See other Miami properties

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 78% from 19 reviews

  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 77%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 80%Value for money
  • 74%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Hostel is situated in Miami Beach, very close to water. This is good for person who want to spend all day in the beach. If you are interesting to visit Downtown, The Wylnood or Little Havana you must take the bus. Communication is good. For me hostel was good - it was clean, nice staff without one guy who worked in receception. There was also kitchen but you must be prepared that this is hostel connection with hotel well you don't find any food (normal in hostel you have sugar, tea, some staff)
  • 74%
  • 07 Oct 2014 Dominika Poland
  • Great place! Very close to the beach, shops and clubs! There is a pool, wifi and kitchen. I had amazing time there!!
  • 100%
  • 11 Sep 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Terrible experience, after trying to check in, they did not let me without a Passport. I had valid ID and everything and the foreign guy at the front desk was very rude &told me in broken English he refused to make an exception and that I should have known. I don't know any Americans who run around with their passport, they should accept BOTH a Valid State ID or Passport for international travelers. DO NOT STAY HERE. Go to the HI Hostel, it's called Hotel Eva 1506 Collins or Freehand Hostel!
  • 26%
  • 05 Sep 2014 Albert USA
  • The location in very good, next to the Ocean Drive!!!
  • 71%
  • 04 Aug 2014 Ricardo Brazil
  • Stayed for about 5 nights. It was a great time, the staff is very friendly and welcoming (Ms. Teay!). I had to move dorm for a couple of times as I had not reservation for the whole nights, and they give priority to groups that have reserved. Anyway, they try to find the best way to help. Swimming pool is a very cool facility, but water is quite warm. Rooms are spacious, and though old fashioned, clean as can be. Don't expect a posh modern looking place, but a quiet and comfortable hostel.
  • 94%
  • 20 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • This hotel is infested with termites. The first room we were given when we checked in was filthy (cigarette butts & condom wrappers), and termites in the bed base. We made complaints and asked for our money back but management refused!
  • 57%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Beautiful Hostel, perfect location and amazing staff.
  • 91%
  • 27 May 2014 Elise France
  • We were in a 4-bed dorm on the 1st floor. Very old furniture in the hostels, no lockers. No wireless in the room. We were cold without duvet, we ask a the reception if they had some, the only thing they could provide us were bed linen. Unpleasant staff, we were told different things by staff regarding check in of one of us staying an extra night, finally he could not have the room at 9am since other people had to check out from that room (the night before we were told the opposite!).
  • 54%
  • 03 Feb 2014 Anonymous France
  • Nice spot right at the Beach; the pool was quite dirty but who needs a pool if you can have the ocean? ;-) Friendly staff; rooms alright.
  • 71%
  • 20 Dec 2013 Lisa Germany
  • everyhing nice,,,would be perfect parking service as well as a printer for web checkin boarding passes!!!
  • 86%
  • 15 Nov 2013 Gilberto Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Christmas doesn't get much better than wandering around a snow-coated market with a hot mulled wine in hand. The smell of roasted chestnuts and the twinkling lights will put even a Grinch into the Christmas spirit.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »