See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 93% from 154 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The Philadelphia House is awesome. The staff is very present and will help you get the better out of your stay in the city. I highly recommend this hostel.
  • 100%
  • 12 Aug 2013 Anonymous France
  • Would recommend this hostel to anyone, young, old, internationals just anyone. The staff are so friendly on arrival and they just have an amazing atmosphere as soon a you enter!
  • 100%
  • 06 Aug 2013 Hayley Australia
  • The Philadelphia House is easily one of the BEST hostels I've ever stayed at. Danny and the staff were more than welcoming - they treated me like family. Between the game nights, movie outings and walking tours there was never a dull moment. The hostel's location is ideal and the atmosphere is warm and friendly. As a female traveling by myself safety was definitely a priority and I couldn't have felt more secure at The Philadelphia House. I can't recommend TPH enough and I can't wait to go back!
  • 100%
  • 29 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Upon arriving at the Hostel, I immediately felt welcome and safe. It was a lot of fun, hanging out and getting to know the other people staying at the hostel. The bathrooms were very clean and the bed was comfy too! The staff are very knowledgable and were able to give me great directions on the sites to see around the town. My stay was too short, will definitely be back! Thanks Danny!
  • 91%
  • 27 Jul 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • The Philadelphia House location is in such a great location, that I am concerned that my comments will cause a flood of reservations making it difficult for me to reserve on my next visit. This is a clean, beautiful facility located in the heart of the historic district (& a historic building iteself) in Philadelphia, but close enough to the soul of the city for those interested in a deeper appreciation of the local society.
  • 100%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best stays I have ever had. Great staff, great location and an awesome common room. Really friendly atmosphere in the center of town with staff who know the area well. Thoroughly recommend and most likely will return. The only thing that would make this better would be an included breakfast of some sort.
  • 100%
  • 24 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
  • Great staff. You can tell they love their job and interacting with new people. Very helpful. Had some type of event every night.
  • 100%
  • 22 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The best choice I've ever made. It's the most confortable place in town, for sure.
  • 100%
  • 14 Jul 2013 Laísa Brazil
  • Loves it ! Great people and great atmosphere ! Will recommend it !
  • 94%
  • 12 Jul 2013 Eric USA
  • We were very impressed by the friendly and helpful service and atmosphere we received from the staff. We are a family of four with two teenage boys, and all of us loved the place and the staff. The hostel is in the perfect location, within easy reach of important sites and entertainments. The hostel maintains a cozy and atmosphere as well. The activities the staff come up with are really fun and entertaining. If you are looking for a stay in Philadelphia, you definitely should check it out.
  • 100%
  • 07 Jul 2013 Judit Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »