See other Shanghai properties

The Phoenix

17 Yunnan (South) road, Shanghai, China, Distance from city centre: 0.6km

Rating: 92% from 17 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We reserved a double twinbed room. The room was a great rate for the location, amenities, and amount of space. However, the room smelled a little of smoke and I guess there is smoking allowed in certain parts of the hostel (my bad I didn't research). Since I'm allergic, I asked to cancel and they accommodated my request. They were extremely helpful and even assisted with translating my new hotel's address and hailing a cab for me. Real great service here with passionate, caring staff. Thank you!
  • 86%
  • 28 Nov 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel exceeds my expectation beyond and above. The stuffs are super nice, friendly and will try to help you in every possible means. There was a single private room available and I was very late at night. The guy at the front desk upgraded my dormitory room to a private room voluntarily without charging me a any extra penny; just unbelievable!!! I really enjoyed my stay here and I will be back again. The hostel is not just excellent it's just OUTSTANDING!!!!
  • 100%
  • 08 Nov 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • It's a very good place to stay and well located! It's close to the main places and the MRT, so it's easy to get around. We can also recommend the shuttle service to the airport. The bed was not too comfortable, but fine and the room had a window and it was clean. We would definetely stay there again!!
  • 91%
  • 25 Oct 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Really enjoyed staying in this hostel. I stayed for 4 nights, and did not find any problem. Location was nice. Takes only 1~2 minutes from the Dashijie subway satation. Less than 40 min to Waitan by walk, 10 min to Yuyuan by taxi(20 yuan.) Dormitory was cozy and nice, with excellent wifi connection. Staff were friendly and diligent. Most of them speaking fluent English. Enjoyed being friend with them. Especially was helped a lot from Wendy. She taught me some basic Chinese for travel:)
  • 97%
  • 14 Sep 2016 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Phoenix hostel is located in the center of Shanghai, well suited to tour the city. The room was clean and in in good shape. Only disantvantage: The airconditioner outlet blows directly towards the top of the bed. There is a cool rooftop bar and a restaurant in the basement, which offers a large varity of dishes in good quality. The Phoenix Hostel can definitly be recomended.
  • 100%
  • 03 Sep 2016 Peter Germany
  • Excellent location, very clean with brand new bathroom (shower) facilities. Very nice upstair terrasse with bar and breakfast place. I strongly recommend this place.
  • 91%
  • 07 Mar 2016 Nelly Luxembourg
  • 2-bedrooms with bath on the 4th floor are great. 4-bedrooms are average and on towels provided. We did not know upfront. Enjoyed the morning sun on the rooftop bar.
  • 83%
  • 16 Feb 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • Very nice and clean location. Employees were very polite and helpful and speak english fluently :-)
  • 94%
  • 02 Jan 2016 Anonymous Germany
  • The rooftop bar was great! The staff up there were really cool and fun to talk to. I loved the tea lesson!
  • 86%
  • 31 Dec 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I was living in Phoenix hostel many times when I was travelling. It is the best location and everything clean. Nice terrace and nice English speaking staff. Downstairs of hostel it is nice chinese restaurant with good food. Anyway now I am living almost next to hostel, I move to Shanghai and I am working like a PR manager for different famous clubs. If someone need good party, free drinks and free entrances then u can contact me on my wechat Julijahertelendi or add me on Whatsapp +8615000215967
  • 91%
  • 24 Dec 2015 Julia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »