See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 76% from 89 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • I stayed at Vanderbilt YMCA last week from 2 Nov 13 and I feel that whenever I visit NY I'll stay here. Location is excellent as it bang in the centre of Manhattan and accessible to all places. Security, staff and cleanliness were excellent. Facilities like Gym etc were too good. I' d recommend Vanderbilt YMCA NY to all who wants a pleasant stay and value for money.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Dhananjaya India
  • Great value for what you get. The hostel was a bit far from a subway station though... 10 minute walk with luggage can be hard.
  • 77%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Anonymous USA
  • Very welcoming lobby compared to the room; layout is spartan but it has all the basic furnishings
  • 89%
  • 26 Oct 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • The Vanderbilt hostel is a perfect choice for the budget tourists. The price is lower than in the case of "non-manhattan" hostels and you live on 47th street, in the real center of the world most famous city. We had no problems, which are often discussed by other accomodated people, in the hostel. The room is quite small (my estimate is 3 x 1,5m), but when you came to the hostel just to sleep, it is good enough. The room was equipped with the new TV and Wi-Fi was strong enough even in the room.
  • 74%
  • 25 Oct 2013 Jan Czech Republic
  • I am very disappointed I booked a twin bedded room for two quite heavy adults in their sixties and paid deposit of Euro 30..00 We got a box of a room with a set of bunks and were given no choice in the matter and to top it all had to pay a further E 30.00 on top of the balance when we arrived. I would not recommend this hostel after being treated so unfairly plus their advertizment of their rooms is misleading the public.
  • 54%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Michael Ireland
  • The Single room that I booked was small, but had everything that one might expect from a hostel. The only thing missing was a bathroom. I somehow missed that the single room shares a bathroom with the rest of the floor. It wasn't bad because of it, just unexpected.
  • 86%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • The staff was really nice and the location is good, but the single room was less than I expected and the fact to have bathroom far will make me feel twice before stay there again.
  • 74%
  • 24 Oct 2013 françoise Brazil
  • I appreciated the gym. It should be mentioned in the folder in the room that a swim cap is required in order to get in the pool. I was not told until i was already wet from the shower. It would have been too much trouble to change my clothes to get my money from the room to buy a cap.
  • 69%
  • 24 Oct 2013 Regina Germany
  • Everything worked out fine. My prepaid booking was accepted without trouble and extra fees. A welcoming atmosphere from the beginning, a nice gym, good,clean rooms. And,of course,the excellent location in midtown Manhattan! I'll come back!
  • 91%
  • 23 Oct 2013 Måns Sweden
  • $59 for 1 guest is good value in NYC. $118 for 2 guests (2 bunk beds) is much overpriced.
  • 66%
  • 19 Oct 2013 Anonymous France
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »