See other San Francisco properties

USA Hostels San Francisco

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 85% from 55 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 86%Staff
  • 89%Security
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 85%Location
  • 84%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The only downside of this place is that its borderline tenderloin area... BUT other than that... the place is AWESOME! Great bar, great staff, clean rooms, outlets in each bunk... Nice!
  • 94%
  • 29 Jun 2013 Ashley USA
  • We made 2 separate bookings (4 Bed Mixed Dorm Ensuite) for 4 nights in a row (3+1), but we still had to check out and back in again the same day. Very inconvenient! The public areas are clean and tidy, but our room/ensuite is smelly. Because they didn't clean our room/ensuite every day, we ended up with using shared bathroom instead.
  • 71%
  • 24 Jun 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • My only problem was the smell of the room. There was no air circulation and therefore the smell of foot was really bad.
  • 74%
  • 15 Jun 2013 Guilherme Italy
  • It is a great experience to stay in this hostel. It was my first time to stay in the hostel. I like it because it provides many people information and support for travels. If you travel alone, it is a good choice to stay here.
  • 83%
  • 07 Jun 2013 Chia Jung Taiwan
  • Highly recommended ! Everything was perfect. I was in SF looking for a quiet place and was the correct place, but if you want to party it is the correct place too (there even is a cinema and Young people meet there). If a calm room is what you need ask for the second or above floors. Breakfast very nice !
  • 100%
  • 17 May 2013 Anonymous Argentina
  • Best hostel experience! I had a really good time. Everyone was super friendly and the rooms were very clean. The area was near union square and near main areas. Good way to meet other travelers. Overall a fantastic experience!!
  • 100%
  • 08 May 2013 Natalie USA
  • This was my first time staying in a hostel and traveling alone. I didn't know what to expect especially because everyone was so afraid of the Tenderloin. Thankfully, the Tenderloin was not nearly as scary as everyone made it sound. In fact, I walked alone many nights and was totally fine. My experience at USA Hostels was PERFECT. The rooms were clean, there were free events and booze almost every night and the staff was friendly and helpful. When I return back to SF I would stay there again!!
  • 94%
  • 03 May 2013 Stephen USA
  • Bathroom bins and kitchens needed cleaning a little more.
  • 83%
  • 28 Apr 2013 Lauren Australia
  • Decent property, clean, good location.
  • 100%
  • 22 Apr 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Good location. Great breakfast. Easy to get to know people if you travel alone.
  • 71%
  • 21 Apr 2013 Jeanette Marie Kvalsvik Norway
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »