See other San Diego properties

USA Hostels Ocean Beach

4961 Newport Ave., CA 92107, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 9.4km

Rating: 97% from 12 reviews

  • 100%Atmosphere
  • 98%Staff
  • 95%Security
  • 96%Cleanliness
  • 98%Location
  • 98%Value for money
  • 95%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The staff is probably the main reason the stay at this hostel was so great. They were kind, friendly, attentive, and promoted a positive and fun atmosphere. The beach being a short walk away is an added bonus. Everything you need is a short walk away. The atmosphere in the common area was one of the best I've ever experienced. Going to San Diego is a tradition of mine and now I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else.
  • 94%
  • 05 Aug 2016 Alejandro
  • Wonderful Staff with great accomodations! What else is there to say?
  • 97%
  • 24 Jun 2016 Ammon USA
  • I really enjoyed staying here. It's a little more expensive than others in the area, but for me it was worth it to be so close to the beach. The hostel itself feels very clean and new, and the atmosphere was great--i do wish they had an indoor common space. While it's great being outside, they allow smoking on the patio in back, and a lot of smokers would hang out on the curb near the porch in front, so there wasn't really a space to get away from it besides my room. Overall great stay though!
  • 94%
  • 18 Jun 2016 Anonymous USA
  • This is without a doubt , the best Hostel in America, Its like staying at a luxurious resort in the middle of the town, 5 min from the beach. You got a big breakfast buffe and big cozy kitchen were you can make your own food. Or else you can eat pizza, burger or. T japanese Rhe only sad part is that they have a timelimit for 2 weeks per Calenderyear. Or else i would have stayed there forever .
  • 100%
  • 31 May 2016 Anonymous Sweden
  • first time in a hostel staff was great and friendly great location . I felt very safe there also enjoyed the activities. would go back
  • 97%
  • 21 May 2016 Anonymous USA
  • Being 62 years of age, I enjoy the social and financial aspects of staying in hostels when traveling by myself. I was a bit surprised that OB hostel sponsored drinking parties for the guests. I would think the hostel would be libel for any actions of the guests who drank at the sponsored events or even on the premises. I got used to the nightly parties but it was loud in my room since Zi was over the gathering places of the kitchen and back patio. Otherwise, I really enjoyed the hostel,
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2015 Ruth USA
  • I can certainly say that this is the BEST hostel I have ever stayed in terms of cleanliness, friendliness of staff, and newness! I would fully recommend this place for your San Diego trip!! Two things I would like to recommend: the hostel needs an indoor hang-out area with a TV and the breakfast needs to be improved with an addition of nutella, boiled eggs, and cream cheese.
  • 94%
  • 11 Dec 2015 Anonymous Turkey
  • I had an amazing time staying at this hostel. First of all, the location is really good, especially for people who love surfing and spending time at the beach. The rooms are very clean, the facilities are great (you even have your own USB-port next to your bed!) and the staff is welcoming and friendly. Staying at the Ocean Beach Hostel felt like being part of a family, it was a great place for making new friends. I will definitely stay there again in the future.
  • 100%
  • 23 Nov 2015 Mira
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There are so many areas in London waiting to be explored. One of the best parts is that many people don't bother looking for the quirky places that you don't often hear about. ...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »