See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 76% from 98 reviews

  • 70%Atmosphere
  • 74%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 71%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Extremely frustrating to have to show room key card everytime you go up elevator especially when staying a number of nights security should recognise faces. Key cards never worked and there was never anyone available to fix them or we would be told to wait for someone to come who never showed up resulting in a waste of our travel time. Minimal bathrooms and showers for how many people are on the floor. Also irritating having to use a key card that very rarely worked to use the toilet.
  • 46%
  • 16 Aug 2013 Cassie New Zealand
  • It was WAY more than I was expecting! It's not a great hostel, it is a one star hotel. The bathroom and the shower are clean and good. The room (I got a twin private) was relatively big, with a minifridge, table, closet, TV, and AC... Great atmosphere, good staff and lovable doormen. I highly recommend!
  • 83%
  • 15 Aug 2013 Ana Gabriela USA
  • It was really suck because i wanted to cancle this hostel, so i sent e-mail to them with my korea e-mail but they didnt cancle my reservation and charged 100.80 dollars. So i tried refund this money from them but they said i had wrong e-mail address but important thing is i just followed the e-mail address as you sent to me, so i told about it and they never answer to me yet! And i want you to help me to refund this charge
  • 20%
  • 14 Aug 2013 minjun South Korea
  • I stayed in a private room. It was located on a floor with many rooms but there were only 2 toilets for and 2 showers for women. Luckily I showered at a time when few women were awake ! The security is such that staying here feels more like being in a detention centre than in a hostel - swipe card for the room and toilets and numbered lock for showers. My room was so bare and the lighting so bright that it further added to the feeling of being imorissined. I would never stay here again.
  • 54%
  • 10 Aug 2013 Henrice Netherlands
  • The Vanderbilt YMCA was perfect for me--a first time traveler to New York City. I was out seeing the sights by day and just needed a clean room and good shower facilities at night. The work-out facilities were a big plus. If you want an affordable place to stay in Manhattan, I recommend the Vanderbilt YMCA.
  • 94%
  • 28 Jul 2013 Patrick USA
  • Good service,
  • 77%
  • 26 Jul 2013 Anonymous Mexico
  • Is not the first time that I am in hostels and I love Iwill be back later this
  • 83%
  • 25 Jul 2013 simone Brazil
  • The ordered Bus shuttle forgot me at Hostel so that i almost missed my flight. But the security guys did a great job and helped me to be at the airport in time.
  • 83%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Markus Germany
  • Hello, On Friday July 5, I booked a room for a week at the YMCA, which canceled the next day. Hostel.com has charged the amount of € 59.38, and YMCA the amount of € 64.29. Please give me back one of the charges or I will make a complaint to the police. Thank you. Mark Budiño. Reservation Number: 815-66018033
  • 20%
  • 06 Jul 2013 Anonymous Spain
  • sorry but I cancel on vanderbild..six or maore month ago..ok i hace the copy of that cancellation..okk
  • 60%
  • 28 Jun 2013 juan h. Puerto Rico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »