See other London properties

The Walrus Hostel

172 Westminster, Bridge Road, London, England, Distance from city centre: 0.2km

Rating: 85% from 26 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 79%Security
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff are very friendly. The bar downstair is amazing. It would not be noisy at night because it close at around 1. Also the wifi is good.
  • 83%
  • 05 Apr 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The staff is absolutely amazing. The beds are comfortable, clean, and the huge breakfast makes a really nice change from some other hostels. You do hear the trains, but they stop in the evening, and you get used to it quite fast. Overall a nice experience!
  • 83%
  • 08 Mar 2014 Virginie France
  • It is really near the parliament and the waterloo station, so for a location this good the value you pay is more than good. The staff was definitely one of the things I liked the most here, they were very friendly, talkative, funny, etc. I would definitely stay in this place when I come back to London.
  • 94%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Horacio Mexico
  • On the other side of the river close to London eye, it's on a good walking distance to Big Ben and has good transports near by (waterloo metro station and bus). The staff was very nice to us and very welcoming.
  • 77%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Pedro Portugal
  • I had really great time in this hostel breakfast is perfect but.. noisy cause hostel is very close to big train station
  • 97%
  • 19 Jan 2014 yeeun South Korea
  • Phenomenal staff that was willing to help you with whatever you want. My biggest concern was security because I am a lone traveler, but they kept my valuables locked in a safe on the bottom floor and whenever I wanted to grab my computer, I would just ask them and without hesitation they would go out of their way to assist me. There was a bar downstairs too which was extremely nice if you wanted to drink but not worry about having to find a way home. I would absolutely recommend the walrus.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Evan USA
  • staff was great!
  • 97%
  • 10 Jan 2014 Anonymous USA
  • The hostel definitely has great personality and the bar is a fun place to hang out. The staff is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The rooms themselves and the bathrooms leave much to be desired however in cleanliness and comfort. Much is broken and dirty and the beds are loud and uncomfortable. If you're looking for the social experience I would recommend it but if comfort and cleanliness is more a priority for you I would recommend staying elsewhere.
  • 69%
  • 31 Dec 2013 Rose USA
  • You can hera trains running nearby. So bring erplugs. But everything else was really nice :-) I recommend !
  • 86%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Marc Germany
  • The staff here were outstanding and went out of their way to help you. The gentleman who checked us in carried both of our heavy bags up the stairs. After staying in 10 hostels, by far my favourite showering facilities. It's right beside a train depot, so it can be a bit loud, but the price was great for the location. Everything within walking distance. Only flaw with this hostel was the train noise and the lack of laundry facilities. Otherwise, it was perfect.
  • 91%
  • 20 Sep 2013 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »