See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 84% from 42 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • a genuine British Pub and a hostel in the same space. the staff was very kind, given all the details we ask and providing additional information. the room ( 4 bed dorm room) was too small and the toilet and shower are located out side the dormitory. the good part is that the hostel is located 5 minutes walking from Waterloo Station, and you have the pub just down the stairs.
  • 94%
  • 08 Dec 2014 Eryel Italy
  • Just an horrible location, thanks to trainstation near, water bathrooms are very often cold. Staff is very cool, thanks to them.
  • 54%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Brice France
  • Awesome! stuff were Perfect! :) Will come by again.
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Anonymous
  • Everything was amazing, perfect... awesome!
  • 100%
  • 02 Oct 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • Really liked staying at the Walrus. Defiantly a place for a younger crowd who needs a bit less sleep. The train runs right beside the hostel and runs all night can be noisy . After a few drinks I never had a problem sleeping through it though. Staff are great. Very helpful. Awesome atmosphere and really easy to make new friends.
  • 69%
  • 26 Sep 2014 Nathan Canada
  • It tends to get noisy (there is a bar in the downstairs area). However, the music is lively and the atmosphere is friendly. Definitely a good value (located adjacent to the Clock Tower: "Big Ben.") I would go back if I return to London in the future.
  • 97%
  • 21 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Absolutely great! The staff is very nice. They even went through the trouble of looking for some towels the housekeeper took by mistake. The hostel is very clean, the rooms have lockers and private/public bathrooms. I felt safe and happy! Thanks guys!
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Cindy USA
  • Great staff. Love the fact it's over a pub.
  • 86%
  • 09 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was awesome, and the bar area downstairs was fun, affordable, and played all the World Cup games.
  • 97%
  • 08 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Loved this place! Very good atmosphere an loved having a bar as a lobby. Especially during the World Cup! The staff were so nice and helpful. Would definitely suggest this hostel to YOUNG travelers... Or adventurous older ones :) crappy facilities.... Showers barely work but that's okay! Toilets were fine. The rest makes up for it. AWESOME LOCATION! Next to everything.
  • 80%
  • 18 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »