See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 78% from 82 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Bring your bathing suit and gym shoes. If your material needs are simple, you will love the convenience and value of this YMCA.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Allan USA
  • Bathroom was not acceptable. The showers had only shower curtains. I thought the bathrooms were not good. The room was okay but it needs to be refreshed, cleaned, repainted or something!
  • 71%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was my first time at this hostel and it was a great experience. I came there early in the morning and I had to wait until 3pm to check in, however, I could leave my bags in the storage and go out. Staffs are very nice and polite. I really loved this place at all!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Jose Marcio A USA
  • Room was smelly (pee?), mattress was very thin, and shared bathrooms were not as clean as one would expect.
  • 60%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • The upper one of bunk bed is very close to the lower one which makes the person sleeping underneath feel sort of breathless. You have to pay extra temporary member fee$3 if you are not a member. But it is a good location with walking distance to Times square.
  • 63%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I have stayed here several times. It is a good value, conveniently located for me, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Paul USA
  • I enjoyed my stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA. It's less than 15 mins away from Grand Central and down the road from where my event was. The staff was good and I was able to check in before the 3pm check in. The room was small but decent and clean. The restroom and shower facilities, which are shared, were also clean. The bed kinda sunk in on one side but it wasn't the end of the world. The Vanderbilt YMCA is a very good value for a really nice location and great for those on a budget.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the room is super old and super small, beds are very old and noisy, even a small move on the bed will make super annoying noise to my roommate. the lights were dark. all facilities are very old and not clean. its totally unacceptable with such price $124 USD for a double room! I am very disappointed that a worldwide agency- the YMCA- offers such a bad room bad facilities and bad price to people. Never go there again and it ruins my first time experience in New York City.
  • 37%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • We were told over the phone by the hostel that we're getting a specific room, but when we showed up that room wasn't available to us due to fire codes (We have a baby & she was going to sleep with me. I called to confirm it was ok before making the reservation). The room that was available cost more. The room we had was nice & clean. The shared bathrooms were ok but not spotless-bring shower shoes. You have to have a swim cap for the pool. YMCA doesn't supply them & it's not listed on their info
  • 71%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Amber USA
  • Room was of a poor standard. Shared bathroom / toilet facilities far to far away as we were put in a room in the corner of the building.
  • 71%
  • 19 Jun 2014 david England
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »