See other Rome properties

The Yellow

Via Palestro 49, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 53 reviews

  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was only supposed to stay there for a few days and extended my trip and ended up at the Yellow for a whole week. The place was very lively and the common area, aka the bar, had a patio outside and everyone was there. It was really warm and everyone was super welcoming. The staff was super nice as well. Great location, close to metro to take you to all the tourist places, some great restaurants near by. I would stay here again. Definitely.
  • 86%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Oana Canada
  • This place was great! It was in a pretty good location for getting anywhere in town. The staff here were really nice and friendly, and the rooms were good.
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • 500 characters is not enough to describe my hatred, but I'll try. 1. The room is blazing hot, no AC. 2. Can't drink in the hostel itself, they make you go to their overpriced bar across the street. 3. Staff wasn't proactively helpful. 4. The map they gave was horrendous. Streets not labeled, etc. 5. Walking tours for 20 Euro? Jog on, mate. 6. Had to walk the entire distance of the floor to get to the bathroom. Lame. 7. Showers have two settings: Arctic Adventure or Sort of Lukewarm.
  • 46%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Sean USA
  • Really nice place to stay. But its better to lock all your things. just to make sure that nothing disappears. In General a nice atmosphere and i met very nice People :)
  • 86%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Isabel Germany
  • It is pretty big so you'll always meet someone you'll hit it up with at the bar etc, but then its not so easy to get to know people on the downlow. Definitely better suited for party-goers.
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2014 stina Norway
  • Good hostel, expect some loud noise as it is a party hostel! Great opportunities to meet people as there are activities organised every night and a bar is located at the entrance of the hostel.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Julien Canada
  • Brilliant hostel. Staff were absolutely lovely, room although plain had comfortable beds, well powered shower and air conditioned. Kitchen was available although poorly equipped. NEEDS BOWLS and perhaps a portable hob installed. Nice lounge to meet other guests, with x box/TV. Wifi was speedy. Cleaning staff were excellent and non intrusive. Over all, modern well kept rooms with friendly staff and helpful information available.
  • 89%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Beth Northern Ireland
  • Great place! very well located! For who enjoys partying and making friends is a great place to go!
  • 97%
  • 03 Aug 2014 luiz antonio Brazil
  • The Yellow made my time in Rome that much more amazing. It provided a wonderful social atmosphere, allowed me to meet people from all over the world, and the attached bar made for a great hang-out spot.
  • 89%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, would come back, but I'm 40 this year, age limit a bit harsh as I don't look or act my age! Pity as I would have booked for next year otherwise
  • 74%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »