See other San Francisco properties

USA Hostels San Francisco

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 87% from 61 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • No qualms about the place. Excellent cleanliness, friendly staff, daily activities, great facilities (there is even a small movie theatre). The hostels has some sort of partnership with bicycle rental ($18 for all-day, good deal), which is perfect if your itinerary includes cycling over the Golden Gate. I do wish the kitchen remains open 24 hours though. The bathrooms could use more hooks on the door. More toasters would be good (current one it's painfully slow to toast).
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Really nice tours and events! The yoga room would be perfect if there was a door.
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Excellent Hostel with great security and fantastic staff who keep it clean and orderly. Good variety of activities to participate in if you are so inclined, from cycling the Golden Gate bridge, to pub crawls on Polk St. Excellent range of facilities as well, and a nice friendly atmosphere. Location is close to the city centre, although it does border on the Tenderloin (a less desirable part of town) which can be avoided if you walk around it, rather than through it.
  • 97%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Timothy New Zealand
  • I just stayed one night. Arrived late, left early. But the place is immaculate. Staff friendly and efficient. Wished i didn't have to make my own bed because it seemed really awkward tucking in a sheet in that bunk bed. The bed also seemed a bit short if I lay stretched out (I'm 6"1'), but I usually curl up so this didn't turn out to be an issue. I have no real complaints. I wished I could have stayed longer because it seemed like I missed some good activities.
  • 97%
  • 27 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Lovely place. I lived here for three months in 2005. The place is now nicely remodeled and I've been back twice after that. It would be nice if the staff at check in would emphazise that both must show the room card when entering the building even when staying in a private room.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jul 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • Facilities are good! But staff.? We'll i donno.
  • 74%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Anonymous South Korea
  • Had a great time here
  • 97%
  • 07 Jul 2014 Adam
  • great place to stay
  • 94%
  • 06 Jul 2014 michael Australia
  • Really good hostel. Lots of free activities and close to sights, or public transport. Nice restaurants around the area. Staff super friendly, free walking tour with Natalie (pink hair) was awesome.
  • 100%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Olivia Australia
  • USA Hostels is a great place to stay. You meet people from all over the world and it is an experience of your own. Whether you are travelling in a group or solo, it is a great place to stay if you don't plan to spend hundreds of dollar at a fancy hotel. It was 2-3 blocks away from the Union Square and major bar scene area of SFo.
  • 83%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »