See other Shanghai properties

The Phoenix

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 84% from 15 reviews

  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The rooms are very small but well kept. However, I saw a cockroach crawling out of the door when I got up in the morning. The staff was very helpful.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Pedro Portugal
  • Very clean, beautiful view from my room, very central, excellent terasse on the roof, hot showers (with bathroom in every room) awesome people (both staff and roomates). I've had a wonderful time there. I'll go back in June and I definetly recommend that hostel. Don't forget to bring a lock and you're all set
  • 97%
  • 24 Apr 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • great location. nice. easy to go to people's square. very large place.
  • 91%
  • 28 Jan 2015 YOUNA
  • Super! Recommend.Отличный отель сложно назвать его хостелом. Все прекрасно. Обедайте прямо на выходе из лифта
  • 97%
  • 16 Jan 2015 Denis Russia
  • Great location, clean rooms, and cool rooftop bar. The staff could be a little more helpful, but overall, this is a great hostel in a great location.
  • 80%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Aaron USA
  • being near the Poples Square it was only 5 minuts walk to the Shanghai museum and we spent over 3 hours there,The Bund shopping street only 20 minutes walk from the hostel and along the river front . Plenty of cheap places to eat also with meals as low as Y10 and in the same street.The subway is good and we were able to get our SFT back to Beijing with little fuss. The room was very good and the staff very helpful.The directions on how to get there were spot on .
  • 100%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Fred Australia
  • Security: the hostel canbe entranced through a restayrant, meaning that everyone - everyone - can take the elevator and get to the sleeping areas Location; average - you need to walk quite a way to get to the Bund, but it's OK Staff: seemed like it didn't care - I asked for a map and got one from the dumpster. Didn't seem eager or service minded. Atmosphere: I slept on the second floor, where they were painting the halway area, but also plastering and ploshing the walls.It was dusty, not healthy
  • 46%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Anonymous Denmark
  • Every thing ok, nice rooms, good location and very clean
  • 80%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Anonymous Spain
  • Create a common room filled with chairs, maps, and tour books.
  • 86%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great Location near the subway to everywhere!
  • 94%
  • 19 Aug 2014 Kevin USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »