See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 77% from 82 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 76%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 76%Value for money
  • 73%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I loved it. Fantastic. I stayed in a one bed private room with a shared bathroom. No problem what so ever. I had brought my swim suit in case I had time to use the pool but you need a swim cap (they sell them for $10) which I decided when I return I will have one with me. Nice area all things considered and really I think quite a nice deal for NYC. Lots of little perks that I found out about by staying there...so I will let you be surprised too!
  • 100%
  • 07 Dec 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Great choice if you want to be in walking distance to Midtown and Time Square. The rooms are very small, the bathrooms could be bigger and more modern, kitchen and lounge are really small and uncomfortable as well, but they try to keep everything nice and clean. I liked the security(have to show your room card when you enter, security pin for women's showers) and the gym which you are free to use as guest (cardio, weights and lots of fitness classes).Good Wifi. Only breakfast was missing.
  • 86%
  • 06 Dec 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • The staff was very helpful and friendly. The room was small but adequate. For the money, we couldn't have gotten a better place to stay for our 4 nights in NYC. We will plan to stay there again.
  • 97%
  • 05 Dec 2013 Jean USA
  • The overall experience is positive. The story is simple: the location is great, rooms are small (but not 3x1.5 sq.m as some indicated here; I think the single room is about 7-8 sq. m.), but manageable. There is a fridge in the room. I stayed for a few days and had no time to use the facilities, so I don't know about the swimming pool. The large gym looked fine. Thus, for the price you can definitely stay here, provided you do not intend to invite friends to your room for a drink.
  • 83%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Anonymous Georgia
  • The "Y" blends economy with excellant location, cleanliness, convenience, safety and security, and a broad range of amenities. Yes the room in compact and the "double" is a bunk setup and there is no bath or toilet in the room but the gang facililties are perfectly acceptable and sufficiently private. For all but the pampered wealthy, the "Y" is all one needs and certainly all a traveling student needs.
  • 97%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Anthony USA
  • One of the shower compartments of the female bathroom on 6/F didn't work, and the only other one doesn't have a shower head - there was only a pipe...
  • 66%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The room was very dirty and smelled quite awful. It would have benefited a lot from a quick mop even. I did not feel comfortable using the bed sheets or towels, and the heating was not on at all, so it got quite cold. The bathrooms were not very clean either. Overall, I was not pleased with the stay, but it was a reasonable price for the location.
  • 49%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Shahd Ireland
  • The bedding had not been washed and the walls, floor etc. were almost untouchable. I had booked a room with 2 single beds and ended up with bunks. Luckily I was traveling with someone who could climb up.
  • 77%
  • 09 Nov 2013 sally
  • It is in the mid town, a very nice place. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets are very clean. But the rooms are too small, too small. The wifi connection is too bad.
  • 83%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Myanmar
  • Best place. Shared bathroom but clean.
  • 80%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Gautam Bangladesh
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

While most party-hard backpackers in Europe stick to the big cities like Paris, London and Barcelona, you might end up cutting your nights (or even your trip) short. These cities come at a cost and just one cocktail can run upwards of $15. Luckily there are so many other beautiful cities around Europe which offer an exciting nightlife at half or even a third of the cost.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »