See other Vancouver properties

Vancouver Backpacker House

7020 Gray Ave Burnaby BC, Vancouver, Canada, Distance from city centre: 10.3km

Rating: 61% from 8 reviews

  • 55%Atmosphere
  • 65%Staff
  • 62%Security
  • 62%Cleanliness
  • 62%Location
  • 62%Value for money
  • 60%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • If you are looking for a cheap stay, go for the Vancouver Backpacker House. But you will not find a proper bed, just two matresses on top of each other. Not very sanitary. The kitchen is not well maintained, just like the rest of the house. The staff does not speak english very well, so you have to have some patience. I would certainly not stay here again. But if you have a low budget and you do not mind a grubby hostel for a few nights, then it might be something for you.
  • 37%
  • 10 Aug 2015 Anonymous Netherlands
  • This place is not your standard professional hostel with a reception and staff, but rather some privately-run shared house in a residential neighborhood. The "dorms" are just bedrooms with a couple of old mattresses, and there are just two bathrooms which were always occupied. The location is quite far away from the city center, even with public transport, so not very convenient if you are just visiting. Other residents, including hosts, were very noisy during the night. Wouldn't recommend.
  • 54%
  • 18 Jul 2015 Anna
  • Don't book this place!!
  • 37%
  • 18 Jun 2015 Hajime Japan
  • Terrible location, they moved me to another location once I arrived without previously informing me, generally the most unpleasant hostel I have ever stayed at. They even ration the toilet paper! No amenities at all, really dingy place.
  • 29%
  • 16 Jun 2015 Philip USA
  • I had an awesome time at this place. It was not exactly a hostel but an appartment. I shared it with other people and everything was smooth and easy. The staff is excellent. They are hard working and very professional. This place did not have a party atmosphere but for me that is something that i enjoy.
  • 94%
  • 05 Jun 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • The lady there, Kas, was very polite and helpful. I had a late check in and she made sure that everything was done properly. Pros- -Good quiet location -Near to the Metrotown skytrain station -Good wifi connectivity -Clean rooms and specifically bathrooms Cons- -Need to add paid breakfast too -Heating facilities can be updated Overall, happy with the stay and full worth the money.
  • 80%
  • 19 May 2015 Dhaval India
  • Very quiet place. Nice host. Best value for money..!
  • 89%
  • 16 May 2015 camille
  • A little confusing on how to get there, especially from the airport but the women running it was helpful and friendly, only downside is that many people who are there were living there and weren't all that friendly nor were respectful.
  • 71%
  • 05 May 2015 sarah Canada
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

The epitome of culinary richness, Marrakesh -the heart of the red city, is a foodies wonderland

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »