See other Miami properties

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 81% from 37 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 94%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 78%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • safer to have shared food in the fridge rather than outside.
  • 89%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • the kitchen should provide more space, more chair
  • 71%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Pros: It has a great location, only 2-3 blocks away from the beach, from Lincoln Road and Washington Ave. It is also very convenient to arrive by bus directly from the airport. The price is low compared to other places in Miami Beach. Reception open 24 hrs. Cons: Here, there are more details: No towels, no lockers available, old carpet in the rooms (not convenient in a hostel so close to the beach), rooms not ventilated, wifi not great in the rooms.
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • Excellent location, close to the beach, restaurants and shops!
  • 94%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Isa Sweden
  • I really was thinking of moving to a hotel nearby because the state of the room I stayed in was disgusting. But there were some really great people staying there, so that made me want to stay.
  • 66%
  • 23 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • It was all good
  • 80%
  • 09 Feb 2015 Anonymous England
  • very friendly staff. Great Location.Good for relax
  • 86%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Ricardo Germany
  • I loved to stay at this hostel rooms are big free linen bedsheets etc. with private bath hostel has a pool and an open air kitchen which is amazing. Free WORKING Internet great Wifi in the rooms . If you have a problem tbere is 24/7 someone at reception. So go ask at recetion. if you dont like the room they gave you . Tell them they change it for you . People seem to complain a lot about this hostel hotel . I loved it beeing 1bloc away from the ocean etc? Had a great stay. Thanks
  • 100%
  • 01 Feb 2015 Anonymous Germany
  • Great location and value for your dollar! Staff can be more welcoming. No breakfast included is a bit on the negative side. Erick, New York USA
  • 80%
  • 05 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Laid-back young scene. Not too crowded. Not a party hostel. Ideal for European (UK,NL,D,F, I,ES etc) hostel/backpackers that want more than just a compromise in quality for economy. Perfect base to do the Miami to Key West by car route. Has an international feel.
  • 89%
  • 18 Dec 2014 Walter Italy
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Spring and Summer are full of musical adventures. Check out our list of some of the world's best (and in some cases lesser-known) music festivals happening this year

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »