See other Rome properties

The Yellow

Via Palestro 49, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 59 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 82%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The location could NOT be better. You are: Two blocks from TERMINI station 10 minutes from the Colloseum/ Statue of Moses/Main Shopping District In the heart of the entire city The staff is excellent, and went above and beyond when it came to helping us out (including letting me use their telephone to call my bank! No questions asked!) The have organized tours, food and parties available 24/7, and the rooms were cleaned everyday. The bathroom was never filthy.
  • 97%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I love The Yellow! The staff was extremely helpful in giving me recommendations and directions to all of the sites in Rome. I made so many incredible friends with staff and guests alike, and I loved that they had an awesome bar on-site. My one complaint was that the shared bathroom for the dorm I was in was absolutely disgusting, but I visited other rooms with ensuite bathrooms and didn't see any issues there. It is also definitely a party hostel, but the rooms are still quiet enough to sleep.
  • 89%
  • 01 Nov 2014 Lois USA
  • Most amazing hostel I have ever stayed at. Made the most amazing friends and had the most fun I ever have in a city outside of my own. The Yellow staff was incredibly helpful, kind, fun, and offered all the information we needed in order to have the best experience possible in Rome. I plan on going back to visit Rome, not just for it's attractions, but to stay at The Yellow again and to visit it's staff. I love The Yellow and recommend it to anyone and everyone!
  • 100%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really enjoyed my stay at the Yellow, I was in a private 4 bedroom dorm with 3 other girls from my school. Very clean room and bathroom, cleaned daily (side note, water pressure was diving- not something you always get in a hostel!). Bar at the yellow is very lively and fun, and the staff is super outgoing and helpful. A very enjoyable stay. (But, the Cotral bus is very unreliable- have a backup plan if you want to use it! - Not affiliated w/ yellow though, yellows awesome).
  • 97%
  • 23 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was only supposed to stay there for a few days and extended my trip and ended up at the Yellow for a whole week. The place was very lively and the common area, aka the bar, had a patio outside and everyone was there. It was really warm and everyone was super welcoming. The staff was super nice as well. Great location, close to metro to take you to all the tourist places, some great restaurants near by. I would stay here again. Definitely.
  • 86%
  • 10 Oct 2014 Oana Canada
  • This place was great! It was in a pretty good location for getting anywhere in town. The staff here were really nice and friendly, and the rooms were good.
  • 89%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • There was a bar downstairs where people could mingle. It was near the main train station, so I could go to nearby cities easily. I had a good time in the hostel.
  • 100%
  • 18 Sep 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • 500 characters is not enough to describe my hatred, but I'll try. 1. The room is blazing hot, no AC. 2. Can't drink in the hostel itself, they make you go to their overpriced bar across the street. 3. Staff wasn't proactively helpful. 4. The map they gave was horrendous. Streets not labeled, etc. 5. Walking tours for 20 Euro? Jog on, mate. 6. Had to walk the entire distance of the floor to get to the bathroom. Lame. 7. Showers have two settings: Arctic Adventure or Sort of Lukewarm.
  • 46%
  • 16 Sep 2014 Sean USA
  • Really nice place to stay. But its better to lock all your things. just to make sure that nothing disappears. In General a nice atmosphere and i met very nice People :)
  • 86%
  • 26 Aug 2014 Isabel Germany
  • It is pretty big so you'll always meet someone you'll hit it up with at the bar etc, but then its not so easy to get to know people on the downlow. Definitely better suited for party-goers.
  • 83%
  • 24 Aug 2014 stina Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »