See other Madrid properties

U Hostels

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 85% from 16 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 87%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • We wanted to be in the center of the city so we could easily walk around and this was a great location to do so! The people were very friendly when we arrived early, letting us store our bags and hang out. The room was great, though the top bunk ladder was a bit impossible (even for a 5'9" woman). Only issue was the lack of amenities in the kitchen, and the noise from the in-room bathroom. Staff was great and welcoming, and even came over to us to invite us out.
  • 97%
  • 22 Apr 2016 Catlin USA
  • This is a very large hostel over several floors. The facilities were very good: clean, modern, spacious and attractive, with excellent showers. There's a big dining room downstairs with a bar open for breakfast and sometimes dinner. The kitchen was pretty decent. Personally, I found the U Hostel too big, impersonal and quite "commercial feeling", but that's just me. Having said that, the staff were nice enough and I had a good time with a few of the guests.
  • 74%
  • 23 Mar 2016 Anonymous England
  • Adorei ! Muito bom ambiente, bom espaço, muito moderno, bom atendimento, bem localizado. Apenas um ponto menos bom para a cozinha, precisa de mais espaço e mais um lava loiça. Mas muito bem equipado com varios micro ondas, um forno, e duas placas indução. :)
  • 100%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Anonymous Portugal
  • I enjoed my stay at this hostel. The accommodation was great and great atmosphere. I'd definitely stay there again.
  • 100%
  • 24 Sep 2015 Anonymous Panama
  • The hostel was really nice and wide we were on the 5th floor but thank God they have 2 elevators so u don't have to wait. The rooms were nice there was no air con and the days were a bit hot so the room was a bit hot, but I guess that is summer only. overall the place was amazing the breakfast is a bit small but u can get extra ingredients for cheap. Also this place had a good location to travel around, is quite close to everything.
  • 80%
  • 18 Aug 2015 Anonymous Mexico
  • I loved my first experience in a hostal. I felt at home and safe eventhough I am a woman travelling alone. the people at the reception desk are very reassuring and helpful. As for the activities, they are a must, to get to know the fellow travellers. IA girls only floor was grezt for me, I felt very safe. and the cozy, chill atmosphere was fantastic!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 01 Jul 2015 Nancy Canada
  • This hostel is really nice and SOOO clean. It looks pretty brand new and the beds are comfy. Also charging outlets next to the bed and average sized lockers, defiantly bring your own lock so you can use them. Cool tv room and computer area. They also provide breakfast in the morning which is super convenient. Whats really nice about this hostel is that it has its own really nice bar downstairs too. ALSO the location is amazing, walking distance to everywhere! We didn't have to use transit!
  • 89%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
  • This was our favorite hostel and we would definitely stay there again! We loved the staff and the walking tour with Harriet as well as the activities every night. There is a plug and light above every bed which was very nice. We met a lot of cool people and had a great time around the city!
  • 100%
  • 07 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The free walking tour and the pub crawl were excellent!
  • 86%
  • 25 May 2015 Paula USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »