See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 77% from 75 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • This place is an awesome place for anyone who isn't interested in spending much time in a room in New York! The price and the location are truly unbeatable and just great! I walked a lot but two subway stations are very close. The staff was super nice. The room was small and smelled a bit weird, unfortunately there was no way in opening a window. Only the very loud air condition and a room refresher helped a bit. But since I spent very little time in the room it was ok.
  • 69%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • As far as location goes, you can't beat the place. Note that it is 10 min walk to grand central and times square. There are shuttles from airport to these locations and pretty much every subway line passes through here. Another pro is having a gym and locker room downstairs if one is interested. Coming to cons. Rooms are very small, and not well maintained, There was barely enough place to put luggage. You can't sit on lower bunk bed. No shared dorm, so minimum charge was over $100
  • 63%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Nishant India
  • Although it was slow checking in we had a great time at the Vanderbilt YMCA. The rooms were clean and the facilities were great. I can understand why some people might have issues with the facilities, we had 4 showers and a shared washroom. The facilities were always clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again, without a second thought.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 andrew Canada
  • They had bed bugs when I stayed in march/april of 2014. I wwoke with bites all over my body.
  • 71%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A very good location near Times Sq. and near Lexington green subway line. Rooms are small indeed but you are not going to stay there a long time in a NYC visit so it´s not a big deal. Share bathrooms are clean and they provide hot water. Recommended when you are on budget.
  • 83%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Next time I'll travel to NYC I'll stay in YMCA Vanderbilt Hostel again! Great value for money, clean room, clean shower and restrooms, great location (you have to walk less than 5 minutes to 5th Ave).
  • 89%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Bastian Germany
  • Shower room and restrooms are old but that was ok. Not that clean but no problem. Very close from the Grand Central Terminal and reasonable price.
  • 77%
  • 21 Dec 2013 Anonymous South Korea
  • I loved it. Fantastic. I stayed in a one bed private room with a shared bathroom. No problem what so ever. I had brought my swim suit in case I had time to use the pool but you need a swim cap (they sell them for $10) which I decided when I return I will have one with me. Nice area all things considered and really I think quite a nice deal for NYC. Lots of little perks that I found out about by staying there...so I will let you be surprised too!
  • 100%
  • 07 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great choice if you want to be in walking distance to Midtown and Time Square. The rooms are very small, the bathrooms could be bigger and more modern, kitchen and lounge are really small and uncomfortable as well, but they try to keep everything nice and clean. I liked the security(have to show your room card when you enter, security pin for women's showers) and the gym which you are free to use as guest (cardio, weights and lots of fitness classes).Good Wifi. Only breakfast was missing.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but adequate. For the money, we couldn't have gotten a better place to stay for our 4 nights in NYC. We will plan to stay there again.
  • 97%
  • 05 Dec 2013 Jean USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »