See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 77% from 75 reviews

  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 77%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 75%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • The overall experience is positive. The story is simple: the location is great, rooms are small (but not 3x1.5 sq.m as some indicated here; I think the single room is about 7-8 sq. m.), but manageable. There is a fridge in the room. I stayed for a few days and had no time to use the facilities, so I don't know about the swimming pool. The large gym looked fine. Thus, for the price you can definitely stay here, provided you do not intend to invite friends to your room for a drink.
  • 83%
  • 04 Dec 2013 Anonymous Georgia
  • The "Y" blends economy with excellant location, cleanliness, convenience, safety and security, and a broad range of amenities. Yes the room in compact and the "double" is a bunk setup and there is no bath or toilet in the room but the gang facililties are perfectly acceptable and sufficiently private. For all but the pampered wealthy, the "Y" is all one needs and certainly all a traveling student needs.
  • 97%
  • 02 Dec 2013 Anthony USA
  • One of the shower compartments of the female bathroom on 6/F didn't work, and the only other one doesn't have a shower head - there was only a pipe...
  • 66%
  • 28 Nov 2013 Anonymous Hong Kong
  • The room was very dirty and smelled quite awful. It would have benefited a lot from a quick mop even. I did not feel comfortable using the bed sheets or towels, and the heating was not on at all, so it got quite cold. The bathrooms were not very clean either. Overall, I was not pleased with the stay, but it was a reasonable price for the location.
  • 49%
  • 27 Nov 2013 Shahd Ireland
  • The bedding had not been washed and the walls, floor etc. were almost untouchable. I had booked a room with 2 single beds and ended up with bunks. Luckily I was traveling with someone who could climb up.
  • 77%
  • 09 Nov 2013 sally
  • It is in the mid town, a very nice place. The rooms, bathrooms and toilets are very clean. But the rooms are too small, too small. The wifi connection is too bad.
  • 83%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Anonymous Myanmar
  • Best place. Shared bathroom but clean.
  • 80%
  • 08 Nov 2013 Gautam Bangladesh
  • Ok Hostel. But only 3 showers for females on one floor is just not tolerable! Also the fungus in one of the showers feels like a health hazard. If you have the chance/time, go take your showers in the locker rooms at the gym downstairs. They get cleaned on the regular and have an overall better appearance. The kitchen barely offers any facilities to use, except for a dirty pan and some greasy plates.
  • 66%
  • 06 Nov 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • Need better maintenance of the rest rooms...
  • 77%
  • 05 Nov 2013 Anonymous India
  • I stayed at Vanderbilt YMCA last week from 2 Nov 13 and I feel that whenever I visit NY I'll stay here. Location is excellent as it bang in the centre of Manhattan and accessible to all places. Security, staff and cleanliness were excellent. Facilities like Gym etc were too good. I' d recommend Vanderbilt YMCA NY to all who wants a pleasant stay and value for money.
  • 100%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Dhananjaya India
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

No need to wait until the summer to take a holiday. Avoid the crowds and sweltering temperatures by choosing a trip in the winter months. Although you might have to pack some warmer clothes, there's a handful of benefits for traveling at this time: you'll either be rewarded with lower prices, clearer skies or festive entertainment.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »