See other New York properties

Vanderbilt YMCA

224 East 47th St., NY 10017, New York, USA, Distance from city centre: 5.3km

Rating: 76% from 89 reviews

  • 71%Atmosphere
  • 75%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 69%Cleanliness
  • 89%Location
  • 74%Value for money
  • 72%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Had I known that the advertised shared bathroom-I thought it would be between two rooms- was shared by an entire floor, I would have never stayed here. It is interesting to me that they can operate with two toilets and two showers for over a hundred people.
  • 51%
  • 17 Oct 2013 Angela USA
  • I always stay here when travelling to NYC. It is a great central location. A fancy hotel room is on the bottom of my list when it comes to travel value. A safe, clean room is pretty much all I require when I'm on the road.
  • 100%
  • 15 Oct 2013 Anonymous USA
  • It was a pretty basic hostel but for midtown manhattan it doesn't get much cheaper! Never felt unsafe or anything, and the cleanliness was good for the fact that lots of people are going in and out. Walls are thin so could be noisy but my experience was good.
  • 80%
  • 14 Oct 2013 Howard USA
  • The security was very helpful and supportive unlike the staff at the reception. I have approached reception staff with a question - the response was slow and inaccurate.
  • 77%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Denka Bulgaria
  • The location of the hostel was perfect for us because we wanted to discover Manhattan on foot. We shared a room with my friend and the room wasn't very beautiful but good enough for sleeping. Shared toilet and shower were quite clean and normally there was no one using them when we wanted to use them. And if we paid less than 300 euros/6 nights in Manhattan, we thought the occasional waiting for toilet was not too bad.
  • 77%
  • 12 Oct 2013 Salli Finland
  • Front desk staff was very rude check in is late - 3pm.
  • 63%
  • 08 Oct 2013 Anonymous Canada
  • Very small room but clean with TV and refrigerator. Without private bathroom but there were not many people to share with.
  • 83%
  • 29 Sep 2013 Carmen Luisa Uruguay
  • The bathrooms weren't cleaned one day I was there. The hair around shower remained in position for the two days. It appeared the cleaner ran away mid shift as the trolley was left outside ladies shower but no work had been done. Apart from that I liked the place. Great area with lots of eateries and bars around. Easy walk to Grand Central. Rooms small but clean and everything worked. Wifi available in shared areas.
  • 69%
  • 17 Sep 2013 Anonymous Australia
  • The location was awesome, rooms were quite small and there was only one power point which one of the plugs was being used for the tv, this was quite annoying when we wanted to charge our phones at night time once we got back to the hostel. Another thing that we weren't happy about was that the shower was not clean, my friend could not have got in and out of the shower quick enough and I didn't even risk it. This was in the morning as well so you'd expect it to be better at that time of the day
  • 77%
  • 16 Sep 2013 Amy New Zealand
  • I satyed in doubled room alone, so it was very expensive for me. All other aspects were good, especially the training hall where all hostel dwellers were sweating so hard.
  • 89%
  • 11 Sep 2013 Anonymous Russia
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »