See other Cardiff properties

The Riverhouse Backpackers

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 96% from 17 reviews

  • 95%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 98%Value for money
  • 96%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It was definitely the nicest hostel I've ever seen. It felt like you were staying in someone's house! Super convenient and easy to find location and beautiful hostel.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • After reading all the great comments on the place, I thought it'd either be a really good hostel or a dump with fake reviews. Turns out it is a really good hostel. The staff was more than friendly, the atmosphere really nice (bonus point for the £1 dinner & pie nights!). The only down side, and it's not really that bad, was the bunk beds in the room under the roof. It was rather worrying to sleep on the top bed, fearing to crack my head open...
  • 91%
  • 30 Oct 2014 Anonymous France
  • Perfect option!
  • 100%
  • 01 Oct 2014 Anonymous Portugal
  • Incredible hostel!!! The best location ever, great building and facilities. The breakfast is awesome!!! Very cool staff. No doubt one of the best hostels I've ever been. Totally recommended!!!
  • 89%
  • 24 Sep 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Awesome,awesome, awesome. Facilities clean and tidy, staff very friendly. Plenty of showers and toilets for all to use, and nice and close to public transport. Thanks Riverside backpackers for the hospitality in Cardiff.
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Donna New Zealand
  • Excellent stay. Good facilities and friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Steven Canada
  • Loved the hostel. Would have loved more chances to interact with the other hostel goers, maybe add incentives to meet up. I didn't really do much with the nightlife in cardiff but if you could have added a walking tour or a pubcrawl that would have been awesome.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is a very cute hostel and very clean. My roommates were also very nice and respectful. Location is the best. The breakfast is ok; facilities are small.
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Mayilu USA
  • Here was the best hostel I've ever stayed. Everything was perfect I 100% enjoyed the stuff they provided. Highly recommend you to taste their brilliant breakfast and dinner!!
  • 100%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Hostel was easy to find, the owners were very cordial and hospitable, and there were many perks that went beyond the typical hostel stay, including 1 BP home cooked dinners every night.
  • 100%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »