See other Cardiff properties

The Riverhouse Backpackers

59 Fitzhamon Embankment, Cardiff, Wales, Distance from city centre: 2.6km

Rating: 91% from 13 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 92%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 86%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel was very easy find, central location, clean and tidy, staff is very helpful, excellent atmosphere! Overall great hostel, I am definitely recommending this hostel to anyone who's planning a trip to Cardiff.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Thijs Netherlands
  • I am fairly new to Hostel experience. My stay at the Riverhouse was another good experience. Clean, great staff and excellent breakfast.
  • 91%
  • 03 Sep 2015 FRANCE Canada
  • Super Breakfast, Atmosphere and also the Events e.g. "Cider and Pizza Evenings" Are very good. Very good community area with two seperate ones both with a Sky TV package. Also a very good kitchen to cook for yourself abd friends and eneough room To have meals in the Dining Area. A Computer with printer for guests to use would be nice.
  • 94%
  • 31 Jul 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • This is a very nice, hospitable hostel close to Cardiff city center and the bus and train stations. It is quiet for sleeping, is kept vey clean, and the breakfast is awesome!
  • 91%
  • 14 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Staff was awesome! Really helpful and friendly! The rooms were good. My flight was really late at night and I could leave my bag in their luggage room which was great. They also told me that I could hang out there all day long which was great. Lounge area is great if the weather is bad and you want to read and or just chat.
  • 83%
  • 13 Jul 2015 Christina Germany
  • The staff and the breakfast were excellent. They keep milk in the fridge for 24 hours use, so if you get hungry in the night due to jetlag, you can make some porridge or cereals for self. The location of the hostel is bit odd. But not too far from central places. Overall recommended. Small suggestion: The lockers provided in the room are small and make noise while shutting and opening.
  • 83%
  • 22 Jan 2015 Anonymous India
  • Also it takes 10 min by walk from the bus station and right beside of bute park and stadium. Even it's affordable price they seriously care about hygiene, change the bed sheets everyday and everything is clean in this hostel! There's few cats in here, sometimes they show up at the ground floor and they're absolutely adorable. If you're a car person you must love them and if you're not, it's still okay because they don't care about guests that much haha :)
  • 94%
  • 12 Jan 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • I am sure this hostel is the best in Cardiff. Though there's no elevator and the house is little old house so the wood floor makes sound when you walk, this hostel is worth to stay if you visit Cardiff. The included breakfast is amazing and they also often serve dinner at 2 pound!! (The meal in here is basically good) When there's no dinner they often provide free munchies(but you should be there right on time it's limited haha).
  • 94%
  • 11 Jan 2015 Anonymous South Korea
  • It was definitely the nicest hostel I've ever seen. It felt like you were staying in someone's house! Super convenient and easy to find location and beautiful hostel.
  • 100%
  • 17 Dec 2014 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »