See other San Francisco properties

USA Hostels San Francisco

711 Post Street, San Francisco, San Francisco, USA, Distance from city centre: 0.5km

Rating: 89% from 85 reviews

  • 90%Atmosphere
  • 91%Staff
  • 91%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 88%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Very clean and friendly staff. Love the little "bedside tables" on the bunk beds with outlets and the outlets inside the lockers! Very good overall!
  • 100%
  • 31 Oct 2014 Anonymous Sweden
  • The room was big, with big windows that let in lots of light and air when we wanted it. The privacy screens on the beds are a great touch. The bathroom and kitchen were very clean. There were different events every day, and the staff were friendly and helpful. The location was good. The price was a bit high, but not for San Francisco. This is one of the best, and cleanest, hostels I've stayed in. I've already recommended it to friends planning a trip to San Francisco.
  • 97%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • I booked and paid for 4 nights but only stayed for 1 night. My bed wasn't made, dirty room, dirty sheets, dirty toilet, dirty shower. Loud after 1:30am. Can't sleep.
  • 31%
  • 15 Oct 2014 scott Anh Vietnam
  • Like the atmosphere and the activities were good. My only complaint is that the piped in music in the break room was somewhat redundant.
  • 91%
  • 11 Oct 2014 Anonymous USA
  • +Staff was great +Services were great +Public areas of hostel match pictures and atmosphere was good. -There was too hot in room, there was no aircon, but one small very noisy fan. It was big problem to sleep with this annoying sound through all night.
  • 89%
  • 23 Sep 2014 Pavel Czech Republic
  • Excellent hostel! Would recommend to take part in the city walking tour on the mornings it is available (our guide Brian was really good) and it's also good way to meet fellow guests from the hostel as it is a big hostel . Couldn't believe on the Saturday night free drinks actually meant free drinks with a free bar in the basement, helped the bank balance for sure! Highly recommend to stay here!
  • 94%
  • 19 Sep 2014 Michael England
  • Extremely enjoyed my stay in the hostel
  • 94%
  • 14 Sep 2014 Anonymous India
  • No qualms about the place. Excellent cleanliness, friendly staff, daily activities, great facilities (there is even a small movie theatre). The hostels has some sort of partnership with bicycle rental ($18 for all-day, good deal), which is perfect if your itinerary includes cycling over the Golden Gate. I do wish the kitchen remains open 24 hours though. The bathrooms could use more hooks on the door. More toasters would be good (current one it's painfully slow to toast).
  • 94%
  • 06 Sep 2014 Anonymous Malaysia
  • Really nice tours and events! The yoga room would be perfect if there was a door.
  • 91%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous Finland
  • Excellent Hostel with great security and fantastic staff who keep it clean and orderly. Good variety of activities to participate in if you are so inclined, from cycling the Golden Gate bridge, to pub crawls on Polk St. Excellent range of facilities as well, and a nice friendly atmosphere. Location is close to the city centre, although it does border on the Tenderloin (a less desirable part of town) which can be avoided if you walk around it, rather than through it.
  • 97%
  • 31 Jul 2014 Timothy New Zealand
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

There's nothing like having your own transport to get around and when travelling the world it's no different.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »