hotel I have been to in America. Great location, very good value for money. The staff are all very knowledgable and are all willing to go out of their way to help you. They help you to see a different side of Philadelphia that you wouldn't see if you wern't with me.
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Callum England
  • The staff here really make this a standout hostel. Friendly, attentive and down-to-earth!
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • That's the best hostel I've ever been! The stuff is very friendly and the atmosphere in this hostel is perfect.
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Adrian Germany
  • I stayed here with a friend for four nights. As soon as we arrived, we noticed the warm, family like atmosphere in the hostel. Since it is a small hostel, we got to know everyone and went out for pubcrawls at night. Clean bathrooms and beds, nice people, fun nights. Couldn't have imagined a better stay in Philadelphia! Compliments to the whole staff!!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Tobias Germany
  • The Philadelphia House is awesome. The staff is very present and will help you get the better out of your stay in the city. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • Would recommend this hostel to anyone, young, old, internationals just anyone. The staff are so friendly on arrival and they just have an amazing atmosphere as soon a you enter!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Hayley Australia
  • The Philadelphia House is easily one of the BEST hostels I've ever stayed at. Danny and the staff were more than welcoming - they treated me like family. Between the game nights, movie outings and walking tours there was never a dull moment. The hostel's location is ideal and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. As a female traveling by myself safety was definitely a priority and I couldn't have felt more secure at The Philadelphia House. I can't recommend TPH enough and I can't wait to go back!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Upon arriving at the Hostel, I immediately felt welcome and safe. It was a lot of fun, hanging out and getting to know the other people staying at the hostel. The bathrooms were very clean and the bed was comfy too! The staff are very knowledgable and were able to give me great directions on the sites to see around the town. My stay was too short, will definitely be back! Thanks Danny!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • The Philadelphia House location is in such a great location, that I am concerned that my comments will cause a flood of reservations making it difficult for me to reserve on my next visit. This is a clean, beautiful facility located in the heart of the historic district (& a historic building iteself) in Philadelphia, but close enough to the soul of the city for those interested in a deeper appreciation of the local society.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »