See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 86% from 48 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 77%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Not a fan of this hostel at all. We checked in at the bar which seems like it could be cool but really was just uncomfortable because you dont know whos actually staying at the hostel or just in the bar (which is full of people from age 30-60) and we had a old dude sleeping in our mixed room too. The wifi sucked and didnt work for the last 2 days we were there. Really just no good vibes here. Although them having breakfast in the morning was nice!
  • 49%
  • 26 Nov 2015 Brittany USA
  • Hands down, best hostel I have stayed at. It was cozy, great location, great service and just all around a wonderful stay. Breakfast was good and the staff is amazing. It is by the station so for a moment it can be loud, but after a long day of exploring London it is easy to sleep through. 10/10 would recommend!
  • 100%
  • 13 Nov 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The walrus was a very quaint little hostel in London! I had a very nic night there recouperating before the begining of my travels! A very conviently located hostel with the full bar downstairs makes for a convient easy stay! Thanks again.
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Alison USA
  • It was really good to stay there, people are all respectful: I was in a 22 people room and during all day/ all night there was no noise at all. Everyday some staff cleans the shower rooms, toilets and the bedrooms and it was great to talk to them. Whatever I needed (such as adaptor for charger, hot milk at breakfast) was available.
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous China
  • I am 74 years old, from china. I went to London from Sept 20th to Sept 27th of 2015. I lived in The Walrus Hostel,172 Westminister,Bridge Road,London,UK. This hostel is located downtown,traffic conveniently and price inexpensive. Here are facilities fully,room neatly and service well-considered. Manage Mr.Alexander and his crew are very kind,gentle and polite. I have to way,living here is enjoyful journey,The Walrus hostel is the best choice for tourist. Dusen Chen
  • 89%
  • 20 Sep 2015 DUSEN China
  • Great, service great, people friendly, clean, Buy softer sheets
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Vicki USA
  • Location was fantastic, all sites are walkable. Staff was extremely kind, curteous and very helpful; they went above and beyond to help me with any issues I had. When I return to London, I will be using the Walrus again.
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Thijs Netherlands
  • Very quaint hostel. Staff was super nice and friendly. Would stay again
  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff do the best in order to make the guests feel well. All my needs was supplied by them. It that hostel worh while is for just two reasons: location and staff.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Flavio Brazil
  • We had a fantastic experience here! The staff were very helpful, kind, and when there was a problem with the lock on our door they bought us a beer. The beds were comfortable and we felt very safe and happy with our accommodations. We would definitely stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Alex and Emily USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »