See other Valencia properties

The River Hostel

Plaza de Temple, 6, Valencia, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1.1km

Rating: 86% from 19 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Pros: close to a nice park. Cons: the top bunks feel like you are sleeping next to the person in the adjacent bunk with only a 12 inch piece of wood separating you. If you choose to go to this place ignore the directions on their site...they are completely ridiculous. Just walk down Calle Colon toward the park(old River bed) and take a left when you get to the park. It's on the road that runs along the park. Also: they just jacked the price up from 9€ to 18€.... While I was there.
  • 74%
  • 12 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice hostel, really cheap and good staff
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2016 Manuel Spain
  • Overall good hostel. Only complaint was one out of the 4 night I spend there was very noise until late in the morning 2/3 am. Large group of, unsupervised, high school students?
  • 74%
  • 26 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Staff kept the hostel spotlessly except the kitchen which is a losing battle due to inconsiderate slobs who think they can make a huge mess and someone else will clean up after them, which the staff at River does, probably 3 times a day! the 24-hour café was great, location close to everything. My private room was spacious with a window that opened for fresh air. Elevator made it so easy for an old lady like me who can't climb stairs without much difficulty. I would definitely stay here again
  • 100%
  • 15 Feb 2016 Anonymous USA
  • It was a great hostel for the price we paid! The doorms are clean and the Beds are very comfortable! The only thing negative (but I would definitly go there again) is the staff who is very cold and doesn't seem to care much about the guests! However, it still is a great place to go!
  • 89%
  • 26 Jan 2016 Camille Canada
  • Really good hostel. We realy enjoyed. The only thing that wasnt realy good are older people they was anoying.
  • 100%
  • 24 Dec 2015 lucija Slovenia
  • AC is located directly above a top bunk bed so it hits the person directly. They didn't turn it on due to that and the room was really warm. Also, not all of the staff was friendly, and some barely wanted to help and provide directions for example. Price is great, but I won't be staying there again.
  • 57%
  • 17 Aug 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Very clean, well organised and well situated. The only down-point was the atmosphere was not as homely and welcoming as you might find in other hostels but even taking that into account it was still very good value for money. Thanks
  • 94%
  • 08 Aug 2015 Ryan England
  • The rooms were great same with the location. During check in no one really told us much about anything. They only gave us a map that's it.
  • 77%
  • 03 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Very nice, clean hostel with helpful staff which provided information for things to do. However, I disliked that the hostel booked a 4 or 5-headed family into my dorm who clearly didn't understand the concept of "sharing a room" (they turned the AC off as well as the fan which I put in front of my bed because it's was too cold and noisy according to them). Of course it's not the hostels fault but they should book families into a private room, especially if they have special "room preferences".
  • 86%
  • 01 Aug 2015 Anonymous Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

With the sun shining 80% of the time, Miami is the hot spot to go if you want a tropical getaway. It gets over 3,200 hours of sunshine a year, making it one of the top places to...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »