See other New York properties

Upper Central NYC

246 Lenox Avenue, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 11.4km

Rating: 92% from 19 reviews

  • 93%Atmosphere
  • 97%Staff
  • 90%Security
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 90%Value for money
  • 94%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Fantastic team!
  • 91%
  • 11 Dec 2014 Doron Israel
  • Upper Central NYC is simply a lovely place with a friendly and helpful staff! Harlem is all around, and the rest of Manhattan is just few subway stops away. Atmosphere is special, and cleanliness is flawless: UCNYC is my new home in New York!
  • 97%
  • 06 Dec 2014 Riccardo Italy
  • I just stayed for 1 night and everything was fine. I arrived around 7-8 pm and left early morning. It is a good place to stay. the location is closed to the metro and bus.
  • 80%
  • 23 Nov 2014 KATIA USA
  • Best hostel experience... Period
  • 100%
  • 22 Oct 2014 William USA
  • Wonderful & helpful staff, the hostel was very tidy & thankful for the amenities provided. I'll definitely be staying here again next time I visit NYC!
  • 100%
  • 20 Oct 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • The experience at Upper Central was awesome. Very nice people, very clean dorms and nice looking living room. I would recommend this hostel to everybody.
  • 100%
  • 30 Sep 2014 Marius Romania
  • Best location for people who wanna go everywhere. I was surprised with how comfortable and clean the bedroom, bathroom and kitchen were. I felt myself like at home and I know, that I`ll come back. Completely recom.
  • 100%
  • 29 Sep 2014 Otilija Lithuania
  • Place very cozy. The rooms were large and comfortable. The bathroom was clean. The kitchen was well equipped. The rooms have lockers, but you must have your own padlock. I would recommend the place.
  • 91%
  • 22 Sep 2014 Daria Poland
  • Hostel is very nice place. It is not super modern, but you feel the atmosphere of the building age. Staff were very friendly. I was satisfied with cleanness, security either facilities. Location is in the Upper part of Manhattan in Harlem, but there is underground station 2 blocks close.
  • 97%
  • 17 Sep 2014 Anonymous Czech Republic
  • This hostel was a great place to stay in New York City! The hostel is just two blocks from the subway, on a well-lit, vibrant street with plenty of shops and restaurants. I was initially unsure of staying in the Harlem area, but it turned out to be a lovely area. Once there, I was pleased with the location, security, and building. The facilities seemed brand new, especially the bathrooms and community kitchen area; the staff was knowledgeable. friendly, and very accommodating.
  • 97%
  • 07 Sep 2014 Elaina USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »