See other London properties

The Windmill

50, Acton High street, Acton, London, England, Distance from city centre: 10.4km

Rating: 78% from 18 reviews

  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 76%Security
  • 75%Cleanliness
  • 72%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 76%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The room on the 3rd floor was good price/quality. We didn't have any noise from the bar/restaurant downstairs.The bathroom and toilet on the second floor were clean. The room as well. We appreciated the fridge and waterboiler! I didn't feel insecure in the neighbourhoud. The contact with the staff was unpersonal though. We didn't take breakfast because it was served only at 9 am. As it got dark at 4pm, we didn't want to loose so much time in the morning while it was light.
  • 71%
  • 28 Nov 2014 Anonymous Belgium
  • The hostel is quite far from city center but really close to public transportation (subway and buses) which make it convenient to go to the city center. This place seems to be cheaper than others, so it's a really good value for money. The room was clean and even had a TV. The bottom line is that there was only one bathroom and one toilet in the hostel (it was OK for us cause the place was practically empty).
  • 71%
  • 08 Nov 2014 Anonymous France
  • It was very difficult for us to find the hostel when we arrived, the description is very poor. Otherwise it was ok. Some investments to the place wouldn't hurt and they really should think about buying lockers...
  • 74%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • This was a great place to stay! It was very clean, and was a great deal for the low price! It is outside of central London (that is its only drawback), but the tube station is a 10 min walk, or you can even ride 2 stops on the bus. It is VERY quiet to be above a pub, and the bathrooms are always clean even though you're sharing with other guests. I would definitely stay here again. The quality of the hostel is worth the commute into London.
  • 86%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Amber USA
  • The Windmill hostel is directly above a restaurant and bar called the Windmill. Due to this convenience we ended up eating 2 of 3 meals at the restaurant and really enjoyed the food. The same staff run both businesses and were always friendly and helpful. The atmosphere felt very home-like; it actually reminded me of my grandparents' house a lot. I felt safe and comfortable the whole time and would definitely recommend it. It's also close to Acton Central Station, so traveling is easy.
  • 97%
  • 13 Aug 2014 Raymond USA
  • Everything was much better than we hoped for - room (including beds+sheets,chest of drawers,sofa,wardrobe,TV,table,chairs) clean, bathroom cleaned everyday, staff nice, friendly and heplful, breakfast inclueded (toasts,cornflakes,butter,marmelade,milk,tea,coffee) and tasteful everyday day, check-in/out without problems, location 3 minutes from London Underground (Acton Central), 30 minutes to City I definitely recomend for staying, also keeping in mind for my future London trips :)
  • 97%
  • 13 Jul 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • Despite of the lack of hot water from the shower (or maybe we weren't patient enough fiddling around with it), the place is totally alright. Our room was plain and simple, but was pretty warm and tidy, perfect for spending a couple nights in it. Breakfast was OK, the food in the pub was delicious and reasonably priced. The staff was very nice and helpful. Thanks to Gerry for the detailed advices on sight seeing! The Windmill has a very good price/value ratio and we recommend staying here to all!
  • 86%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Sandor Hungary
  • In february the room was really cold , we got a heater for free , the neighbouhood is excellent , supermarket many pizza places , one down is there is only 1 toalett and 1 bathroom for everyone maybe 9 room ,
  • 83%
  • 07 Feb 2014 Richard Hungary
  • The staff was so friendly and really wanted to be helpful. The room was so nice, clean, and cute for how great a price. It is a bit out there, but with the tube it isn't difficult to navigate to the place. I would definitely stay here again!
  • 97%
  • 02 Feb 2014 Holly USA
  • I loved my stay in Windmill, wish i could stay more. Jerry was really helpful and kind, i'm very thankful for his help. The place itself was very good,clean and comfortable, cheap stores located nearby open 24/7, good transport facility available including night buses till victoria. For the amount that i paid i got a lot which i didnt expect, so i am very satisfied. Thank You Windmill, keep up the good work..! Cheers..!!
  • 94%
  • 30 Jan 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Some people can take a two week holiday and spend every day relaxing at the beach. Some prefer the beach to do activities, take a jog first thing in the morning, party at night...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »