See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 93% from 146 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • small but very comfortable very nice staff
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2013 Feng China
  • Clean, friendly staff and perfect location. What do you need more? Just the price is a little too high, it's really nice, but still a hostel, which should be affordable for everyone...
  • 86%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Peter Austria
  • One of the best hostels we've stayed at. The location is in a safe area and within walking distance of grocery stores, cafes, bars and sightseeing. Very social and helpful staff. Everyone socialises in the common room which makes you feel relaxed as if you were at home. The staff organise an activity every night ranging from pub crawls to games nights, making you feel apart of their family. Keep a box of matches in your pocket if Danny's around.....(inside joke)
  • 100%
  • 18 Oct 2013 Thomas Australia
  • Everyone was incredibly friendly and welcoming! I'll definitely return and recommend it to others!
  • 100%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Over all I'm glad to stay this hostel. Every one was lovely and helpful. Only one thing bothered me though I bookes for two almost 2 month ahead but they didn't gibe us the same room and when we asked to worked out the manager just refused just because he didn't care. He just said it is happened. There is no comment for the seperation of companions in website. We had to sleep different rooms for entire trip. WTH! Other than that everything was great.
  • 80%
  • 16 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Philadelphia House far exceeded my expectations. Being in the center of downtown Philadelphia, we were able to explore anywhere on foot, We felt very safe and there is constant staff presence/help if needed. The staff were also extremely friendly and always invited us out to whatever they were doing. Showers/Kitchen/a common room etc are all great features that made this stay worry-free. It definitely allowed my friends and I to have a fun roadtrip for a very cheap price without worry.
  • 100%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Lawson USA
  • It was hard to tell staff from guests since both were just as friendly and helpful.. Thickest mattresses i ever seen at any hostel i have stayed at.. Quiet location great for a good night sleep. About 15-20 min walk to the city centre. Wifi worked everywhere.. No breakfast was provided.. Staff gives lots of great tips for things to do and see.. Price was a bit high but i guess average compared to other options in Philly. Better than HI hostel in Philly with hidden extra fees
  • 89%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • I was very impressed both by the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the hostel. The rooms, bathrooms, kitchen were all very clean. The best part was that one of the staff provided me a map and even took the time to point out all of the sights worth seeing, many of which were only a few blocks away since the hostel is located in the center of the old city. I wish I could have stayed longer!
  • 100%
  • 11 Oct 2013 Jon USA
  • It would be nice if the staff living area was separate from the guests' sleeping quarters. Loud staff members with no regard for guests trying to sleep to not make for a very enjoyable visit. If the staff was simply aware of the guests and kept their partying and loud music to a different part of the hostel, it would have been a more enjoyable experience.
  • 60%
  • 10 Oct 2013 Phil USA
  • Fantastic experience, wonderful staff!
  • 100%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Ericha USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »