See other Miami properties

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 78% from 43 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location, close to the tourist area of South Beach. Amazing staff who are very willing to help out and make recommendations.
  • 94%
  • 19 Sep 2015 Ida Sweden
  • Here happened to me one of the most bizarre things in my life - one of the residents of my dorm was literally jerking off a few minutes after I entered the room to use toilet and he DID NOT stop...! I know that Miami Beach is full of creepy people but I expected from stuff something more than 'I am going to talk with him' after I reported the situation... Next time I'll take a private room - not every tourist coming to Miami is a fag. A plus for excellent location and uniquely pleasant kitchen.
  • 60%
  • 09 Aug 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Single worst hostel I ever stayed in. Cheap, a lot of strange individuals stay here. Jobless local people, immigrants looking for jobs, etc. Short of money, therefore they persistantly steal your food from common kitchen. When you report it at the reception, they dont care. Last time I went again to the reception, again no help, so I said I will call the police. Manager said that if I call police, he will kick me out of the hotel. I think he is employing illegal workers
  • 51%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Good localization but staff attitude should improve. The swimming pool is a good point, rooms are okay but good luck finding WiFi inside them.
  • 66%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Damian Poland
  • No WiFi in the room
  • 63%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Austin
  • The big cockroaches in the bathroom were very gross! A shame they only fixed the problem when the people in the room found out that they were coming from behind the bathtub.. Also if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep, you better book a private room, because the rooms with other people are way noisier than I have experienced in any other hostel. Also lots of noise from outside. If your more of a party person and don’t mind sleeping during the day, this is perfect for you.
  • 66%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • Good for the price place!
  • 91%
  • 01 Jun 2015 Anonymous Panama
  • The staff who talked to me in the morning was really impolite. I put my arrival time at 11:00am, but he, roughly, said that does not matter what I put in the booking, I just could check in at 4:00pm.
  • 80%
  • 18 May 2015 Bibiana Terra Brazil
  • good value for money
  • 69%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • safer to have shared food in the fridge rather than outside.
  • 89%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »