See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 75% from 46 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 73%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I enjoyed my stay at the Vanderbilt YMCA. It's less than 15 mins away from Grand Central and down the road from where my event was. The staff was good and I was able to check in before the 3pm check in. The room was small but decent and clean. The restroom and shower facilities, which are shared, were also clean. The bed kinda sunk in on one side but it wasn't the end of the world. The Vanderbilt YMCA is a very good value for a really nice location and great for those on a budget.
  • 89%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • the room is super old and super small, beds are very old and noisy, even a small move on the bed will make super annoying noise to my roommate. the lights were dark. all facilities are very old and not clean. its totally unacceptable with such price $124 USD for a double room! I am very disappointed that a worldwide agency- the YMCA- offers such a bad room bad facilities and bad price to people. Never go there again and it ruins my first time experience in New York City.
  • 37%
  • 05 Jul 2014 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • We were told over the phone by the hostel that we're getting a specific room, but when we showed up that room wasn't available to us due to fire codes (We have a baby & she was going to sleep with me. I called to confirm it was ok before making the reservation). The room that was available cost more. The room we had was nice & clean. The shared bathrooms were ok but not spotless-bring shower shoes. You have to have a swim cap for the pool. YMCA doesn't supply them & it's not listed on their info
  • 71%
  • 19 Jun 2014 Amber USA
  • Room was of a poor standard. Shared bathroom / toilet facilities far to far away as we were put in a room in the corner of the building.
  • 71%
  • 19 Jun 2014 david England
  • The room was not clean, there was still garbage in the garbage bin and the sheets had stains. Every corner in the room and bathrooms were dirty. I had booked 7 nights but, had to find another hotel after one night due to the dirt and bad standard. The staff was very nice though and the location is excellent.
  • 49%
  • 13 Jun 2014 Kristina
  • The room is quite old and need renovation. The shared shower is not that clean! My tip is to go to the shower at the 4th floor which is much better, cleaner, and more privacy. The room os very small, almost had no place to walk after two suitcases but they provide us fridge and tv but all of them are old and sometimes didn't work properly. Good things are you can use fitness and pool and everything. The kitchen is small and not really that great for cooking big dinner or stuff.
  • 66%
  • 02 Jun 2014 Sorada
  • The location was pretty nice, only like a 15 minute walk to Times Square. I would recommend finding a hostel that is really close to a subway station, however, it definitely was nice being able to walk to and from Times Square, so take it with a grain of salt. The shower curtains didn't completely cover the shower stall, and I was often afraid anyone could walk inside and see me, but it was clean. Room is really small but functional. Bed sheets seemed clean and there were no bed bugs.
  • 77%
  • 31 May 2014 Shirley Vietnam
  • It was in a really great area. A short walk from Times Square and Uptown but far enough away so there wasn't a lot of noise! I felt really safe walking back every night and it was very clean.
  • 97%
  • 22 May 2014 Elizabeth Canada
  • what happened for your storage system? NO RECEIPT printed out and no one is willing to help me!
  • 66%
  • 22 May 2014 Anonymous Taiwan
  • I read the reviews and was a little hesitant because one of them said they had bedbugs....but I did a THOROUGH check of my room and turned up nothing. The room was small but it was just me, and it had what I wanted a bed. Not many outlets, so I would bring an extension cord if you don't want to leave your room. I didn't use the facilities so I can't comment on it, however I liked the fact that they had a pool AND an exercise room. Close to midtown so I was thrilled. I would stay again
  • 86%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »