See other San Francisco properties

USA Hostels San Francisco

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 89% from 78 reviews

  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 89%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 88%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The lobby is really nice but the rooms are a bit drab. It looks like they spent all their money redecorating the lobby. The sheets were pretty dirty and the room was a bit creepy.
  • 69%
  • 24 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • This was one of the best hostels that I have ever stayed in!! Extremely friendly staff, great facilities, super clean, great breakfast, basically everything was awesome. I would definitely return! The only source of discomfort for me was how close the hostel is to the Tenderloin district, but you can actually avoid it and stay on the main streets.
  • 97%
  • 17 Nov 2014 Nevena Canada
  • This was one of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. It's clean, the rooms are spacious and comfortable, they have great facilities (a theatre, yoga room and library included) and it's in a great central location. There are multiple daily activities to choose from. I highly recommend staying here. The free walking tour, pub crawls, $5 dinners and bike tours are awesome too.
  • 100%
  • 14 Nov 2014 Shannan
  • Desk staff still needs some customer service training. Mix of pleasant and rude service on any given day. Great addition of workout/yoga room. Noise issues and heat (full blast during 75degree days) need to be addressed. Average hostel for the city.
  • 66%
  • 05 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I had a great stay at this hostel. I was originally booked in with a HI hostel nearby but cancelled it after a poor experience with one of their Vancouver hostels. The move paid off - I had amazing dorm-mates and paying that little bit extra for a room with an ensuite bathroom was definitely worth it. The room and bathroom were meticulously cleaned every day. The only downside is the location - Tenderloin is a pretty rough area so stay alert at night and avoid O'Farrell St.
  • 86%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous New Zealand
  • Very clean and friendly staff. Love the little "bedside tables" on the bunk beds with outlets and the outlets inside the lockers! Very good overall!
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • The room was big, with big windows that let in lots of light and air when we wanted it. The privacy screens on the beds are a great touch. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean. There were different events every day, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good. The price was a bit high, but not for San Francisco. This is one of the best, and cleanest, hostels I've stayed in. I've already recommended it to friends planning a trip to San Francisco.
  • 97%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked and paid for 4 nights but only stayed for 1 night. My bed wasn't made, dirty room, dirty sheets, dirty toilet, dirty shower. Loud after 1:30am. Can't sleep.
  • 31%
  • 15 Oct 2014 scott Anh Vietnam
  • Like the atmosphere and the activities were good. My only complaint is that the piped in music in the break room was somewhat redundant.
  • 91%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • +Staff was great +Services were great +Public areas of hostel match pictures and atmosphere was good. -There was too hot in room, there was no aircon, but one small very noisy fan. It was big problem to sleep with this annoying sound through all night.
  • 89%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Pavel Czech Republic
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »