See other Shanghai properties

The Phoenix

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 88% from 18 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Excellent location, very clean with brand new bathroom (shower) facilities. Very nice upstair terrasse with bar and breakfast place. I strongly recommend this place.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2016 Nelly Luxembourg
  • 2-bedrooms with bath on the 4th floor are great. 4-bedrooms are average and on towels provided. We did not know upfront. Enjoyed the morning sun on the rooftop bar.
  • 83%
  • 16 Feb 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Very nice and clean location. Employees were very polite and helpful and speak english fluently :-)
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • The rooftop bar was great! The staff up there were really cool and fun to talk to. I loved the tea lesson!
  • 86%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was living in Phoenix hostel many times when I was travelling. It is the best location and everything clean. Nice terrace and nice English speaking staff. Downstairs of hostel it is nice chinese restaurant with good food. Anyway now I am living almost next to hostel, I move to Shanghai and I am working like a PR manager for different famous clubs. If someone need good party, free drinks and free entrances then u can contact me on my wechat Julijahertelendi or add me on Whatsapp +8615000215967
  • 91%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Julia
  • This was perhaps the nicest hostel I have stayed at. Very clean, great location and the rooftop bar is a great atmosphere to meet other travelers.
  • 97%
  • 07 Oct 2015 paul Canada
  • 8 mixed dorm was very comfortable, clean, and shower room has enough place. staffs are kind and helpful. i'd like to strongly recommend here.
  • 89%
  • 30 Jul 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • The food is superb. The shower in the room could be cleaned better
  • 71%
  • 19 Jul 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

It's not hard to find something free to do in New Zealand; you just have to look up! Here are five ideas of what to see in this marvellous country with no need to dip into your ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »