See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 78% from 54 reviews

  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 78%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • In a double bed room, beds were terrible. You couldn't move if you're on top bed or you would wake up the other person. Very noisy. Staff was not available and also not very friendly. The floor I was hosted (7th) had a non smoke sign but other guests were visible smoking in their rooms cause you could feel the smell walking in the hall.
  • 54%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Rachel Brazil
  • I just needed a place to spend the night and it met my expectations. The rooms were ok, but location is its best asset. I would definitely recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Sabrina Argentina
  • Staff were all rude except for one employee named Carlos, he was so helpful while all the other staff were useless. The washing machines took our money but didn't turn on, when we asked for help we were informed that they couldnt do anything to help us. We never got our money back or washed our clothes.
  • 57%
  • 20 Sep 2014 JESSICA New Zealand
  • Bring your bathing suit and gym shoes. If your material needs are simple, you will love the convenience and value of this YMCA.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Allan USA
  • Bathroom was not acceptable. The showers had only shower curtains. I thought the bathrooms were not good. The room was okay but it needs to be refreshed, cleaned, repainted or something!
  • 71%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was my first time at this hostel and it was a great experience. I came there early in the morning and I had to wait until 3pm to check in, however, I could leave my bags in the storage and go out. Staffs are very nice and polite. I really loved this place at all!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Jose Marcio A USA
  • Room was smelly (pee?), mattress was very thin, and shared bathrooms were not as clean as one would expect.
  • 60%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous
  • The upper one of bunk bed is very close to the lower one which makes the person sleeping underneath feel sort of breathless. You have to pay extra temporary member fee$3 if you are not a member. But it is a good location with walking distance to Times square.
  • 63%
  • 08 Aug 2014 Anonymous China
  • I have stayed here several times. It is a good value, conveniently located for me, and the staff is friendly and helpful.
  • 100%
  • 07 Aug 2014 Paul USA
  • I enjoyed my stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA. It's less than 15 mins away from Grand Central and down the road from where my event was. The staff was good and I was able to check in before the 3pm check in. The room was small but decent and clean. The restroom and shower facilities, which are shared, were also clean. The bed kinda sunk in on one side but it wasn't the end of the world. The Vanderbilt YMCA is a very good value for a really nice location and great for those on a budget.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A time for indulging and spending time with family, it's no wonder that some of the world's best foods make an appearance during Christmas. Here are some of the world's most mou...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »