See other New York properties

Urban Oasis

5 W 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 4km

Rating: 94% from 23 reviews

  • 91%Atmosphere
  • 93%Staff
  • 94%Security
  • 98%Cleanliness
  • 97%Location
  • 92%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Urban Oasis is a really nice place to stay. The staff is great. The rooms are super secure (2 keys and 2 passwords required to get from the street to your actual room). The common space (shared between 3-4 rooms) is a really nice loft with some couches, a TV, a table and a kitchen. The kitchen has eveything you need (fridge, oven, stove, microwave, dishes, etc.). You are at floors 9 and 10 of the building. BUT our room didn't have any window, and this was very disappointing. So -1 for that
  • 80%
  • 17 Aug 2014 Anonymous Canada
  • Urban Oasis is awesome. We had a great short stay. The staff members are nice, the location is perfect, the room and the hotel itself is cozy and clean....overall two thumbs up for the property!!!!! will definitely come back!!!!
  • 97%
  • 02 Aug 2014 Tzu Jung Taiwan
  • very convenient place to stay. Feel like home, relax and cozy. I will go back for sure!
  • 94%
  • 01 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I would highly recommend Urban Oasis for those travelling on a budget. The rooms and the common facilities were very clean. The location is also a plus.
  • 86%
  • 24 Jun 2014 Fehmina India
  • The hostel was great, clean and safe. The entrance looks a little creepy but once inside the facilities are beautiful and bright, people is very respectful of the common space and no one eats your food from the common fridge. The fact that we had a kitchen saved us lots of money, there is a Whole Foods in 24th and 7th Ave where you can go and buy all what you need to eat. The staff was friendly and always available to help.
  • 89%
  • 12 Jun 2014 Mariana J Chile
  • A very nice place. Probably better than most, much more expensive, hotels in the lower Manhattan area. The entrance to the building, particularly the elevator, is a bit off-putting, kind of grungy and run down, but the hostel itself is very cosy and welcoming.
  • 97%
  • 18 May 2014 Jay Canada
  • We really enjoyed our stay at Urban Oasis, the staff was very friendly and it was so nice to stay there. The rooms were small but very comfortable and modern. The only thing I would change is to have the toilets separated from the showers. But still we loved to be there and when we come back to NYC we will definitely stay there again.
  • 94%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Nina Austria
  • Best hostel I've ever been so far. The staff is nice and the room was spacious and nicely decorated. The two shared bathrooms are scrupulously clean; the kitchen and fridge are very well organized and nobody eats your food. It's like a high level hostel. The only con is that there's a low level of interaction with other guests. Tip: They're super punctual about the checkout.
  • 97%
  • 15 Jan 2014 Anonymous Mexico
  • My bias about hostels is definitely changed because of the urban oasis ny! It's location is just behind korean way, so I could find many good restaurants and bar. I could walk to everywhere, and staffs were very friendly! Facilities were also great. If I'll go to NY again, I'll choose here without hesitating!
  • 100%
  • 09 Dec 2013 Seunghee South Korea
  • Great location, super helpful staff, extremely clean facilities. I have no hesitation recommending this hostel to others.
  • 94%
  • 20 Oct 2013 Lina Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »