See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 83% from 23 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Amazing! Right next to Waterloo (seriously, RIGHT next to it) which made it a bit noisy at times but I'm a deep sleeper so it didn't bother me. There's a pub on the ground floor which is a mixture of a living room and a bar, quite nice ambiance if I do say so, and they also serve breakfast there in the AM. The shower/bathrooms are decent, nothing special. The staff are all SUPER friendly, I can't stress that enough. When you check in they give your a thorough tour and answer any questions. A+++
  • 91%
  • 15 Sep 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I don't recommend this hostel if you want to have a good sleep; the trains pass really close to the hostel so there is constantly loud noise even at night. It's stop a bit between 1 am & 3 am, but still, there is still trains that are passing. Recommendations for improvement : that would be good if the hostel can give maps and indications on what to do (it was my first time in Europe and in London, no one introduced me to the city and the areas). Breakfast is ordinary (toasts & cereals). No AC.
  • 54%
  • 21 Aug 2016 Anonymous Canada
  • The staff are nice and helpful, and the hostel is in a handy location near Waterloo station. But the place is very dirty. The toilets had sanitary bins over flowing, the showers looked like they'd never been cleaned. I woke up with two bug bites on my foot. Everything seemed covered in a layer of grime. To end on a more positive note though, a nice breakfast was included.
  • 60%
  • 04 Jul 2016 Anonymous Ireland
  • Well oiled machine, lots of staff that keep the place in tip top shape and are nothing but kind and helpful. Next to the Waterloo station and not terribly far from hopping areas of London!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Right next to Waterloo station- you could hear the trains going by all day and night, but that didn't prevent me from sleeping soundly. Staff was friendly and the facilities were clean and quite spacious by London standards.
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This was a good hostel with an excellent location. I truly saved a lot of money booking with them. I payed 84 pounds for 4 nights and the breakfast was included, so that was a really good thing in a city as expensive as London. The location can´t be better. The toilets are the only thing that I didn´t like at all. If you want to save money and enjoy an excellent location, stay at The Walrus.
  • 71%
  • 09 May 2016 Anonymous Mexico
  • Great staff and central location. Breakfast was very good with juice and fresh fruit. The room though was smelling kloride and had bundles of hair on the floor. Wifi was fast and reliable. Showers were clean, but almost impossible to have enough pressure nor water to clean a woman's hair. I also strongly advise to take your own towel with you! Large amount of toilet to use, but couple of them were blocked during our whole stay.
  • 77%
  • 04 May 2016 Iina Finland
  • I thought this was a great hostel. I loved the atmosphere of the bar downstairs that brought in not just other backpackers but also some locals. You can't beat the location being an easy walk to the London Eye and within minutes from an underground station. And the staff was fantastic!
  • 83%
  • 04 Apr 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I love the staff here ! Mainly all the guys working were very kind open and helpful. I wouldn't pay that amount again for the sake of cleanliness throughout. $78 euros for 3 nights seems rather expensive.
  • 71%
  • 21 Mar 2016 Lizo USA
  • Great hostel with good bar downstairs and very friendly staff, excellent location!
  • 89%
  • 10 Mar 2016 Anonymous Ukraine
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Amsterdam is a playground for the weird and wonderful. Sometimes nothing seems mundane in this buzzing city. There will always be a never-ending list of quirky and offbeat thing...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »