See other Philadelphia properties

The Philadelphia House

325 Cherry Street, Philadelphia, USA, Distance from city centre: 1.5km

Rating: 93% from 137 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 96%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 94%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In Philidalphia you don't really have much of an option for hostels it seems. In my opinion this place could have built the restrooms (shower sink and toilets) a little smarter. Avoid carpets near these areas which they did not. Staff is awesome and location is amazing.
  • 83%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Shane Canada
  • Absolute best place I've stayed in my travels. I wouldn't have liked Philadelphia nearly as much if I hadn't stayed here!
  • 100%
  • 12 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Well this was a small, cosy, intimate hostel - which is great! All the people who work there and run the hostel are really great to hang around with, and certainly make you feel welcome. They come on the pub crawls with you, play drinking games etc. and it's a lot of fun! Also, when you first get there, whoever's working at reception will personally show you on a map a TON of things to do. I made a mistake by not staying in Philly long enough! I could not recommend this place enough!
  • 100%
  • 07 Jan 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Everything was great, but I'd especially like to mention the wonderful staff who seemed to be around all the time (even when not working), creating a wonderful atmosphere and making The Philadelphia House feel like home!
  • 97%
  • 06 Jan 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Feels like home
  • 100%
  • 04 Jan 2014 Anonymous China
  • Great time! Hostel is super clean and the rooms are spacious. Bill and Val are incredibly nice and welcoming. A few of the employees are airheads.
  • 97%
  • 31 Dec 2013 yasmine USA
  • Small hostel. Good rooms. Good showers. Nice kitchen. The only bad point is that it would be great if we did not have to hear the noise of the air conditioning, or fan, I do not know all night. But earplugs solve the problem.
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
  • Very safe atmosphere, great staff and awesome house mates. I had a lot of fun. Shout out to Bill - a humble and welcoming individual. Bedrooms are spacious. There's good enough storage space for the light traveler. Loved the living room/meeting area. Convenient kitchen. Bathrooms are cleaned thoroughly throughout the day. I'll definitely be back.
  • 89%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Edwin USA
  • Good hostel. Would definitely stay there again when I am in Philly.
  • 94%
  • 28 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • I like this hostel very much. Warm and comfy atmospher. What I like the most is all staffs are so friendly. They maintain everything nice and clean. If I have a chance to go back to Philli, I will stay at Philli house for sure.
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Anonymous Thailand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mouth-watering holiday dishes!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »