See other Madrid properties

U Hostels

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 87% from 27 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 81%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 91%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staffs are informative when you ask to them, but look tired and no smile at all. just doing their work. Room was very clean, but the shower was broken, toilet was dirty. located little far from famous points, you need to take metro about 3 stations, or walk 20~30 minutes.
  • 63%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everyone was very friendly!! Drinking games with Roberto Carlos were awesome. Had an excellent stay.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • U Hostels was great!! The women's floor had more showers than I encountered in any other hostel on my trip.....and I stayed many! The staff was friendly and the location was pretty good. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone heading to Madrid!
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Andrea USA
  • The hostel was more than average, and I would have given it a higher rating if it wasnt for the lacking of attitude in staff. The only staff members who were respectful and gave me the time of day were Javin and Roberto. Others were rude and flippant. Also the "free breakfast" is pitiful. You get one bowl of cereal and two pieces of toast and have to pay for everything else. Also climbing the bunkbeds is dangerous. I am a very active person, and while climbing it i thought i would fall.
  • 69%
  • 25 May 2014 Emily USA
  • My best experience was to meet the U-Hostels boss Senor Alvador who took the trouble to explain to me about some of the Spanish restaurants around Madrid. I explained to him that I was on a gatronomy tour of Spanish food in Madrid.
  • 86%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Mostly fine, but steps to upper bunks very hard, narrow steel and nothing for outer hand to grasp to turn onto bed. They are aware of problem but in the year since installed only one person has actually fallen. Breakfast is a decent coffee, an orange colored drink, store bought white bread with butter and jelly. So really just coffee. Still a very nice, new, clean place with modern security cards instead of keys and extremely helpful staff.
  • 86%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I was only spending one night in Madrid, so it was a brief experience. The hostel was comfortable, clean and funky. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only issue was having to get up at 1am to ask the room next door to keep the noise down or to continue the party downstairs - this was after trying to sleep for an hour and using earplugs - as you can probably guess I am not 20 years old, and need my beauty sleep.
  • 89%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • Very nice clean hostel close to Fuencarral (which is the best shopping street). Nearby you find real Spanish bars (not only tourist traps). The hostel was good (but not perfect). The breakfast is really not much, 2 slices of toast, no coffee, no fruit, well, but better than nothing. For 3 € more you get a better breakfast, but I recommend to have breakfast somewhere else. Most of the staff is friendly, walking tour could be better, best thing about it was the location.Would still go there again
  • 83%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • It is all about bed bugs... Found some bed bugs on my bed and they bite me. It was really painful and they had nothing to do for me. I endured til the morning and went to pharmacy to buy some cream which was expensive and low effected by my money. Location is not bad, facilities are very nice. Staff are not kind and helpful except one ore two. Breakfast is horrible as you already know, two toasts with jam and orange juice.
  • 60%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • U Hostel may not be as centrally located as some of the other hostels in Madrid, but they definitely know how to take care of guests. Between the clean rooms and facilities, comfortable beds, lockers, and the AWESOME walking tour by Erica, I felt very comfortable staying here.
  • 97%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »