See other Miami properties

The Tropics Hotel and Hostel

1550 Collins Ave, Miami, USA, Distance from city centre: 6.5km

Rating: 78% from 43 reviews

  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 75%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Single worst hostel I ever stayed in. Cheap, a lot of strange individuals stay here. Jobless local people, immigrants looking for jobs, etc. Short of money, therefore they persistantly steal your food from common kitchen. When you report it at the reception, they dont care. Last time I went again to the reception, again no help, so I said I will call the police. Manager said that if I call police, he will kick me out of the hotel. I think he is employing illegal workers
  • 51%
  • 25 Jun 2015 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Good localization but staff attitude should improve. The swimming pool is a good point, rooms are okay but good luck finding WiFi inside them.
  • 66%
  • 15 Jun 2015 Damian Poland
  • No WiFi in the room
  • 63%
  • 11 Jun 2015 Austin
  • The big cockroaches in the bathroom were very gross! A shame they only fixed the problem when the people in the room found out that they were coming from behind the bathtub.. Also if you are looking for a quiet place to sleep, you better book a private room, because the rooms with other people are way noisier than I have experienced in any other hostel. Also lots of noise from outside. If your more of a party person and don’t mind sleeping during the day, this is perfect for you.
  • 66%
  • 08 Jun 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • The staff who talked to me in the morning was really impolite. I put my arrival time at 11:00am, but he, roughly, said that does not matter what I put in the booking, I just could check in at 4:00pm.
  • 80%
  • 18 May 2015 Bibiana Terra Brazil
  • good value for money
  • 69%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous Brazil
  • safer to have shared food in the fridge rather than outside.
  • 89%
  • 14 Apr 2015 Anonymous Spain
  • the kitchen should provide more space, more chair
  • 71%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • Pros: It has a great location, only 2-3 blocks away from the beach, from Lincoln Road and Washington Ave. It is also very convenient to arrive by bus directly from the airport. The price is low compared to other places in Miami Beach. Reception open 24 hrs. Cons: Here, there are more details: No towels, no lockers available, old carpet in the rooms (not convenient in a hostel so close to the beach), rooms not ventilated, wifi not great in the rooms.
  • 66%
  • 17 Mar 2015 Anonymous Costa Rica
  • Excellent location, close to the beach, restaurants and shops!
  • 94%
  • 09 Mar 2015 Isa Sweden
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »