See other Madrid properties

U Hostels

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 87% from 27 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 82%Staff
  • 87%Security
  • 86%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In "Shared rooms for up to 4 people with en suite bathrooms" : you should add : - an additional mirror in the room - an additional trash can in the bathroom - a little shelf in the bathroom so people can let some stuff in it - some hangers.
  • 91%
  • 22 Oct 2014 Isabelle France
  • I only stayed one night but it was a very well fit-out hostel, with comfortable beds, clean showers and a generally pretty cool vibe. Nicely located between two metro stations to take you right into the city centre.
  • 94%
  • 24 Aug 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • I stayed in this hostel very briefly before taking a bus to Pamplona. The location was great for access to the Metro. The hostel was clean and modern - slighly more messy in the bathroom areas but that is to be expected. Very helpful front desk staff. Overall a positive experience.
  • 80%
  • 15 Aug 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Staffs are informative when you ask to them, but look tired and no smile at all. just doing their work. Room was very clean, but the shower was broken, toilet was dirty. located little far from famous points, you need to take metro about 3 stations, or walk 20~30 minutes.
  • 63%
  • 12 Aug 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Everyone was very friendly!! Drinking games with Roberto Carlos were awesome. Had an excellent stay.
  • 97%
  • 01 Jun 2014 Anonymous USA
  • U Hostels was great!! The women's floor had more showers than I encountered in any other hostel on my trip.....and I stayed many! The staff was friendly and the location was pretty good. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend to anyone heading to Madrid!
  • 91%
  • 25 May 2014 Andrea USA
  • The hostel was more than average, and I would have given it a higher rating if it wasnt for the lacking of attitude in staff. The only staff members who were respectful and gave me the time of day were Javin and Roberto. Others were rude and flippant. Also the "free breakfast" is pitiful. You get one bowl of cereal and two pieces of toast and have to pay for everything else. Also climbing the bunkbeds is dangerous. I am a very active person, and while climbing it i thought i would fall.
  • 69%
  • 25 May 2014 Emily USA
  • My best experience was to meet the U-Hostels boss Senor Alvador who took the trouble to explain to me about some of the Spanish restaurants around Madrid. I explained to him that I was on a gatronomy tour of Spanish food in Madrid.
  • 86%
  • 05 May 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Mostly fine, but steps to upper bunks very hard, narrow steel and nothing for outer hand to grasp to turn onto bed. They are aware of problem but in the year since installed only one person has actually fallen. Breakfast is a decent coffee, an orange colored drink, store bought white bread with butter and jelly. So really just coffee. Still a very nice, new, clean place with modern security cards instead of keys and extremely helpful staff.
  • 86%
  • 19 Apr 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

From learning the lingo to leaping out of a plane, here are 14 things you must try to make your travels unforgettable in 2015.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »