See other Marseille properties

Vertigo Vieux-Port

38 Rue Fort Notre Dame, Marseille, France, Distance from city centre: 2.5km

Rating: 90% from 23 reviews

  • 86%Atmosphere
  • 95%Staff
  • 83%Security
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Value for money
  • 90%Facilities

Real Reviews

Real reviews from fellow travellers

These are trusted reviews from guests who have actually stayed here. We hope you find them helpful.

Note: we only give a property a rating once it has received a minimum of 3 reviews.

  • Sort By:
  • Traveler Type:
  • Age:
  • Super-clean. Awesome location. However there is no wifi in dining hall - that's where it's needed the most.
  • 89%
  • 05 May 2016 Anonymous Russia
  • Oso ondo kokatuta,portu zaharretik gertu.Taberna ta denda ugari inguruan.Zonaldeko kaleetan aparkatzeko ordaindu behar da.Aterpetxe barruan ez da entzuten zarata handirik.Egongelak zabalak dira ta sukaldatzeko aukera dago,gosaria ez da zoragarria baina ez dago txarto. Orokorrean nahiko ondo
  • 86%
  • 17 Feb 2016 Anonymous Andorra
  • It would be nicer if it was made a rule to takes shoes off in the bathroom or there were slippers in the bathroom, because it was difficult to dry off after wash without getting my feet dirty or my shoes wet. And the wifi needs to reach the back building.. other than that, everything was great and I thought it was a great place to stay for such a price.
  • 100%
  • 02 Feb 2016 Hyun Soo
  • Was only able to stay here one night, but I'm sad we couldn't stay longer! The rooms are large, clean, comfortable and quiet. The kitchen is well-equipped and there are plenty of common areas. Breakfast is included, and there are lockers in the room (but don't forget your own padlock). The staff is incredibly friendly, and the hostel's location is great - near the Vieux Port but just far enough to be on a quiet street.
  • 94%
  • 01 Jan 2016 Anonymous USA
  • I had booked an 8-bed mixed dorm. When I arrived the card reader wasn't working, so I had to leave to get cash and come back. I was also responsible for a key deposit I hadn't known about--my room's lock wasn't electronic. The lock wasn't working and we couldn't get in, but the receptionist was very nice and put me up in a 4-bed mixed for the same price. This was clearly in a newer part of the hostel--electronic key card, got my deposit back. Included breakfast is a real plus.
  • 77%
  • 22 Oct 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Good hostel. Good wifi, great breakfast, good staff. Maybe not enough places to meet others persons. Recomendable hostel
  • 83%
  • 02 Oct 2015 Anonymous Argentina
  • Very dirty. They book people in week-long room shifts and don't clean during that time, so we ran out of toilet paper for 4 people. Lockers big enough for a purse and computer. Secret overflow room reserved for walk-ins that's really awesome. Good plug ins, good common areas. Basic breakfast included. No curfew. 20 minutes walk from decent beach. Lots of space, good kitchen. Staff very friendly. Lots of restaurants and stores around. Good wifi.
  • 80%
  • 14 Aug 2015 Anonymous USA
  • Nice Place near the centre of Marseille Close to Public Transport Hubs. Pleasant Helpful Staff Fairly much everything was IKEA branded. Would of been better with bigger lockers as they were very small and insecure. But nothing went missing 😀😀😀
  • 89%
  • 12 Jul 2015 Anonymous England
  • It is a nice, clean Hostel, beds are comfortable, thank you for blankets, breakfast is ok, kitchen is very clean but not enough cups for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpful with everything. Sometimes Wifi doesn't work. I enjoyed my stay in this hostel, thank you!
  • 97%
  • 14 Jun 2015 Claudia Marina Germany
  • Great hostel with friendly, helpful staff and a social atmosphere. If it weren't for the people I met at this hostel, I might not have enjoyed my stay in Marseille. Even though it was one of the bigger hostels I've stayed at, it never felt too big. Good location, close to everything, but away from the bustle of the main streets. Bit far from the beach, but walking there was still easy.
  • 91%
  • 31 May 2015 Anonymous
City Guides and Information

Video guides, travel podcasts, city maps & free city guides. What to eat, where to stay and things to do and see - our travel guides have it all.

Find a guide »
Latest Blog Post

During the summer the city of Dublin becomes a different place. Gone are the endless days of wind and rain as the warm weather brings picnics in the park, drinks by the canal, b...

Read more »
Great Value and Choice

We offer the most comprehensive selection of hostels on the internet with over 33,000 great places to stay in 170 countries. The ultimate online resource for hostels everywhere.

Find great value hostels »