See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 46 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 94%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The walrus was a very quaint little hostel in London! I had a very nic night there recouperating before the begining of my travels! A very conviently located hostel with the full bar downstairs makes for a convient easy stay! Thanks again.
  • 89%
  • 29 Sep 2015 Alison USA
  • It was really good to stay there, people are all respectful: I was in a 22 people room and during all day/ all night there was no noise at all. Everyday some staff cleans the shower rooms, toilets and the bedrooms and it was great to talk to them. Whatever I needed (such as adaptor for charger, hot milk at breakfast) was available.
  • 100%
  • 22 Sep 2015 Anonymous China
  • I am 74 years old, from china. I went to London from Sept 20th to Sept 27th of 2015. I lived in The Walrus Hostel,172 Westminister,Bridge Road,London,UK. This hostel is located downtown,traffic conveniently and price inexpensive. Here are facilities fully,room neatly and service well-considered. Manage Mr.Alexander and his crew are very kind,gentle and polite. I have to way,living here is enjoyful journey,The Walrus hostel is the best choice for tourist. Dusen Chen
  • 89%
  • 20 Sep 2015 DUSEN China
  • Great, service great, people friendly, clean, Buy softer sheets
  • 100%
  • 10 Sep 2015 Vicki USA
  • Location was fantastic, all sites are walkable. Staff was extremely kind, curteous and very helpful; they went above and beyond to help me with any issues I had. When I return to London, I will be using the Walrus again.
  • 100%
  • 27 Aug 2015 Thijs Netherlands
  • Very quaint hostel. Staff was super nice and friendly. Would stay again
  • 97%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff do the best in order to make the guests feel well. All my needs was supplied by them. It that hostel worh while is for just two reasons: location and staff.
  • 86%
  • 08 Jul 2015 Flavio Brazil
  • We had a fantastic experience here! The staff were very helpful, kind, and when there was a problem with the lock on our door they bought us a beer. The beds were comfortable and we felt very safe and happy with our accommodations. We would definitely stay here again!
  • 100%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Alex and Emily USA
  • Loved the staff! Great location, breakfast and beer!
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Courtney USA
  • The hostel is right next to the rail station. So if you are a light sleeper then this might be a problem. The beds are very thin and at times quite uncomfortable. The showers can be good, depending on how many people shower at once. Since the water pressure is affected by how many people shower. The hostel is relatively closed to big Ben and Buckingham palace, and its a walk away the tube. The hostel has a great bar, with a great atmosphere. The staff is courteous, friendly and professional.
  • 77%
  • 25 May 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »