See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 84% from 43 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 85%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 75%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Right next to Waterloo station- you could hear the trains going by all day and night, but that didn't prevent me from sleeping soundly. Staff was friendly and the facilities were clean and quite spacious by London standards.
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This was a good hostel with an excellent location. I truly saved a lot of money booking with them. I payed 84 pounds for 4 nights and the breakfast was included, so that was a really good thing in a city as expensive as London. The location can´t be better. The toilets are the only thing that I didn´t like at all. If you want to save money and enjoy an excellent location, stay at The Walrus.
  • 71%
  • 09 May 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great staff and central location. Breakfast was very good with juice and fresh fruit. The room though was smelling kloride and had bundles of hair on the floor. Wifi was fast and reliable. Showers were clean, but almost impossible to have enough pressure nor water to clean a woman's hair. I also strongly advise to take your own towel with you! Large amount of toilet to use, but couple of them were blocked during our whole stay.
  • 77%
  • 04 May 2016 Iina Finland
  • I thought this was a great hostel. I loved the atmosphere of the bar downstairs that brought in not just other backpackers but also some locals. You can't beat the location being an easy walk to the London Eye and within minutes from an underground station. And the staff was fantastic!
  • 83%
  • 04 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I love the staff here ! Mainly all the guys working were very kind open and helpful. I wouldn't pay that amount again for the sake of cleanliness throughout. $78 euros for 3 nights seems rather expensive.
  • 71%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Lizo USA
  • Great hostel with good bar downstairs and very friendly staff, excellent location!
  • 89%
  • 10 Mar 2016 Anonymous Ukraine
  • Very helpful staff.
  • 91%
  • 01 Mar 2016 Lassi Finland
  • This is a great hostel, almost perfect. Staff (the guy even carried my bag, never seen before in other hostels :)), very clear, nice bedrooms, and PERFECT LOCATION. The breakfast is included and is also a most! The only (small) problem is the noise: as the hostel is very close to Waterloo station, you hear the trains all day all the time... But this hostel is awesome!
  • 97%
  • 23 Feb 2016 Anonymous France
  • Bathroom's facilities are not good.
  • 66%
  • 16 Feb 2016 Anonymous Taiwan
  • Excellent location and staff
  • 89%
  • 29 Jan 2016 Shane Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »