See other Shanghai properties

The Phoenix

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 84% from 24 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I think this is good place to stay.
  • 77%
  • 11 Feb 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • Travelinformation on trainservice etc. Can be improved. Offer on Tours not available during lower season.
  • 83%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous Switzerland
  • I found The phoenix probably the best hostel in my experiences in China. Very good and professional staff, really well located in the center, near many good restaurants and shops. The balcony in the last floor has a wonderfull view of the old streets of Shanghai, perfect to enjoy drinks and breakfast or surf in Internet.
  • 91%
  • 07 Oct 2013 Jorge Spain
  • I would stay here again, because the location is great (15 min walking distance to The Bund) and what you get for your money is great, too. They have an excellent restaurant just downstairs and a rooftop bar with a great view, where you can have a nice sandwich for breakfast. So all in all, a good experience with only one thing, we had a cockroach in our room and it was huge, well for me it was. It fled behind the cupboard and we had to sleep with it alive for that one night. The horror.
  • 86%
  • 31 Aug 2013 Rebekka Germany
  • The hostel has a good location close to most sights, metro and nice food streets, restaurants ect. The hostel itself has a very nice and cheap chineese which is a plus. The hostel was rather unclean though - both the rooms and the common area. Our room had bedbugs which is a major drawback becauce you wake up with bites and there is a risk of taking the bugs with you when you leave. The hostel is nice - but I would not reccomend due to the bedbugs.
  • 71%
  • 25 Jul 2013 Anonymous Denmark
  • A renovated hotel that serves well as a hostel. The fourth floor bar and garden are great, as is the location. Staff were helpful and friendly. A good place to stay in Shanghai.
  • 91%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
  • We stayed in the deluxe private double room, although it was pretty standard. The was acceptable in the room, but really poor in the bathroom. Our toilet didn't flush properly. The restaurent at the ground floor was excellent with good pricing, and we ate there three of four nights. You cant get better location with walking distance to nearly everything. We would recommend this hostel for a cheap stay in Shanghai.
  • 71%
  • 04 Jun 2013 Mette Denmark
  • I love the cosy bar upstair with sofa where the wifi works marvellously! Friendly bartenders too :) enjoy my 5 nights stay there and thanks for making my stay in Shang comfortable!
  • 94%
  • 30 May 2013 Janet Indonesia
  • Good service overall, but they have a minor bug problem.
  • 74%
  • 27 May 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel; excellent location next to People's Park, friendly staff (tell Cici in the upstairs bar that Ryan says hi!), clean rooms and reasonable bathroom/shower. Would definitely stay again!
  • 100%
  • 26 May 2013 Ryan USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »