See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 93% from 157 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • extremely clean hostel. great beds, showers and bathroom. but its not your average hostel, all of the staff are their all of the time, feels more like a party house for the staff. Manager was a bit inappropriate and made us feel uncomfortable at times. But if you are into a small and cozy close knit environment then you will probally like it.
  • 77%
  • 12 Nov 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • No exaggeration: the best hostel I've ever stayed at. You can't beat the location, the staff are incredible, the guests are a ton of fun, it was clean, inexpensive, safe, and had a great atmosphere. Not only is it a great place to stay, but they really form a sense of community by encouraging guests to hang out in the common room, mingle with fellow travelers and staff, and go out as a group for for karaoke, pub crawls and walking tours. I wouldn't hesitate to come back!
  • 100%
  • 06 Nov 2013 Matthew
  • Guys you are awesome! If I ever come back to Philadelphia I definitely stay in your Hostel.
  • 91%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Christina Germany
  • It was the best hostel I've stayed so far. The staff was extremely friendly, fun and helpfull, and the place had a great vibe. Great place to meet new people!
  • 94%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • The staff and guests were super-friendly. The bunk beds were a tad uncomfortable, but they did the trick. The location was great and was close to where I was going in downtown, passing the Liberty Bell every day. I wouldn't recommend groups of people come here - there are nearby hotels that are a better idea. But if you're an individual traveler and like to meet and socialize, this is your place.
  • 86%
  • 01 Nov 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • After spending 6 days on the road, we were very happy to stay in a hostel which felt much more like home than a hostel, actually:). Not just because of its facilities, but mainly thanks to people running the hostel.
  • 94%
  • 29 Oct 2013 Tatiana Slovakia
  • Great atmosphere when you walk in, very relaxed and homely. staff were welcoming and always up for a jam with you. clean and safe it was a great stay, only wish it had been for longer.
  • 100%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Joseph England
  • Very very nice hostel.
  • 91%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Smiljana Croatia
  • This hostel gave me excellent feelings,location, staff, cleanliness,facilities, especially which was founded by Benjamin Franklin!
  • 100%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Shang China
  • Really amazing hostel. Best beds, very friendly and knowledgable staff, very clean.
  • 100%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Bryan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »