See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 75% from 44 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 80%Security
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 87%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I read the reviews and was a little hesitant because one of them said they had bedbugs....but I did a THOROUGH check of my room and turned up nothing. The room was small but it was just me, and it had what I wanted a bed. Not many outlets, so I would bring an extension cord if you don't want to leave your room. I didn't use the facilities so I can't comment on it, however I liked the fact that they had a pool AND an exercise room. Close to midtown so I was thrilled. I would stay again
  • 86%
  • 17 May 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Everything was perfect with this hostel! It was very clean, staff was extremely friendly, location is excellent. I have no complaints. It's very much so worth the money and I will definitely be choosing you every time I come to NYC.
  • 100%
  • 13 May 2014 Carey USA
  • This place is an awesome place for anyone who isn't interested in spending much time in a room in New York! The price and the location are truly unbeatable and just great! I walked a lot but two subway stations are very close. The staff was super nice. The room was small and smelled a bit weird, unfortunately there was no way in opening a window. Only the very loud air condition and a room refresher helped a bit. But since I spent very little time in the room it was ok.
  • 69%
  • 10 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • As far as location goes, you can't beat the place. Note that it is 10 min walk to grand central and times square. There are shuttles from airport to these locations and pretty much every subway line passes through here. Another pro is having a gym and locker room downstairs if one is interested. Coming to cons. Rooms are very small, and not well maintained, There was barely enough place to put luggage. You can't sit on lower bunk bed. No shared dorm, so minimum charge was over $100
  • 63%
  • 12 Apr 2014 Nishant India
  • Although it was slow checking in we had a great time at the Vanderbilt YMCA. The rooms were clean and the facilities were great. I can understand why some people might have issues with the facilities, we had 4 showers and a shared washroom. The facilities were always clean and well maintained. I would definitely stay here again, without a second thought.
  • 100%
  • 10 Apr 2014 andrew Canada
  • They had bed bugs when I stayed in march/april of 2014. I wwoke with bites all over my body.
  • 71%
  • 28 Mar 2014 Anonymous USA
  • A very good location near Times Sq. and near Lexington green subway line. Rooms are small indeed but you are not going to stay there a long time in a NYC visit so it´s not a big deal. Share bathrooms are clean and they provide hot water. Recommended when you are on budget.
  • 83%
  • 07 Mar 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Unbelievable deal for New York City. A little out of the area I spend time in, but a nearby subway does offer a cross town shuttle so you are in Times Square very quickly. Loved it!
  • 97%
  • 08 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

4 Southern Hemisphere Trips to do Before you Die

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »