See other San Diego properties

USA Hostels San Diego

726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 86% from 27 reviews

  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 88%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 83%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 81%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very welcoming very helpful and an excellent first time experience
  • 97%
  • 07 Mar 2015 Caroline USA
  • Overall very nice and affordable hostels. But I have one sad point. The hostel is located in the center of downtown, so it is quite noisy outside through night. Especially Sunday night... The staff gave me ear plugs for free, but it is not enough. Except for that, I like this hostel. I want to use again if I stay there.
  • 74%
  • 15 Feb 2015 Yohei Japan
  • Great hostel, friendly staff and a brilliant location. If I'm ever in San Diego again, I will definitely stay here
    Owner Comment

    We'll look forward to hosting you again! Happy Travels.

  • 97%
  • 28 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Beautiful hostel, perfect location, wish the walkup to office hallway didnt have a lil mildry snell but no big deal. I got lucky with having no roommates which is extremely . Sweet staff, wish they had airport shuttle service like other hostels but the bus is cheaper and reasonably closeby. Definitely would stay again.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks! We're happy you enjoyed your stay with us.

  • 100%
  • 13 Jan 2015 Leiana USA
  • The overall atmosphere was great. The location was okay but there was a very pungent smell in the front stairway that made the overall experience subpar. Also I have been in many hostels and the private room had a private bath as well so it's unfortunate we didn't have a private bath in our room.
    Owner Comment

    Thanks for your frank comments.Unfortunately the entry staircase is over a hollow in between the buildings and when it rains it kicks up a nusty smell from the area. We ae working on it. But it only happens on those rare days when it rains, so we hope you give us another try in the future. As for the private bath, we do state online that we don't have any baths in the rooms. The building was erected in 1888 and as a historic landmark, we are limited with what changes we can make.

  • 66%
  • 01 Jan 2015 Anonymous USA
  • I would be better if you have chopsicks! :)
  • 100%
  • 26 Dec 2014 Sejin South Korea
  • Need to work on upgrading bathrooms (6 bathrooms for the dorms, and 3 were constantly down one day or another throughout my stay. This is a true "Party" hostel with location at central downtown party headquarters, with music constantly playing throughout the hall until quiet hours, and often times quiet hours not followed/enforced. Young crowd favors this space.
  • 54%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Well it was generally a good experience, i have to mention that there is a very attentive girl in the staff, her name is Emily and she was really nice and helpful by answering all my requests.
  • 86%
  • 27 Oct 2014 Anonymous Venezuela
  • It is located on center of downtown. Location is the best thing of this hostel. Staffs are nice and they have clean utility. but there's no elevator, and sometimes party goes on till late night. if you are looking for calm hostel, then choose another.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Travelling alone can be a wonderful experience for solo female travellers. Here are our top tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »