See other San Diego properties

USA Hostels San Diego

726 5th Avenue, San Diego CA, San Diego, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 88% from 32 reviews

  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 96%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Staff was friendly and very helpful!!
  • 97%
  • 25 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Old historic, friendly, clean, and lots of fun. Had a great stay, went to restaurants and happy hour, went out several nights. Loved it. Great location, lots to do.
  • 100%
  • 02 Sep 2015 Jason USA
  • I loved this hostel! For the most part. I had a few hiccups in my stay ) , but overall I really enjoyed my experience. The atmosphere is amazing. The setup of the lounge and activities left a lot open for meeting new people and feeling very welcome.I loved the sponsored activities and shuttles to the beach as well. Downsides - there was some confusion with checking me in and my sheets were very dirty and looked like they had blood on them.
  • 91%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • This place was excellent to stay at, right in the heart of the gas lamp district. 7 minute walk to petco park and a 10 minute walk to the harbor. It does get a little hot in the rooms at night and it is noisy outside due to heavy partying but if you dont mind those things like me, you will love this place. Also met alot of interesting travelers and everyone was really friendly.
  • 100%
  • 19 Jul 2015 DANNY USA
  • Great location, great place, very clean, decent breakfast, nice bunks and lockers. Bathrooms are cleaned very often, but showers have a slight funk - everything else is very clean. Rooms can be warm, especially the front ones which are also very noisy but have a great view. Back rooms are quieter and cooler. Well-equipped kitchen, great atmosphere and super staff. Security is good, too. Highly recommend.
  • 100%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Amazing breakfast!! Seriously
  • 97%
  • 19 Jun 2015 Anonymous England
  • The bathroom was incredibly clean. Great location right in the middle of Gaslamp District... lots of bars and restaurants nearby. Lobby has bulletin board with tips and directions to help direct you to nearby sites. Only there 1 night... but overall great stay!
  • 94%
  • 13 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Was really only there to sleep, and was out as soon I was awake. That said, staff was great, rooms were clean, the reading lights and outlets for charging phones installed in the bunks were very handy, and the facility had everything I could imagine needing. The lounging areas were also far enough from the dorms that noise wasn't much of a problem. Light sleepers might have a harder time, but I was never woken up by noise.
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous USA
  • For couples, 2 star hotel would be cheaper than private room here. Kitchen is dirty, mostly because people don't clean after themselves. Buying dishwasher could solve the problem with dirty dishes. There are no windows in some rooms. Beds were not very comfy, but sturdy. They produced a lot of squeaky sounds though. This hostel does not have any parking; they advise to park at Park It On Market (Market and 7th), which is 15$ a day. This facility is not secure, our car was robbed.
  • 66%
  • 15 May 2015 Anonymous Russia
  • Very friendly and helpful staff, nice fellow travelers, good simple breakfast. Thanks!
  • 91%
  • 29 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »