See other Rome properties

The Yellow

Via Palestro 49, Rome, Italy, Distance from city centre: 1.8km

Rating: 85% from 50 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Good hostel, expect some loud noise as it is a party hostel! Great opportunities to meet people as there are activities organised every night and a bar is located at the entrance of the hostel.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2014 Julien Canada
  • Brilliant hostel. Staff were absolutely lovely, room although plain had comfortable beds, well powered shower and air conditioned. Kitchen was available although poorly equipped. NEEDS BOWLS and perhaps a portable hob installed. Nice lounge to meet other guests, with x box/TV. Wifi was speedy. Cleaning staff were excellent and non intrusive. Over all, modern well kept rooms with friendly staff and helpful information available.
  • 89%
  • 09 Aug 2014 Beth Northern Ireland
  • The Yellow made my time in Rome that much more amazing. It provided a wonderful social atmosphere, allowed me to meet people from all over the world, and the attached bar made for a great hang-out spot.
  • 89%
  • 25 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great hostel, would come back, but I'm 40 this year, age limit a bit harsh as I don't look or act my age! Pity as I would have booked for next year otherwise
  • 74%
  • 17 Jul 2014 Anonymous England
  • I travelled for 2 months around Europe and there wasn't a single hostel that can match up to The Yellow when it comes to meeting cool people and having a great time! I would recommend The Yellow to anyone travelling to Rome in a heartbeat. Be sure to book early...I think the word is out that it's the best place around cause it books up fast. I had to switch rooms every day because there wasn't a booking available for my entire six day stay but it was worth it. Be sure to hit up the walking tours
  • 86%
  • 23 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Just know that you are signing up for a party hostel. If you want to party in the night this is your hostel, otherwise I would find somewhere else to stay. Fantastic staff, decent accommodation.
  • 89%
  • 04 Jun 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • We booked both a 6 bed room and a private double room with this hostel. The 6 bed room was a great value for the money, the rooms were a little old but very clean and had nice bathrooms. The private double room was a complete rip-off, it was far too expensive for what it was and you could tell by the fact that the guy at the reception didn't even know what type of key opened the door that it is very seldom used and therefore way over priced. The Yellow Bar across had fantastic breakfast.
  • 80%
  • 28 May 2014 Robyn Canada
  • This was the highlight of our trip to Rome. I absolutely love this hostel and could not recommend it more. This hostel and bar was the best part of our trip to Rome. We met the most amazing people at the bar and became friends with people from all over the world. Great faculties, wonderful staff, clean and safe rooms. You would regret not choosing this hostel. I would go back to Rome solely for the hostel and bar. I made some of my best memories at that bar and will forever love The Yellow.
  • 97%
  • 16 May 2014 Valerie USA
  • Beds were kind of hard.
  • 77%
  • 10 May 2014 Brian Canada
  • Happy I found this place. Good vibe, great location, and they have a bar next door!
  • 97%
  • 26 Apr 2014 Jorge Bolivia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »