See other Tokyo properties

Toco Tokyo Heritage Hostel

2-13-21 Shitaya Taitouku, Tokyo, Japan, Distance from city centre: 9.1km

Rating: 91% from 13 reviews

  • 92%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 93%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This hostel has all the ingredients to be great, it's beautiful and in a good location for trains, but for me it just didn't pull it all together. The staff are very young and seem quite immature. As well, the kitchen area is very small with space for only 6 people to sit. Strict on some rules but flexible on the noise coming out of the bar and noise of people checking in late in the evening (post 12-midnight). Not flexible on checkin time at all. This is common in Japan. Hire towels very small.
  • 63%
  • 24 Mar 2015 Kelly New Zealand
  • Wonderful experience! All the staff members were very friendly and welcoming. They all speak English so communication wasn't a problem at all.
  • 100%
  • 01 Mar 2015 Shanley Taiwan
  • The hospitality was amazing. The front desk turns into a quaint bar at 7pm and offers a free welcome drink with your stay to sample Japanese beers, whiskey, and sake. Also, for a small price, they provide a traditional Japanese breakfast. It was delicious! The beds all had their own storage and the staff would provide pad locks upon request. They seemed to have though of everything to make you feel at home!
  • 100%
  • 22 Feb 2015 Katie USA
  • My friends and i truly enjoyed our stay here. the staff is awesome, the place is beautiful, and it's easy to get to the trains. The cafe area in the front is super cute and is nice to hang out in if you're not feeling a big night out. if you stay in the bunk beds they have curtains, lights, and outlets which i always think is super great. the building is so cool but it is old and is therefore very noisy and quite cold at night. (it's feb). really great overall!
  • 97%
  • 19 Feb 2015 Elaina USA
  • Nice place and great staff!
  • 94%
  • 27 Jan 2015 Anonymous Japan
  • Awesome stay! All staff are super great, very caring, and friendly.
  • 97%
  • 14 Dec 2014 Pornchanok Thailand
  • - pretty, old, wooden hostel, ryokan-style - super nice and helpful staff - great cheap breakfast - quite spacious rooms - really good atmosphere, good to meet nice people - close to many destinations (Asakusa, Akihabara, Tsukiji Fishmarket, Tokyo Skytree,...) - really loud, expect to sleep with earplugs - unfortunately the twin room smelled a bit moldy, not too bad, but the triple room or the bedrooms upstairs (double room) are preferable Still this is your perfect stay in Tokyo! :)
  • 86%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Mara Joana Germany
  • I have good experience with Toco guest house. Thanks for staff's kindness. If I go Japan, visit toco again, Thank you.
  • 69%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • I love this hostel. It is very quiet and peaceful. The staff are consistently wonderful and all speak English. Breakfast is Japaneses onigiri and miso, which I loved. It is near the public transportation. I stay here every time I come to Tokyo. The rooms can get hot in the afternoon in the summer, so try and get a bottom bunk, but they do has air conditioning and it does cool off.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Great ambiance, nice people running the hostel. Small place, but is managed very well. Really a beautiful, lovely garden there. Try the home made breakfast. It's tasty. No bad words from me, haha
  • 100%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Singapore
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »