See other Marseille properties

Vertigo Vieux-Port

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 89% from 48 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Security
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 92%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 88%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • One of the best hostels I've stayed in.
  • 100%
  • 09 Mar 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I really loved it! As a girl, this was one of the best hostels that I went at the travel. The service is great, you have nice rooms and a great breakfast :)
  • 97%
  • 17 Feb 2014 Anonymous Brazil
  • The breakfast was fantastic! The only thing that bothered me was the 'security guard' that was in the second building. He gave us drinks and later hooked up with one of my friends. If that really was a security guard, that's no good at all. Otherwise, shame on us.
  • 94%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Really close to the Vieux Port, staff was friendly, our two bed room was nice and clean, breakfast was hostel-style, but the fresh baguette was a nice touch. Loved it!
  • 89%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Viola Switzerland
  • Everything's good if the kichen could provide tow or more people cooking.
  • 83%
  • 14 Feb 2014 Yi-Chun Taiwan
  • Up a hill with narrow sidewalks, but close to a pretty part of town that is technically touristy but also quiet and not so expensive. The staff are excellent, professional and helpful, the place is very clean and really beautiful inside the rooms! I was shocked when I got in!! It's like a cabin with a sunlight, but again there are lots of stairs, so note that and the fact that the walls are paper thin, you hear everything in the next room. But! Still a great value for money, and in-room lockers
  • 91%
  • 10 Feb 2014 Anke USA
  • IT was fine and the rooms were clean enough, with small lockers to put away valuables, but the atmosphere and location were just a bit unnerving. the entrance to where our room was was down a dark alleyway and although you needed a key to get into that building, it was still quite unnerving to walk down there at night. And it wasn't in a super amazing part of town, just a bit creepy and dirty. And some of the other guests made us a little uneasy, but that isn't really the fault of the hostel.
  • 69%
  • 26 Dec 2013 Jayme Canada
  • It is the best hostel in Marseille.
  • 100%
  • 01 Dec 2013 Anonymous France
  • A nice hostel!
  • 91%
  • 03 Oct 2013 Johan Sweden
  • Very nice place near the harbor.
  • 97%
  • 02 Sep 2013 Anonymous Mexico
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

One early morning, accompanied with a semi-hot cappuccino and croissant eaten like a true Roman - standing up and in a hurry - I was off on the Metro to the Vatican.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »