See other Miami properties

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 82% from 29 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 78%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I really was thinking of moving to a hotel nearby because the state of the room I stayed in was disgusting. But there were some really great people staying there, so that made me want to stay.
  • 66%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • It was all good
  • 80%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • very friendly staff. Great Location.Good for relax
  • 86%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Ricardo Germany
  • I loved to stay at this hostel rooms are big free linen bedsheets etc. with private bath hostel has a pool and an open air kitchen which is amazing. Free WORKING Internet great Wifi in the rooms . If you have a problem tbere is 24/7 someone at reception. So go ask at recetion. if you dont like the room they gave you . Tell them they change it for you . People seem to complain a lot about this hostel hotel . I loved it beeing 1bloc away from the ocean etc? Had a great stay. Thanks
  • 100%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location and value for your dollar! Staff can be more welcoming. No breakfast included is a bit on the negative side. Erick, New York USA
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Laid-back young scene. Not too crowded. Not a party hostel. Ideal for European (UK,NL,D,F, I,ES etc) hostel/backpackers that want more than just a compromise in quality for economy. Perfect base to do the Miami to Key West by car route. Has an international feel.
  • 89%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Walter Italy
  • Its my second time there, I love the location. Its near to Ocean Drive, beach, Lincon, etc... But... will be nice to remove the carpet in the bedrooms and comum areas. Its too old and seems dirty. The rooms and beds are good, but need new pillows. Really need! Great kitchen, pool, hall, wi-fi, etc.
  • 74%
  • 13 Dec 2014 monique Germany
  • No atmosphere to meet people. Not good for single travellers. Pool was nice but it's not heated. Location is good.
  • 60%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Hostel is situated in Miami Beach, very close to water. This is good for person who want to spend all day in the beach. If you are interesting to visit Downtown, The Wylnood or Little Havana you must take the bus. Communication is good. For me hostel was good - it was clean, nice staff without one guy who worked in receception. There was also kitchen but you must be prepared that this is hostel connection with hotel well you don't find any food (normal in hostel you have sugar, tea, some staff)
  • 74%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Dominika Poland
  • Great place! Very close to the beach, shops and clubs! There is a pool, wifi and kitchen. I had amazing time there!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No matter where you are there's always time for a great beer with great friends. Check out our guide to cheap but awesome beer all over the world

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »