See other Marseille properties

Vertigo Vieux-Port

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 87% from 31 reviews

  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 90%Staff
  • 84%Security
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 90%Location
  • 86%Value for money
  • 85%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Overall a very nice looking and well equipped hostel. The First Lady that greeted us was amazing (pretty with dark wavy hair) So friendly & welcoming & answered all of our questions. The night time staff member however, let her down completely (slim build with curly hair) He was beyond rude & made us feel so uncomfortable. He intimidated us, shouted in my face and even threw a remote control at the floor in front of us. His behaviour was totally inexcusable & he should not be working there.
  • 69%
  • 18 Aug 2014 Anonymous British Virgin Islands
  • really good stay worth the money and perfect location
  • 97%
  • 19 Jul 2014 Anonymous Australia
  • This hostel was amazing. It was clean and there were tons of teenagers/young adults having fun in the kitchen and lounge area late at night. The hostel is in perfect location to the best part of the city, the port, and there is not only a supermarket around the corner, but also a 24h store directly next door in case you need any late night munchies or more alcohol. The staff was also awesome, and allowed us to hang around in the lounge area after we had already checked out until our train came!!
  • 97%
  • 12 Jul 2014 Anonymous USA
  • Very nice place in every way. Just three blocks from the water in the Vieux Port.
  • 100%
  • 10 Jul 2014 Patricio Tomas Italy
  • This was a really nice hostel. The staff was incredibly helpful, they answered all my questions. I really liked my room, it had a private toilet and shower (not together, that was really nice).
  • 91%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Anonymous Argentina
  • Stuff and building were nice. The room I got was in general okay, clean and quite roomy. But it was not a place where I would like to stay, just a place to sleep.
  • 74%
  • 01 Jul 2014 Markus Switzerland
  • Could do better
  • 54%
  • 20 May 2014 Andy Ireland
  • Our room was located near to the emergency exit. Unfortunately the window frame allows to open the window from outside. Fortunately nobody knew this ...
  • 71%
  • 03 May 2014 Anonymous Germany
  • I enjoyed the stay - friend, sun, city & hostel...
  • 100%
  • 25 Apr 2014 Kaisa Finland
  • I really enjoyed my stay at Vertigo vieux-port ! Everything was clean, the dormrooms were big and well furnished, great location and a really nice and outgoing staff. I was travelling by myself and stayed at the hostel three nights. The breakfast was a very traditionel/easy hostel breakfast. Most of the other travelers were young people, and they were all very easy to talk to ! Thank you !
  • 94%
  • 15 Apr 2014 Anne Sophie Denmark
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

Using an InterRail pass (for EU residents) or a Eurail pass (for non-EU) is the perfect way to easily check off all the dreamy European destinations on your travel bucket list. Ride the rails like a pro with these five tips.

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 35,000 great places to stay in 180 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »