See other Tokyo properties

Toco Tokyo Heritage Hostel

2-13-21 Shitaya Taitouku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.1km

Rating: 92% from 14 reviews

  • 94%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 94%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I have good experience with Toco guest house. Thanks for staff's kindness. If I go Japan, visit toco again, Thank you.
  • 69%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I love this hostel. It is very quiet and peaceful. The staff are consistently wonderful and all speak English. Breakfast is Japaneses onigiri and miso, which I loved. It is near the public transportation. I stay here every time I come to Tokyo. The rooms can get hot in the afternoon in the summer, so try and get a bottom bunk, but they do has air conditioning and it does cool off.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great ambiance, nice people running the hostel. Small place, but is managed very well. Really a beautiful, lovely garden there. Try the home made breakfast. It's tasty. No bad words from me, haha
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
  • Fantastic in every way. Beautiful old traditional Japanese house with a garden and a cool lounge/bar area. Comfortable beds and everything was clean. The staff was amazing- really friendly and helpful and good to talk to. Good location near Ueno Park, the national museum, Asakusa/Senso-ji, and Skytree. Chill, quiet neighborhood in a relaxed area of Tokyo.They even give you a fee welcome drink and the staff hangs out for a couple of beers in the evenings for a fun cultural exchange.Best in Tokyo!
  • 94%
  • 03 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Big bed, very clean facilities, low price, very convenience location, nice staff.
  • 100%
  • 24 Apr 2014 PIK YING Hong Kong
  • Lovely place. Might just be our favourite that we stayed in during our visit to Japan. Its not flash by any means but everything you need is there. Its clean and the staff are awesome! Great atmosphere too, especially at the bar in the evenings. Whilst it is located in a quiet suburb we had no difficultly getting to and from the entertainment and tourists spots via the nearby trains. Highly reconmend if you travel for the experience of meeting new people and learning new things.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • Best hostel ever. Great beds, staff and location. My only complaint is that they are too popular!
  • 100%
  • 02 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Toco is awesome! The staff is nice and friendly, and the bar is great if you want to meet cool people from all over the world. The hostel is very clean and enjoyable. It may seem not as centrally located as other hostels but you'll never notice that thanks to the subway.
  • 94%
  • 20 Mar 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • Excellent treatment of the staff, the only bad thing were the same guests, in a bedroom of 8 people, with 8 cabinets to store bags, someone took 2 cabinets, leaving me without the ability to take one and forcing me share one with a partner and be very space limited. The staff did not resolve the problem. This was the only thing that annoyed me, the place is very well located, cheap, and although only 2 toilets and 2 showers for the whole place it was not a big problem fortunately
  • 74%
  • 14 Nov 2013 Eliseo Mexico
  • A really lovely place to stay! The staff are amazingly friendly and welcoming and great at running the hostel. The breakfast was fun and I would love to go back there to stay again, hopefully at the end of my trip.
  • 94%
  • 03 Nov 2013 Jessica England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »