See other Tokyo properties

Toco Tokyo Heritage Hostel

2-13-21 Shitaya Taitouku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.1km

Rating: 94% from 12 reviews

  • 96%Atmosphere
  • 100%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 95%Value for money
  • 95%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great ambiance, nice people running the hostel. Small place, but is managed very well. Really a beautiful, lovely garden there. Try the home made breakfast. It's tasty. No bad words from me, haha
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Fantastic in every way. Beautiful old traditional Japanese house with a garden and a cool lounge/bar area. Comfortable beds and everything was clean. The staff was amazing- really friendly and helpful and good to talk to. Good location near Ueno Park, the national museum, Asakusa/Senso-ji, and Skytree. Chill, quiet neighborhood in a relaxed area of Tokyo.They even give you a fee welcome drink and the staff hangs out for a couple of beers in the evenings for a fun cultural exchange.Best in Tokyo!
  • 94%
  • 03 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Big bed, very clean facilities, low price, very convenience location, nice staff.
  • 100%
  • 24 Apr 2014 PIK YING Hong Kong
  • Lovely place. Might just be our favourite that we stayed in during our visit to Japan. Its not flash by any means but everything you need is there. Its clean and the staff are awesome! Great atmosphere too, especially at the bar in the evenings. Whilst it is located in a quiet suburb we had no difficultly getting to and from the entertainment and tourists spots via the nearby trains. Highly reconmend if you travel for the experience of meeting new people and learning new things.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Best hostel ever. Great beds, staff and location. My only complaint is that they are too popular!
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Excellent treatment of the staff, the only bad thing were the same guests, in a bedroom of 8 people, with 8 cabinets to store bags, someone took 2 cabinets, leaving me without the ability to take one and forcing me share one with a partner and be very space limited. The staff did not resolve the problem. This was the only thing that annoyed me, the place is very well located, cheap, and although only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the whole place it was not a big problem fortunately
  • 74%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Eliseo Mexico
  • A really lovely place to stay! The staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming and great at running the hostel. The breakfast was fun and I would love to go back there to stay again, hopefully at the end of my trip.
  • 94%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Jessica England
  • Lovely looking place with great, friendly staff. We did however encountered some bed bugs..
  • 77%
  • 28 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • This is a charming hostel! The staff is one of the nicest I have met while traveling. So friendly and inviting! The hostel is absolutely beautiful. If you want an authentic Japanese experience without spending tons of money on a ryokan this is the best! They also have a 300 yen breakfast which was delicious and so cheap! I would 100% recommend this hostel because I had such a positive experience.
  • 97%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Bri USA
  • Such a lovely place! An old house, and a nice bar with it too. The staff is so helpful, cute, energetic and diligent. One of the best hostels I've been to.
  • 100%
  • 14 Aug 2013 Håvard Johnsrud Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

My personal definition of a backpacker is not someone who carries a backpack, but someone who just wants to save money to travel longer.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »