See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 94% from 137 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 93%Security
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • after HUNTING for two hours, i finally found cherry street, with the help of two locals. numbers count! all three of you fellows responded thoughtfully. hope the future directions will improve. my roomies were amazing folks-three countries!-who did not hang out for movie night. yay, pop corn! the tv volumn WAS lowered after 11pm. thank you!. was surprized that breakfast was not included, but the great kitchen facilities were a help. only downer was not jamming, my NAF with the folk-jazz guy.
  • 91%
  • 18 May 2014 Barbara W USA
  • Absolutely fantastic hostel. The best I have stayed at. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable about the city, the location is great in respect to the historical areas of Philadelphia.
  • 100%
  • 11 May 2014 Joshua Australia
  • Small rooms.
  • 77%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Ernesto Argentina
  • I just enjoyed my stay there. One thing that struck me was the personalized approach and the feel of the place and the courtesy of the staff that was one of a kind . I don't think there is a better Hostel than the Philadelphia House in the entire universe. Amazing and hardworking staff, esp. Austin, Valerie, Sergio, Maria and Danny. Truly PHIL-A-DELPHIA house( House of brotherly love).
  • 100%
  • 29 Apr 2014 Anonymous India
  • I would definitely advice anyone who wants to stay in Philadelphia to stay in this hostel. The staff is amazing!! Always here to help you if you have a question (each one deserve six stars: Sergio for "the best burger in the US (the world??)", Valerie and Maria for their smiles and kindness, Danny for his good mood and his bad french and Austin for his jokes). The hostel is really close from every main "touristic" site in Philadelphia with plenty of things to explore. Very clean. STAY THERE.
  • 100%
  • 28 Apr 2014 Guillaume France
  • My stay there was lovely. It felt like home. Maria and Sergio were both incredibly warm and nice to talk with. I definitely recommend the Philadelphia House.
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Mohamed Tunisia
  • Great place, superb atmosphere
  • 91%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous Slovakia
  • This is my favorite hostel. Everything is just perfect! Close to the historic landmarks.
  • 97%
  • 18 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great friendly and fun staff
  • 83%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Jack Australia
  • Hostel may be small but it houses some of the friendliest staff (Bill, Austin, Valerie) I've met as well as having a very welcoming atmosphere. They also have some hostel events that add to its homeliness. Definitely stay here if you ever drop by Philly!
  • 100%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »