See other Marseille properties

Vertigo Vieux-Port

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 86% from 36 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 91%Location
  • 83%Value for money
  • 84%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Would definitely come again; recommendable!
  • 91%
  • 28 Aug 2014 Kamilla
  • Overall a very nice looking and well equipped hostel. The First Lady that greeted us was amazing (pretty with dark wavy hair) So friendly & welcoming & answered all of our questions. The night time staff member however, let her down completely (slim build with curly hair) He was beyond rude & made us feel so uncomfortable. He intimidated us, shouted in my face and even threw a remote control at the floor in front of us. His behaviour was totally inexcusable & he should not be working there.
  • 69%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous British Virgin Islands
  • It was great to have our own kitchen in the dorm. The bathroom was nice and spacey too. At first I thought £30 for an 8 bed dorm was pricey, but it was so central and there was so much space in the dorm that it was well worth it!
  • 94%
  • 05 Aug 2014 Anonymous England
  • The place is nice, the location is great, the staff guy is kinda crazy ... They do their job well, but not are friendly ! take care to not burn anything in the kitchen that you will see why I said the about crazy staff !
  • 74%
  • 22 Jul 2014 luiz antonio Brazil
  • really good stay worth the money and perfect location
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This hostel was amazing. It was clean and there were tons of teenagers/young adults having fun in the kitchen and lounge area late at night. The hostel is in perfect location to the best part of the city, the port, and there is not only a supermarket around the corner, but also a 24h store directly next door in case you need any late night munchies or more alcohol. The staff was also awesome, and allowed us to hang around in the lounge area after we had already checked out until our train came!!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice place in every way. Just three blocks from the water in the Vieux Port.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Patricio Tomas Italy
  • This was a really nice hostel. The staff was incredibly helpful, they answered all my questions. I really liked my room, it had a private toilet and shower (not together, that was really nice).
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Stuff and building were nice. The room I got was in general okay, clean and quite roomy. But it was not a place where I would like to stay, just a place to sleep.
  • 74%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Markus Switzerland
  • Could do better
  • 54%
  • 20 May 2014 Andy Ireland
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

A badly packed suitcase (or backpack) can leave you with a headache regardless of the trip length. With a few key tips and a concise packing list, you can be sure to leave the hassle of packing behind. Don't put a damper on your travel just because you didn't pack well!

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »