See other Cardiff properties

The Riverhouse Backpackers

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 97% from 15 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 97%Security
  • 97%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 100%Value for money
  • 97%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Awesome,awesome, awesome. Facilities clean and tidy, staff very friendly. Plenty of showers and toilets for all to use, and nice and close to public transport. Thanks Riverside backpackers for the hospitality in Cardiff.
  • 100%
  • 08 Sep 2014 Donna New Zealand
  • Excellent stay. Good facilities and friendly staff.
  • 100%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Steven Canada
  • Loved the hostel. Would have loved more chances to interact with the other hostel goers, maybe add incentives to meet up. I didn't really do much with the nightlife in cardiff but if you could have added a walking tour or a pubcrawl that would have been awesome.
  • 97%
  • 28 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This is a very cute hostel and very clean. My roommates were also very nice and respectful. Location is the best. The breakfast is ok; facilities are small.
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Mayilu USA
  • Here was the best hostel I've ever stayed. Everything was perfect I 100% enjoyed the stuff they provided. Highly recommend you to taste their brilliant breakfast and dinner!!
  • 100%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • The Hostel was easy to find, the owners were very cordial and hospitable, and there were many perks that went beyond the typical hostel stay, including 1 BP home cooked dinners every night.
  • 100%
  • 23 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • We had a long weekend so we went and stayed here. It has a perfect location, 5 minute walk from the main street with bars and clubs. The Staff was Amazing, we drove our own car and parking was kinda of an issue, but as i asked the guy at the front desk, he just gave me the parking pass for the day for exchange of my ID card. The bathrooms are single so you have your own personal space. they get dirty in the morning but were cleaned before 11. They also do fun snacks and dinners in the evening!!
  • 97%
  • 15 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • One of the best independent hostels I've stayed at. A very sweet couple that run the place. Really nice facilities. Outstanding breakfast and free wifi. My only wish is that there would be a way to dry hands in the washrooms.
  • 100%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was by far the BEST hostel I've ever stayed at! I felt instantly at home, the bathrooms were fantastic, the breakfast was amazing, and the staff were incredibly kind, cool, and accommodating! They have food/drink offers some nights for a pound which really makes it easy to meet other travellers. If you're travelling by yourself this is the perfect place to stay. It's close town, and a 5 min walk from the main bus/train station (10 mins walk from the Megabus stop). 100% recommended!
  • 100%
  • 18 Jan 2014 danielle Australia
  • It was literally great. I have been really glad that I have stayed there for 2 nights. The most thing I liked about this hostel was breakfast. You can't imagine how great it looks like and even you can enjoy this for free. I mean the fee for staying this hostel includes breakfast. But when I saw this first in the morning, I felt like I have to pay for this to have them. Moreover, receptionists were too sweet and lovely. Very kind to everyone.
  • 100%
  • 13 Jan 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »