See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 73% from 36 reviews

  • 68%Atmosphere
  • 72%Staff
  • 81%Security
  • 67%Cleanliness
  • 86%Location
  • 71%Value for money
  • 68%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The facilities were great and the localization was even better. It was better than most of the hostels I have ever been to,
  • 89%
  • 30 Dec 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • I was told this reservation was cancelled in house when I arrived at the West Side YMCA and they called the Vanderbilt YMCA to request and confirm. The private room was not available at the West Side so I booked at the Vanderbilt. The West Side room became available and I booked the single room. When I tried to cancel the Vanderbilt I was told I could not cancel within48 hours but to call the YMCA. I called the West Side and was told they could cancel the Vanderbilt when I checked in.I paid 2X.
  • 20%
  • 27 Nov 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very good if you only want a place to stay overnight. The rooms are small but clean, we didn't need anything more since we only got there to sleep. The place was full of students but I never saw a crowded restroom. Location is perfect, walking distance to everything in Manhattan (we like to walk!!!) Staff was not overfriendly, but in any case rude.
  • 74%
  • 24 Oct 2014 Anonymous Chile
  • In a double bed room, beds were terrible. You couldn't move if you're on top bed or you would wake up the other person. Very noisy. Staff was not available and also not very friendly. The floor I was hosted (7th) had a non smoke sign but other guests were visible smoking in their rooms cause you could feel the smell walking in the hall.
  • 54%
  • 09 Oct 2014 Rachel Brazil
  • I just needed a place to spend the night and it met my expectations. The rooms were ok, but location is its best asset. I would definitely recommend it.
  • 86%
  • 05 Oct 2014 Sabrina Argentina
  • Staff were all rude except for one employee named Carlos, he was so helpful while all the other staff were useless. The washing machines took our money but didn't turn on, when we asked for help we were informed that they couldnt do anything to help us. We never got our money back or washed our clothes.
  • 57%
  • 20 Sep 2014 JESSICA New Zealand
  • Bring your bathing suit and gym shoes. If your material needs are simple, you will love the convenience and value of this YMCA.
  • 100%
  • 15 Sep 2014 Allan USA
  • Bathroom was not acceptable. The showers had only shower curtains. I thought the bathrooms were not good. The room was okay but it needs to be refreshed, cleaned, repainted or something!
  • 71%
  • 09 Sep 2014 Anonymous USA
  • It was my first time at this hostel and it was a great experience. I came there early in the morning and I had to wait until 3pm to check in, however, I could leave my bags in the storage and go out. Staffs are very nice and polite. I really loved this place at all!!!!!
  • 100%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Jose Marcio A USA
  • Room was smelly (pee?), mattress was very thin, and shared bathrooms were not as clean as one would expect.
  • 60%
  • 20 Aug 2014 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Buenos Aires is the second-biggest city in South America after Sao Paolo, Brazil, so you can bet there are lots of things to do and see. Here are just five you should do to get...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »