See other London properties

The Royal Bayswater Hostel

121 Bayswater Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 4.9km

Rating: 65% from 32 reviews

  • 58%Atmosphere
  • 63%Staff
  • 64%Security
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 70%Value for money
  • 54%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Traumatised by someone who peed all over his bed in both bathrooms and everywhere on the floor, and the violence from the intervenance of a security guard on him on the only night i stayed. Horrible: never take a bedroom of 20 places, i met really great people, the only thing is nothing was clean and i didn't feel secure.
  • 57%
  • 16 Oct 2014 Anonymous France
  • The reason this review is not a positive one is that guests had to pay for Internet (which is extremely silly). The continental 'breakfast' was white bread and instant coffee. When asking for advise on where to go to eat, etc, the staff had no clue - provided zero assistance. The ensuite restroom was never cleaned beyond throwing down a new towel outside the shower, further the room itself was never cleaned either. There weren't any lockers to protect your belongings in the rooms.
  • 43%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I walked in to this hostel hoping that I was in the wrong building. Once I got to my room, I literally cried. There was a smell that was emanating from the bathroom. I compared the pictures online and noticed that the pictures don't look like the actual hostel. I think it's very deceiving on the hostels part to put pictures up of a hostel that looks nothing like the one I stayed in. The hostel is so disgusting, there's mold in the bathrooms, they don't clean as often.
  • 49%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It is a normal hostel. One big minus was very noisy machine on yard. The second day thanks God the machine was broken or didnt know what happend, but I can't sleep! Maybe now it will be okay.
  • 86%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • You need to pay for everything. No free WiFi. Breakfast is poor. Elevator is not working and nobody is going to fix it.
  • 63%
  • 20 Sep 2014 Anonymous Armenia
  • There were some big insects in our room. The lights in the bathroom were disfonctionnal. The showerhead fell twice and needed to be replaced. We told the staff and they apologized and replaced it. The housekeeper entered the room without knocking on the door. People were running in the corridors and shouting. Very noisy.
  • 51%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Jean-Philippe Canada
  • I really enjoyed of staying at this hostel. I hope i could have chance to use this hostel whenever i will come to London.I want to express my gratitude from the good and friendlz staff as well...
  • 91%
  • 26 Jul 2014 Afshin England
  • it was good, but a bit expensive for what the offer. they didnt have a common room (except for the kitchen) so if you are trevilling alone take it into account.
  • 74%
  • 23 Jul 2014 Anonymous Italy
  • You have to pay for absolutely everything: wifi, lockers, towels... There's no security at all. The room were so hot I couldn't sleep. Breakfast was really poor, it would be better if there wasn't any and the price was lower. Not a good hostel.
  • 34%
  • 16 Jul 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • For this money, you cannot really expect much of quality and luxury, of course. But still, our room (4 bed mixed dorm) was so small, that we couldnt stay in there with closed windows, as we would have suffocated, so the windows had to be open 24/7. Unfortunately, directly in front of the window, we could see and especially HEAR the very loud noise of the building's air conditioning system or something similar, which sounded like an industrial excavator working non-stop. Hard to sleep with this.
  • 60%
  • 15 Jul 2014 Tolga Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »