See other Madrid properties

U Hostels

Calle Sagasta 22, Madrid, Spain, Distance from city centre: 1.6km

Rating: 88% from 42 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 83%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 92%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I was only spending one night in Madrid, so it was a brief experience. The hostel was comfortable, clean and funky. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only issue was having to get up at 1am to ask the room next door to keep the noise down or to continue the party downstairs - this was after trying to sleep for an hour and using earplugs - as you can probably guess I am not 20 years old, and need my beauty sleep.
  • 89%
  • 17 Nov 2013 Anonymous Ireland
  • Very nice clean hostel close to Fuencarral (which is the best shopping street). Nearby you find real Spanish bars (not only tourist traps). The hostel was good (but not perfect). The breakfast is really not much, 2 slices of toast, no coffee, no fruit, well, but better than nothing. For 3 € more you get a better breakfast, but I recommend to have breakfast somewhere else. Most of the staff is friendly, walking tour could be better, best thing about it was the location.Would still go there again
  • 83%
  • 27 Oct 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • It is all about bed bugs... Found some bed bugs on my bed and they bite me. It was really painful and they had nothing to do for me. I endured til the morning and went to pharmacy to buy some cream which was expensive and low effected by my money. Location is not bad, facilities are very nice. Staff are not kind and helpful except one ore two. Breakfast is horrible as you already know, two toasts with jam and orange juice.
  • 60%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • U Hostel may not be as centrally located as some of the other hostels in Madrid, but they definitely know how to take care of guests. Between the clean rooms and facilities, comfortable beds, lockers, and the AWESOME walking tour by Erica, I felt very comfortable staying here.
  • 97%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The free tour with Erika was awesome, a great way to explore Madrid! Everything was very clean and welcoming. This was a great place to stay for two nights.
  • 97%
  • 04 Sep 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Beautiful place, clean and newly built place with good restrooms, showers and rooms. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are spacious. Very good value for the money. But stay away from "Tapas nights" type of events. These are just traps for the staff to make money. I joined the Tapas night and it was just bread, nothing special. The place El Tigre we were taken was a small place, it was even hard to breath, the food was terrible. Save your money. But the hostel is a beautiful place.
  • 91%
  • 22 Aug 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very clean. Something organized every day/night. Free walking tour with Harry is also great. Staff very helpful. Free breakfast is basic toast and a drink. Beds are comfortable. Kitchen is small.
  • 100%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Vanessa Canada
  • Good hostel ! but the breakfast is really really not good.
  • 86%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Anonymous Taiwan
  • My stay at Uhostel was absolutely amazing! The staff was extremely helpful, friendly, and courteous! I loved that they offered several activities throughout the week. The free walking tour with Erica is one of the best tours I have ever been on! I met so many amazing people throughout my stay.
  • 100%
  • 02 Aug 2013 Shannon USA
  • Very nice hotel with friendly ,helpful staff, I recommend Bardzo przyjemny hotel z mila obsluga, polecam Tomasz Czestochowa,Polska
  • 91%
  • 15 Jul 2013 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »