See other Marseille properties

Vertigo Centre

42 rue de petites maries, Marseille, France, Distance from city centre: 1.7km

Rating: 82% from 19 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 87%Staff
  • 74%Security
  • 78%Cleanliness
  • 84%Location
  • 78%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Great hostel overall, however neighborhood is quite sketchy at night. I would not advise young women (or really most people) to explore after sunset around the hostel.
  • 77%
  • 01 Mar 2014 Martha USA
  • Better fo to the other Vertigo hostel (Vieux-Port)
  • 71%
  • 02 Nov 2013 Paul Netherlands
  • Good location.
  • 83%
  • 10 Sep 2013 Anonymous Singapore
  • The hostel is right in front of the train station, in a good position to give full access to the town. My room was clean, simple, but comfortable. The staff was very nice, always present to all needs and definitely kind. I sure recomend this hostel for a quick tour of Marseille or even for a little longer stay.
  • 86%
  • 07 Aug 2013 Andrea Italy
  • Great hostel near the train station, nice staff but we had insects in our beds. but the staff gave us another room. we met a lot of interesting people and enjoyed our time there.
  • 77%
  • 05 Aug 2013 Anonymous Germany
  • We stayed in a private double room with an ensuite bathroom. Although we found the room quite hot and the street below noisy, the room was comfortable. Both the bedroom and bathroom were extremely clean. It was, however, a bit of a trek to reach our room on the fourth floor- the hostel lives up to its name in that respect. The breakfast buffet was €5 each and consisted of pastries, juice and coffee. The staff were friendly and very helpful. The hostel was conveniently located near the station.
  • 86%
  • 16 Jul 2013 Anonymous England
  • Had a nice time at the hostel. Staff was very helpful. I would reconsider the city though. I didn't find much to do. Can't really just wander around and the beach is quite far away to lug beach stuff there. And Les Calanques weren't as pretty as they show in the pictures. Would return to the hostel if it was in a different city.
  • 69%
  • 09 Jul 2013 Anonymous USA
  • This hostel was one of the best I have ever stayed on. The staff was so nice and helpful, the location was really good with only a few minutes from the station and not far from the ocean. I really recommend this hostel!
  • 94%
  • 20 Jun 2013 Karin Sweden
  • rats running around in backyard
  • 74%
  • 12 Jun 2013 Francois Canada
  • Really close to the train station. Only a ten minute walk to the port. Hostile is safe and clean but the neighborhood surrounding it is a little suspect. Would not recommend groups of girls to stay here. Good cheap food nearby. Staff was very helpful and nice. Overall good experience
  • 71%
  • 02 Jun 2013 Anonymous USA
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »