See other San Francisco properties

USA Hostels San Francisco

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 89% from 83 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 85%Value for money
  • 89%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Loved our stay, so accommodating and great facilities. Will definitely recommend to our friends in Australia for any San Francisco stay. The staff member who took us on the pub crawl was the best (shattered we can't remember his name). Thanks for having us
  • 94%
  • 26 Jul 2015 aimee
  • Near Union Square, great facilities. Each bed in my bedroom had power sockets and was organized to have private space. Good atmosphere and great staff.
  • 100%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Anonymous Colombia
  • I enjoyed my stay at the hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and they kept the place very clean. I just thought that it was very expensive for what it was. (shared mixed dorm for example). Much more expensive than hostels I've stayed at in the U.K.
  • 74%
  • 20 Jul 2015 Jennifer England
  • I really enjoyed my stay here, but travelers should know that this is a party hostel. Don't stay here if you're planning to sleep through the night, because there will be trashy dudes from the UK staying up, smoking out the window and yelling. None of this is directly within the control of USAH, but hostels are built around a community - and this one attracts dodgy travelers. For some reason, all the rooms smell like a laundry bin, so practice breathing through your mouth.
  • 74%
  • 16 Jul 2015 Anonymous USA
  • It was Okay. What you expect from a Hostel. It was Clean. I was a little mad that they charged me 90$ for changing my reservation from 3 nights to 1. and not even giving me my deposit back. so all in all i paid 100 DOllars for a one night stay. I feel that is a bit much for what was offered.
  • 74%
  • 12 Jun 2015 Karisa USA
  • It was a very clean hostile. Def work the extra price
  • 83%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Pierre
  • The only reason for the lower score on location is because of the Tenderloin neighbourhoud (North-west direction from hostel). It's near Union square though, and that part is OK :-).
  • 83%
  • 04 Jun 2015 Annelies Belgium
  • This was my first time staying at a hostel, and it was a great experience! The hostel was clean all the time and provided a good free breakfast every morning. The location was good as well, pretty close to Chinatown, the cable cars and the busy streets.
  • 100%
  • 24 May 2015 Anonymous Vietnam
  • I booked 4 females room with bathroom, while it turned out to the mixed one. I lost my deposit and rebooked. except it, everything is quite good.
  • 97%
  • 09 May 2015 Xiaochun China
  • The renovations are excellent.
  • 100%
  • 27 Apr 2015 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »