See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 94% from 141 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was very impressed both by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the hostel. The rooms, bathrooms, kitchen were all very clean. The best part was that one of the staff provided me a map and even took the time to point out all of the sights worth seeing, many of which were only a few blocks away since the hostel is located in the center of the old city. I wish I could have stayed longer!
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Jon USA
  • It would be nice if the staff living area was separate from the guests' sleeping quarters. Loud staff members with no regard for guests trying to sleep to not make for a very enjoyable visit. If the staff was simply aware of the guests and kept their partying and loud music to a different part of the hostel, it would have been a more enjoyable experience.
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Phil USA
  • Fantastic experience, wonderful staff!
  • 100%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Ericha USA
  • Very Nice to stay in. Comparatively cheap and comfortable
  • 89%
  • 09 Sep 2013 Anonymous Georgia
  • Best hotel I have been to in America. Great location, very good value for money. The staff are all very knowledgable and are all willing to go out of their way to help you. They help you to see a different side of Philadelphia that you wouldn't see if you wern't with me.
  • 100%
  • 01 Sep 2013 Callum England
  • The staff here really make this a standout hostel. Friendly, attentive and down-to-earth!
  • 100%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • That's the best hostel I've ever been! The stuff is very friendly and the atmosphere in this hostel is perfect.
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2013 Adrian Germany
  • I stayed here with a friend for four nights. As soon as we arrived, we noticed the warm, family like atmosphere in the hostel. Since it is a small hostel, we got to know everyone and went out for pubcrawls at night. Clean bathrooms and beds, nice people, fun nights. Couldn't have imagined a better stay in Philadelphia! Compliments to the whole staff!!
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Tobias Germany
  • The Philadelphia House is awesome. The staff is very present and will help you get the better out of your stay in the city. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • Would recommend this hostel to anyone, young, old, internationals just anyone. The staff are so friendly on arrival and they just have an amazing atmosphere as soon a you enter!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Hayley Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »