See other London properties

The Windmill

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 75% from 15 reviews

  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 72%Security
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 70%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great location. Breakfast included into price. Good place just for sleeping. Fresh bedding. Highly recommended for people who want to save some money.
  • 86%
  • 18 Jan 2015 Anonymous Poland
  • Location isn't good because it's not in the central area, but nothing is difficult since there's a bus stop nearby. The female owner was really nice. I arrived really early but she offered me breakfast and also let me use the bathroom to take a shower. There's a lady who cleans the hostel every day so it's clean. I liked staying at this hostel.
  • 80%
  • 02 Jan 2015 Jihyung South Korea
  • The room on the 3rd floor was good price/quality. We didn't have any noise from the bar/restaurant downstairs.The bathroom and toilet on the second floor were clean. The room as well. We appreciated the fridge and waterboiler! I didn't feel insecure in the neighbourhoud. The contact with the staff was unpersonal though. We didn't take breakfast because it was served only at 9 am. As it got dark at 4pm, we didn't want to loose so much time in the morning while it was light.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • The hostel is quite far from city center but really close to public transportation (subway and buses) which make it convenient to go to the city center. This place seems to be cheaper than others, so it's a really good value for money. The room was clean and even had a TV. The bottom line is that there was only one bathroom and one toilet in the hostel (it was OK for us cause the place was practically empty).
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • It was very difficult for us to find the hostel when we arrived, the description is very poor. Otherwise it was ok. Some investments to the place wouldn't hurt and they really should think about buying lockers...
  • 74%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • This was a great place to stay! It was very clean, and was a great deal for the low price! It is outside of central London (that is its only drawback), but the tube station is a 10 min walk, or you can even ride 2 stops on the bus. It is VERY quiet to be above a pub, and the bathrooms are always clean even though you're sharing with other guests. I would definitely stay here again. The quality of the hostel is worth the commute into London.
  • 86%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Amber USA
  • The Windmill hostel is directly above a restaurant and bar called the Windmill. Due to this convenience we ended up eating 2 of 3 meals at the restaurant and really enjoyed the food. The same staff run both businesses and were always friendly and helpful. The atmosphere felt very home-like; it actually reminded me of my grandparents' house a lot. I felt safe and comfortable the whole time and would definitely recommend it. It's also close to Acton Central Station, so traveling is easy.
  • 97%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Raymond USA
  • Everything was much better than we hoped for - room (including beds+sheets,chest of drawers,sofa,wardrobe,TV,table,chairs) clean, bathroom cleaned everyday, staff nice, friendly and heplful, breakfast inclueded (toasts,cornflakes,butter,marmelade,milk,tea,coffee) and tasteful everyday day, check-in/out without problems, location 3 minutes from London Underground (Acton Central), 30 minutes to City I definitely recomend for staying, also keeping in mind for my future London trips :)
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »