See other Belfast properties


9 University Road, Belfast, Belfast, Northern Ireland, Distance from city centre: 1.2km

Rating: 85% from 37 reviews

  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 89%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 87%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • My biggest complaint about this place was that I could feel the wires in the beds as we slept. It was almost more comfortable to just sleep in the car. That being said, the staff were some of the most fun, most including, and most caring staff that I have ever encountered. They were interested in our destination/troubles/etc, and even invited us out to hang out, play games, etc. Despite the tough bed, I enjoyed my stay.
  • 89%
  • 18 Sep 2015 Melanie Canada
  • The door to our room was never locked, there were lockers and cages promised however for a room of 14 there were four lockers and the cages didnt lock and not all beds had them. The location wasnt near to anything. It was very dirty mold growing around all the baseboards and in the bathrooms.
  • 54%
  • 12 Sep 2015 Anonymous USA
  • The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful and always were eager to help with anything
  • 100%
  • 22 Aug 2015 Emma Ireland
  • Nice staff and good atmosphere!
  • 86%
  • 07 Aug 2015 Anonymous France
  • The staff were very cliquey. This created a unwelcoming and negative vibe.
  • 57%
  • 23 Jul 2015 Anonymous Ireland
  • I didn't think it is as good as people usually say. It's really and ordinary hostel with nothing special. Including cleanliness is not the strongest of them. The breakfast is really weak, they use the cheapest food as possible. It's better buy your own food like lots of guests do.
  • 69%
  • 17 Jul 2015 Flavio Brazil
  • Very small rooms. Quite good bathrooms. The kitchen was a bit small for all the people living in the hostel. Plus for functioning wifi in the room. A bit strange that the hostel can't change euros for pounds, when there are so many tourists coming from Ireland.
  • 69%
  • 02 Jul 2015 Martin Sweden
  • Without a doubt, vagabonds was the best hostel I've ever stayed in. The staff is amazing and the facilities are cool and functional. There's a real culture of friendliness here and I made some incredible friends during my three days. It's right next to the botanic train stop, so it's easy to get to if you're arriving by train. Do yourself a favor and stay at vagabonds if you're in Belfast. It will probably ruin all other hostels for you forever.
  • 100%
  • 29 Jun 2015 Rebecca USA
  • Would go back to Vagabonds again if I were to go back to Belfast later. Great experience, really lovely place and the people there were also very nice.
  • 100%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous Norway
  • Best hostel in the world, anyone who says different is stupid and a liar
  • 100%
  • 28 Jun 2015 Anonymous Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »