See other San Diego properties

USA Hostels San Diego

726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 88% from 33 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 86%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 83%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • It is located on center of downtown. Location is the best thing of this hostel. Staffs are nice and they have clean utility. but there's no elevator, and sometimes party goes on till late night. if you are looking for calm hostel, then choose another.
  • 80%
  • 07 Jun 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • My first stay in a hostel State-side--loved it! Great staff, nice kitchen, awesome private rooms and shared bathrooms! Thanks guys!
  • 100%
  • 31 Mar 2014 Sean C. USA
  • Great overall hostel with excellent location. I missed more areas to hang out (common areas) and better showers. Sometimes there was like no water pressure...
  • 91%
  • 24 Mar 2014 Karoline Marie Norway
  • Staff is really friendly and kind!!!
  • 91%
  • 04 Mar 2014 Anonymous Japan
  • All things are good ! :)
  • 74%
  • 14 Feb 2014 sang hee South Korea
  • UNCLEAN- the carpet is grimy, ragged, and you can tell very dirty. The air smells heavily of cigarette smoke and cheap strawberry air freshener. Sheets were stained. Gross. VERY loud every night. Definitely a hostel where people party every night. Do not expect to sleep.
  • 43%
  • 12 Feb 2014 Maria USA
  • Awesome! I have been used to staying in luxury hotels for last 4 yrs due to work and yet I liked this hostel means a lot. only -ve, both times I got all guys in a mixed room. Super inexpensive! In summary: hostel is super clean, bathrooms are super clean and have good privacy so girls don't feel weirded out sharing bathroom space with guys, kitchen is great too, have a nice lounge and decent sized rooms.
  • 97%
  • 24 Jan 2014 Anonymous India
  • The rooms that are on the street are very, very noisy at night.
  • 94%
  • 21 Jan 2014 Anonymous France
  • I had an amazing time at this hostel! The staff was awesome, and I met nothing but nice people. I loved the environment and i felt super safe the whole time. Which was important since i was a female traveling alone. The only thing I would warn people about is the noise outside. If your a light sleeper, you may want ear plugs because it's in the heart of the downtown area and you can hear alot.
  • 100%
  • 03 Jan 2014 lynn Germany
  • Found it way too noisy, particularly on Friday & even worse on Saturday night, I'd had to move into a 4 person room & 2 people came in & out, turning on & off lights, climbing on & off top bunk...Grrr! Didn't get to sleep till after 3.30 & I had an early morning & big day ahead. Not helped by the amount of alcohol being 'encouraged ' at the 'happy hour(s)' Would be good to warn people about that... I would have moved hostels.. Not enough knowledge re Amtrak & ability to catch at Santa Fe
  • 97%
  • 17 Dec 2013 Jenny Australia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »