See other San Diego properties

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.4km

Rating: 87% from 22 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 80%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • nice location but no way to get to the beach on sunday when there are no buses
  • 77%
  • 19 Jun 2015 camille USA
  • The best location of you enjoy surfing and/or going to the beach, and the rooms and bathrooms were new and clean. They were remodeling while I was there so it was a bit noisy and chaotic. Breakfast was good, new towels every day, cheap surf board rentals.
  • 86%
  • 17 Jun 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • I had a great stay. It was an amazing location. Most of the guests were nice, fun, and considerate. The staff was amazing! I'd stay there any chance I get.
  • 86%
  • 30 May 2015 Rebecca USA
  • Loved our trip here! Met some great people, the staff are friendly and they had a bonfire on the beach for us!! 👍
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2015 Lindsay USA
  • I stayed on a Saturday night and was hoping to catch some good sleep before my week in San Diego. Unfortunately, there were people partying in the back patio area until the wee hours of the night, and some of them were my roommates. It was around 6 am when the last of them came back to the room for the last night, at which time I decided to start my day. Perhaps this hostel caters to a party atmosphere and I was simply unaware, but it's still nice to have some sort of balance for all.
  • 83%
  • 25 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Great place!
  • 100%
  • 30 Mar 2015 Anonymous Sweden
  • Young lady at the front desk when we first checked in was super sweet and nice. She let us check the place out to make sure it was clean and safe for my niece. Next morning when I went to pick up my niece the older blonde lady at the front desk was extremely rude. Wouldn't let me help my niece pack her things and help carry her luggage. I had to sit in the front while she went to wake her up.
  • 77%
  • 25 Mar 2015 Bea USA
  • Ocean Beach Hostel was the perfect experience. I was able to meet lovely people from all over the world, roll out of bed and see a beautiful ocean every morning and have everything within walking distance. There were a lot of unexpected perks. The hostel itself has wifi, a book trade, extra beach gear, and surf board rentals. Great! Beds and Showers were new and clean!! major plus.
  • 89%
  • 22 Mar 2015 Marcie USA
  • This is clearly a well-run hostel and stands out as such. Recommended.
  • 100%
  • 15 Feb 2015 David USA
  • I really enjoyed staying at the hostel. The staff was friendly and the hostel itself was clean and enjoyable. I met some great fellow travelers and had a wonderful time.
  • 100%
  • 06 Feb 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »