See other Los Angeles properties

The Venice Beach Hostel

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA, Distance from city centre: 20.3km

Rating: 73% from 12 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 68%Security
  • 65%Cleanliness
  • 78%Location
  • 65%Value for money
  • 66%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel is pretty far from the beach; you have to check-in at a different place than stay (we stayed in a private room); the storage of the lagguage will cost you $5 after 1pm. Room wasn't cleaned during our 4 day stay.
  • 51%
  • 06 Aug 2014 Anonymous Russia
  • Loved the hostel, very friendly staff, great locations, good neighborhood. You almost felt like a big family living in the house. Definitely recommending this hostel to people travelling to LA
  • 83%
  • 30 Dec 2013 Anonymous Sweden
  • The hostel is really old, however has the best staff I've ever met. Breakfast is also a good point of the hostel. I could park easily in front of the hostel.
  • 86%
  • 29 Dec 2013 Anonymous Brazil
  • It was a great stay!
  • 91%
  • 19 Dec 2013 jara
  • The staffs were very friendly and helpfully, breakfast is ok (milk, jam, bread, cornflakes etc.) the location is 20min far from the beach and 1min far from the public transport to santa monica. but... i reserved a bad in a 8bed room, but we were 9-10 on several days... my bed was a matress on the floor under the stairs. and every morning i got up that some bugs tweaked me in the night and finaly i had a lot of tweaks.i mean it depended on the cleaniness and it was very poor.
  • 54%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous Hungary
  • For Venice it is a good price, but Venice Beach actually was a disappointment for me, with poor night life for my expectations. The main issue is the use of bathrooms, if you take care of your own privacy forget this place. Anyway I liked it much, the atmosphere and the stuff is quite funny, and the location is not the bests but if you can walk a bit you do not need a car to the beach which is pretty awesome at daytime.
  • 60%
  • 04 Oct 2013 Anonymous Hungary
  • Hostel is very home like and all staff had been very welcoming to us when we arrived.
  • 74%
  • 29 Aug 2013 Jacob England
  • We stayed two nights at the Venice Beach Hostel, Los Angeles, USA. We really enjoyed our visit there as the location is excellent (just 15min to the famous Venice Beach) and we felt very safe. The staff was friendly as well as helpful in every situation. The atmosphere between the travelers was sort of familial and you can tell that everybody was open with each other. If we come back another time, we'd definitely stay at the Venice Beach Hostel again.
  • 83%
  • 27 Aug 2013 Bianca Germany
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »